Barbie Dawn Lieber’s Reviews

Barbie Dawn Lieber

Average Rating

Based on 110 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. Relief Beyond Belief! A fresh start

    Posted by a Chapter 7 client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Barbie Lieber.
    • I hired Barbie 1-6 months ago.
    • Barbie handled my Bankruptcy / Chapter 7 matter.

    When I first called Barbie I was pulled in by her attentiveness. I had called several firms to get consultations because I knew that my case was a very difficult one. The attorneys at the other firms were very short and the conversations seemed very rushed. Barbie answered and immediately began to assess my situation asking the right questions and letting me know exactly what I was up against. I had called another firm and the cost was far cheaper but I chose Barbie because of her approach. I am a single mother of two, currently renting an apartment. I had an income of $92,000 dollars which was well above the median for a family of three. However I was in over $45,000 worth of debt and it had become extremely overwhelming. I would have under any other circumstances been granted a chapter 13. Barbie worked eagerly with me walking me through every step, keeping me well informed. She is extremely knowledgeable. I was granted a chapter 7. What a relief! Thanks for everything Barbie!

  2. Extremely Knowledgable Attorney

    Posted by Bibi, a Chapter 7 client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Barbie Lieber.
    • I hired Barbie 1-6 months ago.
    • Barbie handled my Bankruptcy / Chapter 7 matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    Barbie was extremely knowledgable and helpful. I am so happy that I found her. She made the whole process simple and made sure I was comfortable. I am currently unemployed, with 3 kids, so I needed help and Barbie did just that. She prepared everything and was always available whenever I had a question. If you are searching for a bankruptcy lawyer because you're in need of help, make sure you check out Barbie and give her a call. You will be glad you did. Thank you again Barbie for everything!

  3. I never thought I'd have to do this, but I'm glad when I did I had Barbie to guide me.

    Posted by Mari, a Chapter 7 client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Barbie Lieber.
    • I hired Barbie 1-6 months ago.
    • Barbie handled my Bankruptcy / Chapter 7 matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    I must admit this was one of the hardest things I ever had to do. I'm a new mom, of a 15 month old, out of work since she was 2months old, single and now my savings are almost gone, the debt collectors are at my door (figuratively speaking) and for the first time ever I'm broke and out of work. Never thought I'd need to file for bankruptcy but I did. When trying to find a lawyer I was afraid of getting scammed. I found Barbie all over Google and everyone said how great she was. So I called her and a few others just in case. Immediately she asked me about my situation, I felt like she understood me soon after we started talking unlike the rest. After that first conversation, she said she would email me so I could have all her contact info, and contact her if and when I decided to file. Which she immediately did. No pressure no fuss again unlike some of the others I called. Throughout the process she was there ready to answer all my questions. When we went to the 341 meeting she was the only attorney there. Every other attorney had the same representative there to represent them. She's the only one that held her client's(me) hand from beginning to end. Sadly I watched another lady get screwed bc her attorney wasn't there and the rep wasn't well informed on that individuals case. I am so grateful to Barbie for really having my back. I would recommend her to anyone who finds themselves in a financial situation and doesn't know where to begin. She was great at explaining all my current and future options should my financial situation change.

  4. KNOWLEDGEABLE AND CARING LAWYER

    Posted by Frank & Sally, a Chapter 13 client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Barbie Lieber.
    • I hired Barbie 1-3 years ago.
    • Barbie handled my Bankruptcy / Chapter 13 matter.

    We had no idea how we were going to fix our financial situation credit cards, parent loans, loans. We contacted Barbie at a time when we were very nervous about what we were going to do. She was an amazing lawyer who became our friend thru the process. She is extremely knowledgeable in bankruptcy law. She stood by us every step of the way, answered all of our questions, returned our calls and emails immediately. She was able to get our debt amounts from $3600 per month to $1400 per month. She prepped us for our hearing and stood by us from start to finish. We are grateful for all she did to help us get back on track for our financial security. We recommend her highly.

  5. Extremely caring and compassionate. Barbie never gives up!

    Posted by a Chapter 7 client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Barbie Lieber.
    • I hired Barbie 6-12 months ago.
    • Barbie handled my Bankruptcy / Chapter 7 matter.

    After realizing that bankruptcy was my last option, I did some research online and stumbled upon Barbie Lieber. There was not a single bad review about her and so I called immediately. Lo and behold, it was Barbie who answered my call. Just on that initial call, Barbie spent 45 minutes with me, hearing out my situation. We made an appointment to meet a few weeks later. It was smooth sailing from the very beginning. She was very sympathetic and kept me informed throughout the whole process. She advised me that even though I can file immediately, I should wait a couple more months so that all my credit card debt could be discharged. She was always available to answer any and all questions. She even called me on a SUNDAY! I mean who does that? She always answered emails instantly; if she thought answering via email wasn't sufficient, she would call. The night before my trustee meeting, she coached me for 45 minutes, going over every single detail, coaching me on possible questions that the trustee might ask. I went to bed that night feeling very prepared. The day of the meeting, I got there early to hear what questions the trustee was asking, I was shocked at how poorly counseled some people were. It was apparent that those attorneys didn't spend any time at all with their clients. When it was my turn, I was obviously nervous, but Barbie was right there by my side, My meeting lasted only about 3 minutes. The trustee didn't ask anything as detailed as we had prepared, but it still felt good knowing that had he asked me anything of that sort, I would have an answer for him. Any document that the trustee wanted, Barbie handed it to him at once. I think even the trustee was amazed at how prepared she was. All in all, Barbie is the BEST. I cannot thank her enough for what she has done for me and my family. Nobody ever plans to go through bankruptcy, but if you must and if it's last resort like it was mine, please don't hesitate to retain Barbie. She will make the process as painless as possible.

