Skip to main content
David Ivan Bliven
Avvo
Pro

David Bliven’s client reviews

     4.5 stars 35 total

Review David Bliven
  • 1.0 star

    Posted by Arlinda

    Worst Decision I Ever Made

    I have never before written a negative review about any other professionals, but in this case I feel that it's important to do so because I don't want any other struggling single mothers to make the same mistake I made. I hired Mr. Bliven to represent me in my support case and I'm beyond disappointed with his services, and cannot emphasize enough how unprofessional he was in handling my case.
    Mr. Bliven will be there to take your money, and ask for more, but when it comes to delivering, and protecting you and your children's interests and rights in court, he will fail you!! Don't count on him to fight for you or to even care about what you're going through. I was only able to speak with him during our initial consultation and after that I could not even reach him while trying to prepare for my upcoming hearings. I lost my case due to his unprofessionalism and lack of integrity, which cost me thousands and thousands of dollars. He was always late for our hearings and always unprepared. Once again, I deeply regret ever working with him.

    More 
    David Ivan Bliven’s response: “This review came just a day after I dared to insist that the ex-client pay her final balance. I had worked hard on her case, she received an unfavorable decision, and felt that she shouldn't pay her final balance because of that. There's no detail of what "unprofessionalism" I engaged in, and indeed on a review of all phone calls & e-mails, there was not a single complaint received from this ex-client - until 2 days ago, of course, when I insisted upon payment. I even sent her an e-mail dated 7/8/13 stating my records had not revealed any prior complaints from her & invited her to provide me with any details of such prior complaints. No response was received. This ex-client initially retained me on a Violation case. It turned out there was also a downward modification case pending, though she did not mention same upon retaining me. While on my contract I could have charged her an additional fee for the extra petition (as the case was thus more complex than the one she initially retained me on), I waived that additional fee. Indeed, I had even given her a 50% discount on both my retainer and my hourly rates for the duration of the case. Additionally, as opposed to the "thousands & thousands" supposedly spent, this ex-client paid $2,000 for a case which spanned multiple court dates and lasted nearly a year. Moreover, she states she was only able to speak with me at the initial consultation. The truth is far different. Besides multiple phone calls and e-mails throughout the case (including, as an example, a 1/30/12 call to my cell phone), this client had 2 subsequent in-office appointments with me, on 12/28/11 and on 1/4/12, together lasting well over an hour. There is not a single phone call, e-mail or other communication from this ex-client indicating she was either trying to reach me or make an appointment with me in which her efforts were frustrated. As opposed to the ex-client stating I was "always late," once again there is nothing in my records indicating same. More importantly, there is no record of any phone call, e-mail or other communication from the ex-client in which she noted any of my supposed lateness's. The case was scheduled for 2/7/12 and was a preliminary date which was adjourned on request of the respondent. The matter was on for 3/7/12 and the Violation case (the very case the ex-client had retained me on) was successfully settled after SCU revealed they had seized all of the outstanding arrears from the father's bank account. The matter was adjourned for a hearing. As opposed to the statement of me supposedly being "unprepared," for the next court date (6/7/12) I properly filed a motion to compel disclosure against the father for failing to produce certain previously-requested financial documents. The Magistrate granted the application, in part, by ordering the father to produce the requested documents under threat of disclosure sanctions. The case had final trial dates of 9/24/12 & 10/15/12. During the hearing, I made a proper application that the father's petition be dismissed. The Magistrate stated she would proceed with the hearing and consider whatever documents - or lack thereof - father produced on his case. Finally, this ex-client states she lost the case due to my "unprofessionalism and lack of integrity." Once again, there isn't the slightest hint as to what is meant by this. The ex-client "lost" her case - in part - by the Magistrate reducing her order of support from $391/week to $291/week as the Magistrate found that the father had been laid-off from his higher paying job, but found a subsequent job earning $25/hour. I say she only "partially" lost her case because the Magistrate made that entire reduced amount applicable retroactively - including for significant periods of time the father claimed he was unemployed. She was sent a closing letter on 1/3/13 stating I hoped she found my services to be adequate - no response was received.”
  • 5.0 stars

    Posted by nycbme1234

    Divorce proceedings

    I didn't hire him but will likely be reaching out soon. His answers to me and his reviews from others are impeccable. Just wish he was closer to Nassau County...

    More 
  • 5.0 stars

    Posted by Noreen

    Best Lawyer I Would Recommend

    Mr. David Bliven represented me and my husband during a Child Visitation case. Prior to Mr. Bliven's representation we had no voice at all in the Bronx Family Court. It is truly a terrible place. After two horrible experiences with a bias judge that seemed to favor the petitioners who in my case were my husbands parents who were under the impression that their malicious intents could overturn my rights along with my husbands. The wicked judge who presided over the case seemed to identify and and even make jokes with the petitioners during court where they would all laugh. This judge was about to grant visitation to my husbands parents without one word of testimony from myself or my husband. Long story short once I consulted Mr. Bliven thru him we were able to be heard. He advised us on what could be done and how was the best way to approach in order to be most productive. This process took a little over two years and during that time there was no violation of rights and no forced visitation. In the end the case was dismissed on account karma intervened on the petitioners and due to an accident they withdrew their petition. Should my ordeal start again I wouldn't go with any other attorney than Mr. David Bliven. Communication was great and Invoices were well documented. Very professional. Thank you so much for everything Mr David Bliven. Regards

    More 
  • 5.0 stars

    Posted by Shah

    Best Lawyer You Can Get!

