Jay S. Baum’s Reviews

Jay S. Baum

Average Rating

Based on 10 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. Do not retain this lawyer!! Rude before his clients, not trustworthy, No integrity

    Posted by a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Poor
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Jay Baum.
    • I hired Jay 1-6 months ago.
    • Jay handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    This lawyer is rude individual who does return phone calls or emails in a timely manner. Returns clients refunds back when he's ready oh and his retainer agreement is 5,000.00. He does not have a retainer cancellation fee in his contract he presents to his clients. After dealing with him for 1 hour during a consultation meeting I realized that he cares more about money than his clients and that's wrong. Take advice and do not go to this attorney!!! The NY bar association should investigate this "lawyer".

  2. Worst lawyer ever. Stay away from him

    Posted by a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Poor
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Jay Baum.
    • I hired Jay 1-3 years ago.
    • Jay handled my Divorce / Separation matter.

    Please, if you are sincere to yourself then never even think about hiring this lawyer. Have been with many lawyers but swear by God, if I lie, I go
    to hell. This is the WORST lawyer of all time. He will never let you know what is going on with your case.
     My case was pretty simple and straight forward uncontestant divorce case with no kids and no property etc. Such cases are mostly done in 3 to 6 months time with $2,000 cost almost. But he screwed me so bad that he had over charged me and it was objected in the court with his silly mistake that he didn't put my address on the afflidevit. He wasted more than 1 year time and cost me almost $5,000 plus. Still he didn't know when my case will be settled. 

    Please don't fall for him in his first meeting. Once u did, then you will be able to realize that it was your biggest mistake to hire him as a lawyer. Stay away from him even if he is the last lawyer exist in the world.

  3. Worst lawyer of all time

    Posted by a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Poor
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Jay Baum.
    • I hired Jay 1-3 years ago.
    • Jay handled my Divorce / Separation matter.

    Please, if you are sincere to yourself then never even think about hiring this lawyer. Have been with many lawyers but swear by God, if I lie, I go to hell. This is the WORST lawyer of all time. He is a big time liar, dishonest, disrespectful, unprofessional and untrustworthy. He will never let you know what is going on with your case.
     My case was pretty simple and straight forward uncontestant divorce case with no kids and no property etc. Such cases are mostly done in 3 to 6 months time with $2,000 cost almost. But he screwed me so bad that he had over charged me and it was objected in the court with his silly mistake that he didn't put my address on the afflidevit. He wasted more than 1 year time and cost me almost $5,000 plus. Still he didn't know when my case will be settled. 

    He will never satisfied you and will never bring you into comfort zone. His main ambition is here to find out the ways that how he can prolong your case and can make money from you.  

    Please don't fall for him in his first meeting. He is a big time lair and will do anything just to make u sign the contract. Once u did, then you will be able to realize that it was your biggest mistake to hire him as a lawyer. Stay away from him even if he is the last lawyer exist in the world.

  4. Kept me in the dark..

    Posted by a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Fair
    Knowledgeable
     Average
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Jay Baum.
    • Jay handled my Divorce / Separation matter.

    I had such a horrific experience with this attorney.. He took me to the cleaners and did not accomplish anything. Never explained anything to me. I never knew what was going on with my case.. Just dragged my case that was not difficult at all and kept on billing me with no good results.. I in no way recommend this attorney.

  5. Horrible Lawyer

    Posted by a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Poor
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Jay Baum.
    • I hired Jay more than 3 years ago.
    • Jay handled my Divorce / Separation matter.

    DO NOT USE THIS GUY. He is in it to make money and overcharge you! My bill came out to over $60K and I got less than 1/2 of the marital assets. He delayed in every filing. Wasted time even when me and my kids had no income.

  6. If you hire him, you will need a bath!

    Posted by Molly, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Average
    Kept me informed
     Fair
    • I do not recommend Jay Baum.
    • Jay handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    He is rude, unpleasant, sarcastic; he will do whatever necessary, whether moral or not to support his claims and supposedly assist his client. Although knowledgeable and experienced, he has an annoying, almost laughable approach in court and is not well respected, I have found, among his peers. Stay away!

  7. TAKES YOU FOR A RIDE WITH YOUR MNEY

    Posted by PATTY, a Domestic Violence client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Poor
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Jay Baum.
    • I hired Jay more than 3 years ago.
    • Jay handled my Domestic Violence matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    DO NOT USE THIS LAWYER, HE PRETENDS TO BE YOUR FRIEND, BUT AS HE TALKS TO YOU LIKE HE IS YOUR FATHER, HE IS CHARGING YOU FOR EVERY WORD...HE GIVES YOU A RETAINER THAT IT WOULD TAKES MONTHS TO GO OVER, AND YOU KNOW YOU HAVE TO SIGN IT, OR HE WON'T TAKE YOUR CASE...THEN HE ONLY DOES A SMALL PORTION OF THE JOB, AND HE WANTS YOU TO DO THE REST.....

  8. bad lawyer

    Posted by a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Poor
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Jay Baum.
    • I hired Jay 1-3 years ago.
    • Jay handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    he kept my financials for 5 weeks, only did 1/2 of them, and then wanted me to complete them, charging me hundreds of dollars, went on vacation with financials, said divorce would take weeks, but in 17 days, used up 1/2 of retainer

  9. Very bad performance

    Posted by a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Poor
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Jay Baum.
    • I hired Jay more than 3 years ago.
    • Jay handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Did not represent me and i should have won. Did not act due diligently and his delays cost me a lot of money. Conflict of Interest.

  10. Wasted my time and money

    Posted by a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Poor
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Jay Baum.
    • I hired Jay more than 3 years ago.
    • Jay handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    This Lawyer, charged for everything and was unresponsive to my concerns and kept saying dont worry, now i'm paying for it through the nose, my ex is getting away with paying late, im stuck with lawyers fees, he was just horrible, i cant go on anymore.