David Ivan Bliven’s Reviews

David Ivan Bliven

Average Rating

Based on 27 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. Truly a top family law expert

    Posted by Jonathan, a Child Support client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend David Bliven.
    • I hired David 1-6 months ago.
    • David handled my Child Support matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Mr. Bliven came very highly recommended to me by a friend who used to practice family law and had transitioned into other areas of legal practicee. I was not disapponited.

    Mr. Bliven was thoroughly knowledgeable and highly attentive as he helped me smoothly resolve complex child support matters involving international issues of competing jurisdictions. Having had a number of attorneys in the course of my divorce and child custody/support matters over the last 18 years, I believe I am expereinced to know that Mr Bliven is a top family law expert.

  2. My child support/ child custody experience with Mr. Bliven

    Posted by Gregg, a Child Support client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend David Bliven.
    • I hired David 6-12 months ago.
    • David handled my Child Support matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Although I subscribe to a legal plan through my union (I'm a teacher), I decided to retain Mr. Bliven based on our initial consultation. He seemed much better versed than the less expensive "plan" attorney I spoke to in the child support matter I brought to him. Mr. Bliven scanned the paperwork I brought with me to the consultation and immediately developed a strategy using various points of law. Mr. Bliven kept in constant contact with me and "cc'd" me on all correspondence he and my ex-wife's attorney had via email or hard-copy. Mr. Bliven's court room demeanor was just as I had hoped it would be; vocal and on point. Ultimately, my ex-wife and I reached a fair compromise that did not follow the typical default percentages NY State dictates. I would definitely retain again should the need arise.

  3. Great Lawyer

    Posted by Nancy, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend David Bliven.
    • I hired David 1-3 years ago.
    • David handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    I had consulted with other lawyers during my search for an attorney. I felt comfortable hiring Mr. Bliven. He was able to answer all my questions and was honest. I was going through a difficult time financially. Mr. Bliven made adjustments to my bill and worked out a payment plan when I otherwise couldn't have afford a lawyer. I had to commute from the Bronx to court in Brooklyn which was hard for me financially. Mr. Bliven was willing to drive me to and from court in Brooklyn which I greatly appreciated. I am very satisfied with his services. I highly recommend Mr. Bliven.

  4. Excellent lawyer

    Posted by Steven, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend David Bliven.
    • I hired David more than 3 years ago.
    • David handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Took me through a difficult divorce step by step. He handled everything in a competent and professional manner. He kept me in the loop at all times.

  5. Excellent Lawyer

    Posted by a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend David Bliven.
    • I hired David more than 3 years ago.
    • David handled my Divorce / Separation matter.

    Mr. Bliven is a true professional and was very helpful during my divorce process . He managed to keep me fully informed every step of the way. His rates were reasonable for a lawyer of his level. I would highly recommend him for any family related issues.

  6. would do it over the same way.

    Posted by Anthony, a Family client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend David Bliven.
    • I hired David 6-12 months ago.
    • David handled my Family matter.

    was very help full in every way,kept me informed all the time.and of course very knowledgeable about the law.just a down to earth guy, so glad i found him, thank you David.

  7. client of Mr Bliven. represented in a post divorce child support case

    Posted by ariane, a Child Support client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Good
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend David Bliven.
    • I hired David 1-3 years ago.
    • David handled my Child Support matter.

    Mr Bliven was knowlegable. Informative and an incredible strategist. He used all of my legal rights to defend me in my case and was extremely professional to work with. I can't thank him enough for his ability to use our rights as law abiding citizens and to get the job done. David consulted with me on all motions before revealing them to the court or to any other parties. For this I thank him for and am gratefull for his dlilgence in representation.

  8. Worst attorney in NYS

    Posted by Ms. Z. Israel, a Family client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Poor
    Kept me informed
     Fair
    • I do not recommend David Bliven.
    • I hired David 1-3 years ago.
    • David handled my Family matter.

    He was absolutely one of the worst paid lawyers that I've retained. He's consistently late or sick. He charges you for email inboxes, instead of on aggressive and assertive representation in the court. He provided me with substandard representation. In the end I paid thousands of dollars on him receiving emails, and him sending out nonsense subpoena when it was never used, and his primary intention was to get me a standard 6-12 month ACD, when I clearly informed him that Trial is where I intend to take this case.Don't bother retain this legal aid attorney/ private attorney who disguises himself as a knowledgeable former ACS attorney. The worst attorney can get you an ACD for free. Word of advice to those seeking a family lawyer is spend your money where it will work for you, and clearly it won't work for you when hiring David Bliven.

