David Ivan Bliven’s Reviews

David Ivan Bliven

Average Rating

Based on 30 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. David Bliven Honest and Competent

    Posted by Brian Breunig, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Good
    • I recommend David Bliven.
    • I hired David more than 3 years ago.
    • David handled my Divorce & Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    I hired Mr Bliven To represent me in a divorce . And I found him to be competent and was very satisfied with the out come

  2. Phenomenal, Honest Lawyer!!!

    Posted by a Family client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend David Bliven.
    • I hired David more than 3 years ago.
    • David handled my Family matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    It is impossible for me to say enough good things about this man. He is a totally honest, honorable, competent man and a phenomenal lawyer. As I e mailed him privately, in the movie "Another 48 Hours," after Nick Nolte got the tar beaten out of him in a bar Eddie Murphy shot one of the rednecks in the kneecap and he and Nolte walked out of the bar with no furher harm. Bliven shot the opposition in the kneecap and I walked away unharmed. CPS took me to court on some very nasty, hyperinflated charges. I retained an excellent, crooked lawyer that made a mess of things and made things look hopeless. Then in comes Bliven. While he wasn't able to be present until after the hearing was over for the first date after I retained him, the judge saw the documents he sent to the other lawyers and commented upon how professional they looked. Even though he didn't tell me in so many words, I'd put money on the fact that when all hope was lost, he got me back into my home on a limited basis. He then issued a dscovery request that handcuffed the opposition, then kept e mail hammering away at them mercilessly to fish or cut bait. While his potential legal strategies turned out to be unnecessary given the path my case took, they would have been excellent were they called for. He comes off as a cross between Herman Munster (oh goody) and Mr. Flanders in the Simpsons (hi diddly dee neighbor), but under that mild mannered exterior is a bloodthirsty starving Great White Shark focused on one thing only: tearing the opposition to shreds. He's not cheap (you get what you pay for), but he is scrupulously honest in his billing, does not charge for an hour when it took him five minutes to write the mail, and while his assistant did make a couple of honest mistakes with the billing, one message on the telephone got them corrected almost instantly (as opposed to one certified letter to the previous lawyer, one cetified letter to the Grievance Committee, and six months to get the balance of the retainer rightfully owed me). After experiencing that crooked lowlife, Bliven compared to the crooked lowlife is like a delicious Chinese dinner compared to dogfood. At almost twice the hourly rate of the previous lawyer, it took Bliven six times longer to finally burn through his retainer (money very well spent). Bliven got me a six month ACD, half the length of a normal ACD, and I got through it with minimal disruption to my life. Readers of this review may believe as they choose, but I am not in any way associated with him, I am an actual former client, and have received nothing for writing this review. If CPS has taken your situation, put one and one together and made it one hundred eleven thousand, call Bliven. Period.

  3. When You Need a Lawyer...

    Posted by Elizabeth, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend David Bliven.
    • I hired David more than 3 years ago.
    • David handled my Divorce & Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    It came as a surprise when my husband of 25 years told me he was leaving. David took everything into hand and represented me when I could hardly think or speak. He answered all my questions, he negotiated a fair distribution of assets and much more.

  4. Divorce process

    Posted by Aurelina, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend David Bliven.
    • I hired David 1-3 years ago.
    • David handled my Divorce & Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    Divorce is a hard time but if you choose an attorney like Mr. Bliven will be less difficult, he has a lot of experience and his advices address me to take good decisions in benefit to my family and in the other hand he is a very patience with people who don't speak very well English, Thanks God to find you.

  5. Knowledgable and Responsive Attorney

    Posted by a Child Support client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend David Bliven.
    • I hired David more than 3 years ago.
    • David handled my Child Support matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    David Bliven was incredibly helpful as I navigated the family court system. He was knowledgeable and responsive every time I out reached to him with general and specific questions about child support and custody. I felt like he took the time to get to know me so he could provide me with a tailored response each and every time.

  6. retired

    Posted by a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend David Bliven.
    • I hired David more than 3 years ago.
    • David handled my Divorce & Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Several years ago David handled my divorce agreement. David was extremely professional and knowledgeable. Everything was processed in a timely manner. Should the need arise in the future I would not hesitate to seek his services again and would highly recommend him to others.

  7. Competent attorney who knows his stuff

    Posted by a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend David Bliven.
    • I hired David more than 3 years ago.
    • David handled my Divorce & Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Mr. Bliven handled my case & I can say that he was very professional throughout the course of my case. I was very pleased with the outcome. He always kept me well informed about my case & always made himself available by replying to my emails or phone calls in a timely fashion unlike many other lawyers out there. His fees are very reasonable & even works with you depending on your income which was very helpful to me. He is one attorney that I would highly recommend & would use his services again if needed. His Paralegal was also very helpful & patient with me whenever I called.

  8. Couldn't be more satisfied with the service given.

    Posted by a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend David Bliven.
    • I hired David more than 3 years ago.
    • David handled my Divorce & Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Mr. Bliven is one lawyer that I can say knows his stuff. He is very knowledgeable about the law and is willing to the research if needed. He not only represents you but he looks out for his client's best interest. With over 14 years of experience, I can trust him to do what is in the best interest for me. He is not afraid to let me know what the situation looks like and give me false hope. He is up front and honest which is what I needed. Thank you Mr Bliven for making a tough time in my life go as smoothly as possible.

  9. A very competent lawyer

    Posted by a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend David Bliven.
    • I hired David more than 3 years ago.
    • David handled my Divorce & Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    This lawyer took on a very difficult case for me & handled it with professionalism & class. I was very pleased with the result. He also made himself available whenever I had questions & did not hesitate to accomodate me if I wanted an office appointment. Unlike a prior lawyer I had who didn't even have a secretary, Mr Bliven provided e-mail & cell phone access, as well as access to his paralegal & legal assistant. He also made it a point to ensure I was provided with copies of everything he filed with the court, along with court orders.

  10. Awsome lawyer who works hard for his clients

    Posted by a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend David Bliven.
    • I hired David more than 3 years ago.
    • David handled my Divorce & Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Mr Bliven has been very helpful throughout a very hard time for me and has made me understand the entire process by always keeping me informed as to the status of my case. He found time to always look into all the issues leaving no stone unturned. He was also very reasonable with his billing. I would highly recommend the lawyer for family court issues.