Barbie Dawn Lieber’s Reviews

Barbie Dawn Lieber

Average Rating

Based on 112 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. Hire Barbie, you won't regret it! She's good at what she does!

    Posted by E & K, a Chapter 7 client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Barbie Lieber.
    • I hired Barbie 1-6 months ago.
    • Barbie handled my Bankruptcy / Chapter 7 matter.

    We consulted Barbie when things became too overwhelming for us. Filing for Ch 7 was scary, but she made us feel comfortable about the whole process. Any questions we had, Barbie responded to right away whether by phone or email. She explained and broke down the process of how our 341 meeting would go, and called us the night before to prepare. You wouldn't believe how many lawyers showed up with their clients so unprepared! I would have been pissed off if I were them! Thank goodness we had Barbie on our side, she was very well prepared! She was even kind enough to ask if we could be seen sooner because she knew my baby needed to be fed. Barbie really works for you and with you, you're not passed around to someone else like other lawyers may do. Thank you again Barbie for all you've done for us!

  2. Very grateful

    Posted by a client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Barbie Lieber.
    • I hired Barbie 6-12 months ago.

    I had exhausted my savings to the point where I knew, within a month's time, I would be unable to meet my monthly credit card payments. I had never been late in meeting any of my financial obligations and was very nervous and truly beside myself. I was terrified that I might lose my home.
    I began searching for ways to find help on the internet. Luckily, I found this website, which contained information about bankruptcy, and life stories from other people who were also wrestling with debt. It was here that I found Barbie Lieber.
    After reading so many good reviews about Barbie's skill and approachability, I visited her website and saw that Barbie offered a free consultation. I wrote to her and explained my situation. I worried tremendously before sending the email, but ultimately I learned that reaching out to Barbie was the best step I could have taken. Barbie is very professional and she is also a non-judgmental person.
    Barbie replied to me that same day, and subsequently, on the following day, we spoke and she began gathering my information. My salary is above the median stated for filing a Chapter 7, but after deducting expenses, Barbie was convinced that bankruptcy was not only the best way for me to find relief, but that I might qualify for a Chapter 7 filing. After bringing all the necessary documentation to Barbie to complete the median test to her satisfaction, I turned out to have a negative monthly balance. And, after meeting with Barbie, I also felt confident that if there were any other option for me to find a way out of trouble, Barbie would have steered me in a direction other than bankruptcy. Ultimately, after completing the documents, Barbie determined that she would file for relief for me under Chapter 7.
    Throughout the process, Barbie was always accessible by email and by phone. Barbie helped me face my 341 meeting. And, after my 341 meeting, Barbie guided me through gathering the additional documentation requested by the Trustee. Barbie followed up promptly providing the requested documents, and then concisely provided additional information when it was requested.
    I believe that Barbie would have stood beside me regardless of the outcome and continued to assist me had I needed to go another route after my initial filing. Ultimately, I was fortunate to have been granted a discharge under Chapter 7. I was also permitted to keep my home. I am truly grateful for this second opportunity to manage my financial life.

  3. Relief Beyond Belief! A fresh start

    Posted by a Chapter 7 client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Barbie Lieber.
    • I hired Barbie 6-12 months ago.
    • Barbie handled my Bankruptcy / Chapter 7 matter.

    When I first called Barbie I was pulled in by her attentiveness. I had called several firms to get consultations because I knew that my case was a very difficult one. The attorneys at the other firms were very short and the conversations seemed very rushed. Barbie answered and immediately began to assess my situation asking the right questions and letting me know exactly what I was up against. I had called another firm and the cost was far cheaper but I chose Barbie because of her approach. I am a single mother of two, currently renting an apartment. I had an income of $92,000 dollars which was well above the median for a family of three. However I was in over $45,000 worth of debt and it had become extremely overwhelming. I would have under any other circumstances been granted a chapter 13. Barbie worked eagerly with me walking me through every step, keeping me well informed. She is extremely knowledgeable. I was granted a chapter 7. What a relief! Thanks for everything Barbie!

  4. Extremely Knowledgable Attorney

    Posted by Bibi, a Chapter 7 client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Barbie Lieber.
    • I hired Barbie 6-12 months ago.
    • Barbie handled my Bankruptcy / Chapter 7 matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    Barbie was extremely knowledgable and helpful. I am so happy that I found her. She made the whole process simple and made sure I was comfortable. I am currently unemployed, with 3 kids, so I needed help and Barbie did just that. She prepared everything and was always available whenever I had a question. If you are searching for a bankruptcy lawyer because you're in need of help, make sure you check out Barbie and give her a call. You will be glad you did. Thank you again Barbie for everything!

  5. I never thought I'd have to do this, but I'm glad when I did I had Barbie to guide me.

    Posted by Mari, a Chapter 7 client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Barbie Lieber.
    • I hired Barbie 1-6 months ago.
    • Barbie handled my Bankruptcy / Chapter 7 matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    I must admit this was one of the hardest things I ever had to do. I'm a new mom, of a 15 month old, out of work since she was 2months old, single and now my savings are almost gone, the debt collectors are at my door (figuratively speaking) and for the first time ever I'm broke and out of work. Never thought I'd need to file for bankruptcy but I did. When trying to find a lawyer I was afraid of getting scammed. I found Barbie all over Google and everyone said how great she was. So I called her and a few others just in case. Immediately she asked me about my situation, I felt like she understood me soon after we started talking unlike the rest. After that first conversation, she said she would email me so I could have all her contact info, and contact her if and when I decided to file. Which she immediately did. No pressure no fuss again unlike some of the others I called. Throughout the process she was there ready to answer all my questions. When we went to the 341 meeting she was the only attorney there. Every other attorney had the same representative there to represent them. She's the only one that held her client's(me) hand from beginning to end. Sadly I watched another lady get screwed bc her attorney wasn't there and the rep wasn't well informed on that individuals case. I am so grateful to Barbie for really having my back. I would recommend her to anyone who finds themselves in a financial situation and doesn't know where to begin. She was great at explaining all my current and future options should my financial situation change.

