Harold N. Dee’s Reviews

Harold N. Dee

Average Rating

Based on 24 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. A True Gentlemen and Advocate

    Posted by Thomas, a Speeding Ticket client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Harold Dee.
    • I hired Harold 1-6 months ago.
    • Harold handled my Speeding / Traffic Ticket matter.

    I would be amiss if I did not first express my satisfaction with the entire AVVO website; the site represents exactly what the legal community should be doing to encourage the access of justice and legal assistance in the new digital world. With that being said, I was referred to the Avvo website by an Attorney who practices within my field, the property casualty insurance industry. He explained that it is the BEST way to find local attorneys whom's practice is pertinent to your legal needs,etc., especially for matters of traffic Court.

    I must also say that I was generally impressed by all of the Attorneys who participated in my original post, as they all had very good insight and I appreciated the their commentary.

    When choosing Attorney Harold Dee, my decision was based upon his STELLAR reviews and reputation within the Avvo community, as well as the unique benefit that HE would actually be the one representing me, and not just a "staff counsel". His communications prior to retainer were of a personal manner, and he actually respected my layman attempt to describe the issues pertaining to my situation and the possible remedies available to me.

    Due to my profession, I am in contact with Attorneys on a day by day basis, as much of my client base are of the legal community, so my perspective is based on a rather professional experience with counsel as opposed to the typical limited experience that the average person may have.

    As of such, my realization that Attorney Dee was of the utmost professional and competent pedigree was rendered promptly, and was completely impressed by him. He was very detailed on issues that were of concern to me, he understood the inherent financial concerns that are relating to any traffic court matter, and assured me that he would consider the expenses when conducting himself in Court to minimize such.

    Allow me to address an issue common to the client attorney "relationship"; it is common that an Attorney plays a "salesman" role early on, prior to executing the contract. However, this is typically followed by a "switch" to most communications being conducted between the client and the attorney's paralegal, staff counsel, etc. I actually expected this!

    However, Attorney Harold Dee surprised me again here, as upon executing the agreement of representation and paying the relating fee, he did not "suddenly become extremely busy, unexpected summary judgement trial work, "not available", etc.", but rather, continued through out the ENTIRE process to communicate DIRECTLY with me, calling him more than I was ever calling him! I must say, throughout the entire span of his representation, I had not spoken to a single member of his staff; every single communication was directly with Attorney Dee.

    Now, as I am in my early 30s, I am very accustomed to communicating via text/email, etc., while I also communicate with Attorneys all day and realize that they commonly lack a shared interest in "texting and emailing". Again, Attorney Harold Dee surprised me again, and was completely prompt and receptive to my various text messages, emails, etc. This was a huge plus, as he seemed to enter right into realm and responded very well to this method.

    While communicating with him, I never felt rushed nor like I was wasting him time, actually much of the opposite. He is a GREAT communicator.

    Attorney Harold Dee was so professional regarding communication, that he actually took the time to call me personally every day we had court, to "remind me that Court was at 5:30pm today"! Never a call from his office staff, or even the requirement for me to remind my Attorney, he actually made efforts to ensure that I was aware of all Court dates. And, although the prosecutor was "new" to the Court, and none of the Attorneys had a prior rapport with him, Attorney Dee was able to eventually convince the Prosecutor to agree to our "plea offer". HE DID GREAT, AND I WALKED OUT WITH ONLY A $150 COURT FEE!

  2. Aggressive/Ticket Happy Trooper Trumped

    Posted by Dad, a Speeding Ticket client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Good
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Good
    • I recommend Harold Dee.
    • I hired Harold 6-12 months ago.
    • Harold handled my Speeding / Traffic Ticket matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    My son received a speeding ticket, a lane chage ticket and a failure to signal ticket (total 11 points) and was in severe jeopardy of having his license suspended in NY. Also, he had moved away for the summer and was not available to go to court. I hired Harold Dee to represent him in his absense and the charges were negotiated down to one infraction of failure to obey a traffic control device (2 points). Paying the substantially reduced fine was well worth avoiding the NY suspension and assessment fees and insurance surcharges. When my son returns to the area he will have to be extra cautious while driving. Attorney Dee is Highly Recommended!

  3. Harold Dee

    Posted by Wayne, a Speeding Ticket client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Harold Dee.
    • I hired Harold 1-3 years ago.
    • Harold handled my Speeding / Traffic Ticket matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I would absolutely recommend Harold to anyone in search of legal representation. He achieved the desire outcome for my case and I will always be grateful! His staff kept me well informed throughout the process.

  4. Could have been suspended!

    Posted by Ms A, a Speeding Ticket client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Harold Dee.
    • I hired Harold 6-12 months ago.
    • Harold handled my Speeding / Traffic Ticket matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    It took the Bedford Courts 1 1/2yrs to send me notice of a court date after I plead not guilty to a speeding ticket + 3 other tickets. The speeding ticket was for going 31 miles over the speed limit, the other three were for tailgating, lane violation and passing on the right. All added up to 18pts. Harold was able to reduce that to 3pts and a parking ticket + $385 fine. He advised me to take a DDC on line which I did do prior to the court date for $50. I was proactive with this since it was my responsibility to do what I could to reduce the fines and keep my license. I would definitely recommend Harold Dee and couldn't be happier with the results. Happy motoring!