    1. David Ivan Bliven

      David Bliven

      Lawyer Comment:

      I never represented anyone by the name of "Israel," so people reading this review are cautioned that this may be a completely fictitious review (I understand Avvo has not received verification from this person that they were an actual client of mine). If I had to guess, though, I represented this person in a Family Court matter. As for me supposedly arriving late, my records reveal the following: 2/27/13 court date I arrived on time for the 9am call, 3/5/13 date I arrived 12 minutes early, 3/15/13 date I arrived on time for the 9:30 call, 5/8/13 date I arrived 6 minutes early and 7/19/13 date I arrived 2 hours late, BUT with permission of the court as I had another appearance in another court (& the client and all counsel were notified of same in advance). On the 8/5/13 court date, I called in sick (which was the only court date or appointment I missed due to illness) because I had just recently been hospitalized due to severe bronchitis. As for supposedly paying a lot of money for subpar representation, this person never raised a single complaint. Indeed, her reasons for releasing me as her attorney had absolutely nothing to do with her dissatisfaction of me as her attorney. I'll quote from her e-mail requesting my release: "I've exhausted all my savings, and can no longer afford to retain you as my lawyer." Additionally, her characterization of an "ACD" (or "adjournment in contemplation of dismissal") being "standard," thus implying it's easy to receive, is completely misplaced. An ACD in my experience is very hard to get as a plea offer from ACS (anyone who doubts that is free to post that question to any of the other lawyers on Avvo). ACDs are given out in less than 10% of all ACS cases - and thus her statement that the worst attorney can get you one is completely baseless. In sum, this person never complained at all about my services and only released me because she could not afford me. I felt bad that she could not continue to afford my services - but certainly this does not give her grounds to post a bogus review about me online.

      Posted 11 months ago. Flag

  9. Caution

    Posted by a Family client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Fair
    Knowledgeable
     Fair
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I do not recommend David Bliven.
    • David handled my Family matter.

    He always arrives late to court hearings, unprepared, and doesn't wholeheartedly advocate for what you want as a client. He doesn't listen to his clients wishes. He cowards down when he comes across a hostile Judge. He's not an assertive lawyer. He gives a good presentation upon getting your retainer, but his actions differ in the court room.

    1. David Ivan Bliven

      David Bliven

      Lawyer Comment:

      It is hard to reply with any specifics, given how vague this posting is. That said, in terms of "being late," I am rarely late. At times, if a case is scheduled for 9am (for example) & I know that the Judge doesn't get going until 9:30 or after, I may show up at closer to 9:30. Most of my clients appreciate that I'm trying to save them money & not bill them for sitting around in a waiting area when I knew going in the case wasn't going to be called on time - apparently 1 client doesn't appreciate this. In terms of "being unprepared," I can only say the vast majority of my clients are very pleased with my services (I refer you to all my other reviews). It sounds as though this client simply lost his/her case & instead of putting the blame where it needs to be, s/he decides to make vague & unfounded accusations in an anonymous internet post. In terms of me not being a "wholehearted advocate," I specifically meet with all of my clients prior to the hearings & never settle a case without his/her input & consent. Finally, in terms of me "cowering down," I can only say that as a former Family Court prosecutor, I have extensive trial experience appearing before Judges, who are sometimes hostile both to me and my client's position. I don't back down & would refer you to any of the rest of the client reviews who back that assertion up. I submit this posting comes not from someone genuinely dissatisfied with my services (especially given the lack of specifics), but instead from someone who received their final bill & have actually found to their chagrin that I'm insisting on them paying it. Go figure.

      Posted about 1 year ago. Flag

  10. Highly Recommend

    Posted by Peter. S, a Child Support client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend David Bliven.
    • I hired David 1-3 years ago.
    • David handled my Child Support matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    I found Mr. Bliven through AVVO. I have never hired an attorney and didn’t know where to start. Mr. Bliven was down to earth and very approachable. I hired Mr. Bliven for a Child Support matter because of his knowledge and honestly. During the hearing Mr. Bliven picked apart the opposing Lawyer. He got my case dismissed and saved me thousands in child Support. I couldn’t have been more please with his work. I even received a refund with a detailed Invoice for charges.
    I Highly recommend Mr. Bliven .

Call now for a free consultation.

914-468-0968