  6. KNOWLEDGEABLE AND CARING LAWYER

    Posted by Frank & Sally, a Chapter 13 client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Barbie Lieber.
    • I hired Barbie 1-3 years ago.
    • Barbie handled my Bankruptcy / Chapter 13 matter.

    We had no idea how we were going to fix our financial situation credit cards, parent loans, loans. We contacted Barbie at a time when we were very nervous about what we were going to do. She was an amazing lawyer who became our friend thru the process. She is extremely knowledgeable in bankruptcy law. She stood by us every step of the way, answered all of our questions, returned our calls and emails immediately. She was able to get our debt amounts from $3600 per month to $1400 per month. She prepped us for our hearing and stood by us from start to finish. We are grateful for all she did to help us get back on track for our financial security. We recommend her highly.

  7. Extremely caring and compassionate. Barbie never gives up!

    Posted by a Chapter 7 client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Barbie Lieber.
    • I hired Barbie 6-12 months ago.
    • Barbie handled my Bankruptcy / Chapter 7 matter.

    After realizing that bankruptcy was my last option, I did some research online and stumbled upon Barbie Lieber. There was not a single bad review about her and so I called immediately. Lo and behold, it was Barbie who answered my call. Just on that initial call, Barbie spent 45 minutes with me, hearing out my situation. We made an appointment to meet a few weeks later. It was smooth sailing from the very beginning. She was very sympathetic and kept me informed throughout the whole process. She advised me that even though I can file immediately, I should wait a couple more months so that all my credit card debt could be discharged. She was always available to answer any and all questions. She even called me on a SUNDAY! I mean who does that? She always answered emails instantly; if she thought answering via email wasn't sufficient, she would call. The night before my trustee meeting, she coached me for 45 minutes, going over every single detail, coaching me on possible questions that the trustee might ask. I went to bed that night feeling very prepared. The day of the meeting, I got there early to hear what questions the trustee was asking, I was shocked at how poorly counseled some people were. It was apparent that those attorneys didn't spend any time at all with their clients. When it was my turn, I was obviously nervous, but Barbie was right there by my side, My meeting lasted only about 3 minutes. The trustee didn't ask anything as detailed as we had prepared, but it still felt good knowing that had he asked me anything of that sort, I would have an answer for him. Any document that the trustee wanted, Barbie handed it to him at once. I think even the trustee was amazed at how prepared she was. All in all, Barbie is the BEST. I cannot thank her enough for what she has done for me and my family. Nobody ever plans to go through bankruptcy, but if you must and if it's last resort like it was mine, please don't hesitate to retain Barbie. She will make the process as painless as possible.

  8. Confirmed on one try!!

    Posted by Allyson, a Chapter 13 client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Barbie Lieber.
    • I hired Barbie 6-12 months ago.
    • Barbie handled my Bankruptcy / Chapter 13 matter.

    Barbie was the best. I found her after going to an attorney who quoted me a extra large monthly plan payment. She was able to go through my budget and determine all claims that I was eligible for. She was able to successfully challenge the trustee on a couple of issues. On top of it all I my plan was approved at my first confirmation hearing! Barbie is intelligent and kind with just the right amount of sass that it takes to get the job done!

  9. Just an amazing experience

    Posted by Thomas Nguyen, a Chapter 7 client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Barbie Lieber.
    • I hired Barbie 6-12 months ago.
    • Barbie handled my Bankruptcy / Chapter 7 matter.

    My experience with Barbie was just amazing. Our initial conversation involved an explanation of my nightmarish financial situation (never-ending calls & letters) where I first believed I needed to file Chapter 13. To my surprise, Barbie actually explained that I would qualify to file Chapter 7 as well as to be able to keep my vehicle. Barbie was able to explain the process and assisted me by asking all the right questions. Within the days leading up to my 341 meeting, Barbie took additional time from her schedule to coach me and this helped keep me calm and prepared me for my hearing which concluded with a dismissal. Barbie is caring, determined, and just an overall excellent lawyer.

  10. Outstanding and Committed , Worked tirelessly to extract me from an awful hopeless situation.

    Posted by Elizabeth, a Bankruptcy client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Barbie Lieber.
    • I hired Barbie 1-3 years ago.
    • Barbie handled my Bankruptcy / Debt matter.

    Barbie did the impossible which was to not ONLY keep me from going into foreclosure but to oversee and make sure the real estate people did their job as well. I had to deal with an uncooperative ex husband and property I no longer lived in. Barbie was tireless and brilliant in her strategy to bring about a great resolution in very unpromising case.
    Without her commitment and energy ,I would still be under an oppressive loan that would have changed my lifestyle considerably. I am deeply indebted to her for her above and beyond professionalism and kindness. She genuinely cares and wants her clients to be successful and happy.

Call now for a free consultation.

212-949-5586