  5. Stellar Attorney Practice

    Posted by C, a Speeding Ticket client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Harold Dee.
    • I hired Harold 1-3 years ago.
    • Harold handled my Speeding / Traffic Ticket matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    Attorney Harold Dee's professionalism, intellect, vernacular and overall business practices are what all motor vehicle defense attorneys should aspire to. He not only superseded my expectation on my case, but did so with the utmost swiftness, polite candor, and down to earth personable approach.

    His wonderful interpersonal skills facilitate an excellent attorney-client relationship. This is especially helpful for those whom may not feel comfortable ascertaining information from an attorney because Harold Dee makes both the conversations and case process a seamless and low pressure experience.

    I highly recommend if you have any motor vehicle infractions pending to utilize the skills and expertise of Harold Dee.

  6. Excellent Representation

    Posted by Faro, a Speeding Ticket client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Harold Dee.
    • I hired Harold 1-3 years ago.
    • Harold handled my Speeding / Traffic Ticket matter.
    • I have previously worked with 6-10 lawyers.

    I have a habit of asking too many questions about anything that I am paying for. Mr. Dee never made me feel unwelcomed and answered all my questions thoroughly, all the while (before and after taking my money) assuring me that I was in good hand. Never overpromised anything but certainly over-delivered – My 6 point moving violation was reduced to a parking ticket.

  7. Excellent outcome

    Posted by Daniel, a Speeding Ticket client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Harold Dee.
    • I hired Harold 1-3 years ago.
    • Harold handled my Speeding / Traffic Ticket matter.
    • I have previously worked with more than 10 lawyers.

    The outcome of my case was far more favorable than I expected. Harold is extraordinary.

  8. OVERALL GREAT EXPERIENCE WITH A KNOWLEDGABLE ATTORNEY

    Posted by Mike, a Speeding Ticket client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Good
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Good
    • I recommend Harold Dee.
    • I hired Harold 1-3 years ago.
    • Harold handled my Speeding / Traffic Ticket matter.
    • I have previously worked with more than 10 lawyers.

    BOTTOM LINE; MY TICKET WAS REDUCED; AND THAT IS WHAT I PAID FOR, REDUCED A 4 POINTER TO A PARKING TICKET; SO I AM VERY SATISFIED, THE ATTORNEY IS VERY KNOWLEDGEABLE AND WAS HELPFUL THROUGHOUT THE PROCESS, THE ONLY NEGATIVE AND IT WAS SMALL, WAS I WISHED I HAD MORE FREQUENT UPDATES, SINCE THE COURT TOOK 6 MONTHS (NOT THE ATTORNEYS FAULT), I JUST WOULD HAVE LIKED AN OCCASIONAL EMAIL THAT THEY WERE STILL WAITING FOR A COURT DATE SO I KNEW I WASN'T FORGOTTEN. SO I CALLED THEM EVERY SO OFTEN MYSELF AND THEY WERE VERY RESPONSIVE........OVERALL GREAT EXPERIENCE

  9. Happy with the service

    Posted by a Transportation client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Harold Dee.
    • I hired Harold 1-3 years ago.
    • Harold handled my Transportation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Got my 6 point 91 in a 65 reduced to 2 points non moving within two weeks of me contacting them. Very pleased with the service.

  10. Not worth the money

    Posted by a Speeding Ticket client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Poor
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Harold Dee.
    • I hired Harold 1-3 years ago.
    • Harold handled my Speeding / Traffic Ticket matter.
    • I have previously worked with 6-10 lawyers.

    Harold Dee charged me $750 for representation for a speeding ticket in the bronx. After the court date I heard nothing, and received no replies to my email. Not unsurprisingly I received the full penalty from NY State shortly after.

    While success isnt guaranteed, being ignored makes me feel ripped off. I am left to the opinion that is that Harold Dee is an overpriced, uncommunicative, waste of time.

    1. Harold N. Dee

      Harold N. Dee

      Lawyer Comment:

      Sadly, this is the first negative review in 39 years of practice. This client, initials HB, retained us at the last minute for an excessive speed in NYC. Motorist charged with doing 82 in a 50 mph zone, the maximum speed in the City of New York. We were retained after the ticket was bonded, meaning that the motorist had exhausted all his adjournments and came to us after the case was bonded and scheduled for trial. We had one chance with an experienced highway cop. Client was found guilty,however, we succeeded in reducing the "8" point speed (31- 40 mph over limit) to a "6" point speed. Client convicted of 80 mph in a 50 mph zone thus saving the motorist $150 NYS driver assessment fee. As with all prospective clients he was made aware of the difficulties in winning against an experienced highway officer. To say that he was "ripped off" is unfair! A dozen positive reviews follow.

      Posted over 1 year ago. Flag