  6. Confirmed on one try!!

    Posted by Allyson, a Chapter 13 client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Barbie Lieber.
    • I hired Barbie 6-12 months ago.
    • Barbie handled my Bankruptcy / Chapter 13 matter.

    Barbie was the best. I found her after going to an attorney who quoted me a extra large monthly plan payment. She was able to go through my budget and determine all claims that I was eligible for. She was able to successfully challenge the trustee on a couple of issues. On top of it all I my plan was approved at my first confirmation hearing! Barbie is intelligent and kind with just the right amount of sass that it takes to get the job done!

  7. Just an amazing experience

    Posted by Thomas Nguyen, a Chapter 7 client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Barbie Lieber.
    • I hired Barbie 6-12 months ago.
    • Barbie handled my Bankruptcy / Chapter 7 matter.

    My experience with Barbie was just amazing. Our initial conversation involved an explanation of my nightmarish financial situation (never-ending calls & letters) where I first believed I needed to file Chapter 13. To my surprise, Barbie actually explained that I would qualify to file Chapter 7 as well as to be able to keep my vehicle. Barbie was able to explain the process and assisted me by asking all the right questions. Within the days leading up to my 341 meeting, Barbie took additional time from her schedule to coach me and this helped keep me calm and prepared me for my hearing which concluded with a dismissal. Barbie is caring, determined, and just an overall excellent lawyer.

  8. Outstanding and Committed , Worked tirelessly to extract me from an awful hopeless situation.

    Posted by Elizabeth, a Bankruptcy client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Barbie Lieber.
    • I hired Barbie 1-3 years ago.
    • Barbie handled my Bankruptcy / Debt matter.

    Barbie did the impossible which was to not ONLY keep me from going into foreclosure but to oversee and make sure the real estate people did their job as well. I had to deal with an uncooperative ex husband and property I no longer lived in. Barbie was tireless and brilliant in her strategy to bring about a great resolution in very unpromising case.
    Without her commitment and energy ,I would still be under an oppressive loan that would have changed my lifestyle considerably. I am deeply indebted to her for her above and beyond professionalism and kindness. She genuinely cares and wants her clients to be successful and happy.

  9. The Absolute Best at What She Does-- Goes Above & Beyond for Her Clients

    Posted by a Chapter 7 client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Barbie Lieber.
    • I hired Barbie 1-3 years ago.
    • Barbie handled my Bankruptcy / Chapter 7 matter.

    There are no words to describe just what Barbie means to my family. She is more than an accomplished attorney, more than a skilled individual; she became a member of my family. She held our hand through one of the most difficult moments that we’ve ever experienced to date. Our backs were against the wall and with every door being shut in our face, Barbie provided options. Options that did not force us to compromise our integrity, options that made us a stronger unit, options that showed us that we were more than a “Foreclosed” sign that the bank was eagerly awaiting to place on our front lawn. She took the time to educate us on the law and let us know that we should never give up on our situation. What Barbie also did for the emotional state of my family was incredible as well. We found out that my Father had an issue with gambling and she set him up in a program where he has been getting help and encouragement ever since. By addressing the root of the problem we were then able to understand how poor financial choices contributed to us almost losing our home of 28 years. Barbie also let us know that even though we were in a rough patch, that we deserved a fair shot at maintaining what we’ve worked so hard to achieve over the years. It blew my mind that she could guide and council us for hours on end and with such unwavering passion for us to succeed. What Barbie did for us was unheard of. Our mortgage payments were reduced from $2,100/month to $925/month. This was such a blessing and I know that it was no accident that she was placed in our lives. A few weeks ago my Grandmother passed away and because we still have our home, we were able to store my Grandmother’s keepsakes, albums and precious items that she had. This is something that I can’t fully express with words, but it gives me such peace of mind to have this assurance. Last year at this time, the banks were coming to take over our house. And 1 year later, we are still in OUR home, achieving and continually growing from a situation that was once so dismal but that we have conquered. Barbie Lieber, THANK YOU for what you’ve done and for giving us a world of new possibilities as we can continue living out our dream.

  10. Great Lawyer .. Nice Person

    Posted by Maria, a Chapter 7 client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Barbie Lieber.
    • I hired Barbie 1-6 months ago.
    • Barbie handled my Bankruptcy / Chapter 7 matter.

    When I became overwhelmed and realized that the debt settlement agency with which I was enrolled was not really helping me, I made the decision to file bankruptcy. Barbie came highly recommended by a co-worker who filed bankruptcy last year. I'm still thanking that co-worker today! Barbie made the process go by smoothly by prepping me very well for my hearing. She was not only on top of everything; she managed to keep me calm and focused.

Call now for a free consultation.

212-949-5586