    I had a Very Difficult Child Custody Case where my Ex Wife had an Order of Protection against me. I went through 3 other Lawyers in Nassau County Family Court since June 2010 who all were NOT TRUSTWORTHY and ended up Settling things for my Ex-Wife without my Knowledge, and did not allow me to even Go to Trial. My Ex-Wife's Lawyer was a Law-Guardian on many other cases , and my Lawyers wanted to make it work with her on their current and successive cases so they ended up agreeing to a Global Settlement on behalf of my Ex-Wife without letting me know.

    Once I found out that all these Lawyers work in the same courtroom and help each other, I looked up on JUDGEWATCH.ORG and found Mr. David Bliven. Mr. Bliven was honest and upfront with me, and DENIED a GLOBAL SETTLEMENT for my EX-WIFE.

    Mr. Bliven worked so hard to finally get me a Trial for the Order of Protection. Once we went to trial, Mr. Bliven Hammered my Ex-Wife with a Barrage of Questions which Impeached her Credibility. The Judge knew right away that my ex-wife was Lying after Mr. Bliven questioned her on the stand. Needless to say, My Ex-Wife backed Down, and Dropped the Whole Order Of Protection, Dropped Custody, She Dropped Everything because Mr. Bliven worked so hard to protect my Rights as his client. If my Ex-Wife did not drop her case, then she could of faced a lot more serious charges against her for committing Perjury on the Stand. You need a Good Lawyer like Mr. Bliven to get the Truth out.

    Mr. Bliven is a True Angel that God sent my way to protect me and my family. I have FULL CUSTODY of my 3 children, and The Mother of My Children does NOT EVEN have any VISITATION. I recommend Mr. Bliven wholeheartedly. You can trust him to do the right thing because he is Honest. I wish most Lawyers were like Mr. Bliven, but unfortunately they are not.

    Thanks again Mr. Bliven for all your hard work and dedication.

    More 
  • 5.0 stars

    Posted by a Child Custody client

    job well done

    easy to work with and fair. even sent a refund check when I didn't use my entire retainer. Highest praise.

    More 
  • 5.0 stars

    Posted by Brian Breunig

    David Bliven Honest and Competent

    I hired Mr Bliven To represent me in a divorce . And I found him to be competent and was very satisfied with the out come

    More 
  • 5.0 stars

    Posted by a Family client

    Phenomenal, Honest Lawyer!!!

    It is impossible for me to say enough good things about this man. He is a totally honest, honorable, competent man and a phenomenal lawyer. As I e mailed him privately, in the movie "Another 48 Hours," after Nick Nolte got the tar beaten out of him in a bar Eddie Murphy shot one of the rednecks in the kneecap and he and Nolte walked out of the bar with no furher harm. Bliven shot the opposition in the kneecap and I walked away unharmed. CPS took me to court on some very nasty, hyperinflated charges. I retained an excellent, crooked lawyer that made a mess of things and made things look hopeless. Then in comes Bliven. While he wasn't able to be present until after the hearing was over for the first date after I retained him, the judge saw the documents he sent to the other lawyers and commented upon how professional they looked. Even though he didn't tell me in so many words, I'd put money on the fact that when all hope was lost, he got me back into my home on a limited basis. He then issued a dscovery request that handcuffed the opposition, then kept e mail hammering away at them mercilessly to fish or cut bait. While his potential legal strategies turned out to be unnecessary given the path my case took, they would have been excellent were they called for. He comes off as a cross between Herman Munster (oh goody) and Mr. Flanders in the Simpsons (hi diddly dee neighbor), but under that mild mannered exterior is a bloodthirsty starving Great White Shark focused on one thing only: tearing the opposition to shreds. He's not cheap (you get what you pay for), but he is scrupulously honest in his billing, does not charge for an hour when it took him five minutes to write the mail, and while his assistant did make a couple of honest mistakes with the billing, one message on the telephone got them corrected almost instantly (as opposed to one certified letter to the previous lawyer, one cetified letter to the Grievance Committee, and six months to get the balance of the retainer rightfully owed me). After experiencing that crooked lowlife, Bliven compared to the crooked lowlife is like a delicious Chinese dinner compared to dogfood. At almost twice the hourly rate of the previous lawyer, it took Bliven six times longer to finally burn through his retainer (money very well spent). Bliven got me a six month ACD, half the length of a normal ACD, and I got through it with minimal disruption to my life. Readers of this review may believe as they choose, but I am not in any way associated with him, I am an actual former client, and have received nothing for writing this review. If CPS has taken your situation, put one and one together and made it one hundred eleven thousand, call Bliven. Period.

    More 
  • 5.0 stars

    Posted by Elizabeth

    When You Need a Lawyer...

    It came as a surprise when my husband of 25 years told me he was leaving. David took everything into hand and represented me when I could hardly think or speak. He answered all my questions, he negotiated a fair distribution of assets and much more.

    More 
  • 5.0 stars

    Posted by Aurelina

    Divorce process

    Divorce is a hard time but if you choose an attorney like Mr. Bliven will be less difficult, he has a lot of experience and his advices address me to take good decisions in benefit to my family and in the other hand he is a very patience with people who don't speak very well English, Thanks God to find you.

    More 
  • 5.0 stars

    Posted by a Child Support client

    Knowledgable and Responsive Attorney

    David Bliven was incredibly helpful as I navigated the family court system. He was knowledgeable and responsive every time I out reached to him with general and specific questions about child support and custody. I felt like he took the time to get to know me so he could provide me with a tailored response each and every time.

    More