Barbie Dawn Lieber’s Reviews

Barbie Dawn Lieber

Average Rating

Based on 116 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. Thank you for a job well done!

    Posted by Maria,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Barbie Lieber.

    When I finally decided to file bankruptcy, my biggest fear is to find an excellent lawyer to represent me. Sought the help of the computer brought me to Avvo website, as I was browsing, when I saw the name of Barbie Lieber I had this feeling of confidence that Miss Barbie is the one to represent me. It was the best decision I have ever made. She is an amazing lawyer she held me through the process, was able to make my difficult case possible, and was able to get back the garnishment. Very compassionate too, picks up the phone on the weekends, and prepared me before court date. The experience with Miss Barbie was overall amazing, Thank you very much !.

  2. Simply the BEST! Thank you Barbie.

    Posted by Dee, a Chapter 7 client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Barbie Lieber.
    • I hired Barbie 1-6 months ago.
    • Barbie handled my Bankruptcy / Chapter 7 matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    Due to unemployment and several years of working at a reduced income I was overwhelmed with debt ranging from credit cards, student loans, taxes, wage garnishment, etc. Deciding to file Bankruptcy was one of the most stressful but necessary decision. I contacted several attorneys but didn't feel comfortable until I spoke to Barbie.

    Our initial phone consultation was great, Barbie took the time to listen and understand my financial situation. She explained the entire process in full detail from day one holding my hand every step along the way. She always kept an open line of communication and was very meticulous. Barbie made such a painstaking decision completely stress free.

    Approx. one month after filing was the 341 meeting. At meeting I was calm and relieved to have Barbie by my side. There were other people at the meeting that were scammed by their so called attorneys, attorneys that didn't show up leaving their client in complete limbo. (Very sad)

    The 341 meeting went very well, lasted about 10-15mins. Thanks to Barbie and her hard work I now have a fresh start and sleep much better at night. Very Happy with the outcome and highly recommend her.

  3. Thank you, Barbie Lieber!

    Posted by a Bankruptcy client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Barbie Lieber.
    • I hired Barbie 1-6 months ago.
    • Barbie handled my Bankruptcy / Debt matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I hired Barbie Lieber this summer to assist me with my Bankruptcy case, and I am so glad that I did! As you can imagine, declaring bankruptcy is a very stressful ordeal, and she just really helped me get through it from start to finish. She made the situation so much less stressful and really laid out all of the benefits. She was wonderful to work with, attentive, straight-forward, and very knowledgable. If you are thinking about filing bankruptcy, I highly recommend Barbie Lieber to help you through this! -Enid

  4. Great Bankruptcy Attorney

    Posted by Sheri, a Chapter 13 client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Barbie Lieber.
    • I hired Barbie 1-6 months ago.
    • Barbie handled my Bankruptcy / Chapter 13 matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    My experience with Barbie Lieber was wonderful. She was extremely supportive and attentive ane always responded quickly to my phone calls and emails. When I told her I had a rent stabilized apartment in Manhattan and a large amount of Parent Plus student loans for my daughter's college education she was able to save my apartment and keep the student loans at bay for 5 years by having me file Chapter 13 instead of Charpter 7. I had consulted several other lawyers before finding Ms. Lieber and none were as responsible or knowledgeable as she was. She has also been involved in bankruptcy law for many years and is very familiar with the Trustees and Judges that rule on these cases. I would highly recommend her.

  5. Hire Barbie, you won't regret it! She's good at what she does!

    Posted by E & K, a Chapter 7 client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Barbie Lieber.
    • I hired Barbie 1-6 months ago.
    • Barbie handled my Bankruptcy / Chapter 7 matter.

    We consulted Barbie when things became too overwhelming for us. Filing for Ch 7 was scary, but she made us feel comfortable about the whole process. Any questions we had, Barbie responded to right away whether by phone or email. She explained and broke down the process of how our 341 meeting would go, and called us the night before to prepare. You wouldn't believe how many lawyers showed up with their clients so unprepared! I would have been pissed off if I were them! Thank goodness we had Barbie on our side, she was very well prepared! She was even kind enough to ask if we could be seen sooner because she knew my baby needed to be fed. Barbie really works for you and with you, you're not passed around to someone else like other lawyers may do. Thank you again Barbie for all you've done for us!

  6. Very grateful

    Posted by a client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Barbie Lieber.
    • I hired Barbie 6-12 months ago.

    I had exhausted my savings to the point where I knew, within a month's time, I would be unable to meet my monthly credit card payments. I had never been late in meeting any of my financial obligations and was very nervous and truly beside myself. I was terrified that I might lose my home.
    I began searching for ways to find help on the internet. Luckily, I found this website, which contained information about bankruptcy, and life stories from other people who were also wrestling with debt. It was here that I found Barbie Lieber.
    After reading so many good reviews about Barbie's skill and approachability, I visited her website and saw that Barbie offered a free consultation. I wrote to her and explained my situation. I worried tremendously before sending the email, but ultimately I learned that reaching out to Barbie was the best step I could have taken. Barbie is very professional and she is also a non-judgmental person.
    Barbie replied to me that same day, and subsequently, on the following day, we spoke and she began gathering my information. My salary is above the median stated for filing a Chapter 7, but after deducting expenses, Barbie was convinced that bankruptcy was not only the best way for me to find relief, but that I might qualify for a Chapter 7 filing. After bringing all the necessary documentation to Barbie to complete the median test to her satisfaction, I turned out to have a negative monthly balance. And, after meeting with Barbie, I also felt confident that if there were any other option for me to find a way out of trouble, Barbie would have steered me in a direction other than bankruptcy. Ultimately, after completing the documents, Barbie determined that she would file for relief for me under Chapter 7.
    Throughout the process, Barbie was always accessible by email and by phone. Barbie helped me face my 341 meeting. And, after my 341 meeting, Barbie guided me through gathering the additional documentation requested by the Trustee. Barbie followed up promptly providing the requested documents, and then concisely provided additional information when it was requested.
    I believe that Barbie would have stood beside me regardless of the outcome and continued to assist me had I needed to go another route after my initial filing. Ultimately, I was fortunate to have been granted a discharge under Chapter 7. I was also permitted to keep my home. I am truly grateful for this second opportunity to manage my financial life.

  7. Relief Beyond Belief! A fresh start

    Posted by a Chapter 7 client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Barbie Lieber.
    • I hired Barbie 6-12 months ago.
    • Barbie handled my Bankruptcy / Chapter 7 matter.

    When I first called Barbie I was pulled in by her attentiveness. I had called several firms to get consultations because I knew that my case was a very difficult one. The attorneys at the other firms were very short and the conversations seemed very rushed. Barbie answered and immediately began to assess my situation asking the right questions and letting me know exactly what I was up against. I had called another firm and the cost was far cheaper but I chose Barbie because of her approach. I am a single mother of two, currently renting an apartment. I had an income of $92,000 dollars which was well above the median for a family of three. However I was in over $45,000 worth of debt and it had become extremely overwhelming. I would have under any other circumstances been granted a chapter 13. Barbie worked eagerly with me walking me through every step, keeping me well informed. She is extremely knowledgeable. I was granted a chapter 7. What a relief! Thanks for everything Barbie!

  8. Extremely Knowledgable Attorney

    Posted by Bibi, a Chapter 7 client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Barbie Lieber.
    • I hired Barbie 6-12 months ago.
    • Barbie handled my Bankruptcy / Chapter 7 matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    Barbie was extremely knowledgable and helpful. I am so happy that I found her. She made the whole process simple and made sure I was comfortable. I am currently unemployed, with 3 kids, so I needed help and Barbie did just that. She prepared everything and was always available whenever I had a question. If you are searching for a bankruptcy lawyer because you're in need of help, make sure you check out Barbie and give her a call. You will be glad you did. Thank you again Barbie for everything!

  9. I never thought I'd have to do this, but I'm glad when I did I had Barbie to guide me.

    Posted by Mari, a Chapter 7 client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Barbie Lieber.
    • I hired Barbie 1-6 months ago.
    • Barbie handled my Bankruptcy / Chapter 7 matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    I must admit this was one of the hardest things I ever had to do. I'm a new mom, of a 15 month old, out of work since she was 2months old, single and now my savings are almost gone, the debt collectors are at my door (figuratively speaking) and for the first time ever I'm broke and out of work. Never thought I'd need to file for bankruptcy but I did. When trying to find a lawyer I was afraid of getting scammed. I found Barbie all over Google and everyone said how great she was. So I called her and a few others just in case. Immediately she asked me about my situation, I felt like she understood me soon after we started talking unlike the rest. After that first conversation, she said she would email me so I could have all her contact info, and contact her if and when I decided to file. Which she immediately did. No pressure no fuss again unlike some of the others I called. Throughout the process she was there ready to answer all my questions. When we went to the 341 meeting she was the only attorney there. Every other attorney had the same representative there to represent them. She's the only one that held her client's(me) hand from beginning to end. Sadly I watched another lady get screwed bc her attorney wasn't there and the rep wasn't well informed on that individuals case. I am so grateful to Barbie for really having my back. I would recommend her to anyone who finds themselves in a financial situation and doesn't know where to begin. She was great at explaining all my current and future options should my financial situation change.

  10. KNOWLEDGEABLE AND CARING LAWYER

    Posted by Frank & Sally, a Chapter 13 client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Barbie Lieber.
    • I hired Barbie 1-3 years ago.
    • Barbie handled my Bankruptcy / Chapter 13 matter.

    We had no idea how we were going to fix our financial situation credit cards, parent loans, loans. We contacted Barbie at a time when we were very nervous about what we were going to do. She was an amazing lawyer who became our friend thru the process. She is extremely knowledgeable in bankruptcy law. She stood by us every step of the way, answered all of our questions, returned our calls and emails immediately. She was able to get our debt amounts from $3600 per month to $1400 per month. She prepped us for our hearing and stood by us from start to finish. We are grateful for all she did to help us get back on track for our financial security. We recommend her highly.

Call now for a free consultation.

212-949-5586