Chris Edward Gafner’s Reviews

Chris Edward Gafner

Average Rating

Based on 16 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. Stock Interview for I 485 Status Adjustment for Permanent Resident

    Posted by Cosme, a Immigration client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Chris Gafner.
    • I hired Chris 1-6 months ago.
    • Chris handled my Immigration matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    My wife and i were very nervous about stocks interview , we receive the notification letter and we was on panic , after meet Chris at his office we feel ready to go to the stock interview , just two days before the interview Mr. Gafner was able to explain to us what to expect at he interview and how handle our case
    The day of the interview Mr Gafner was on time , even first than us and no just that our interview start by 1:45 PM and finish by 4:45 PM was very intense interview but we was very good oriented about for Mr Gafner , The result was : My green card was in my mail just one month after this interview
    I strongly recommend hire a experienced like Chris Gafner

  2. Excellent Choice!

    Posted by Mary, a Immigration client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Chris Gafner.
    • I hired Chris 6-12 months ago.
    • Chris handled my Immigration matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    My wife and I hired Chris Gafner after DOMA was defeated in June of 2013. We were unsure as to how to proceed with acquiring permanent residency for my wife, as the federal government had just started recognizing same sex marriages. After speaking with Chris , we felt confident that he had the experience and knowledge to guide us through the process. He helped with every detail in all the documents that were required. He was always available to answer any question we had,and even took the time to calm our nerves when we were headed to our interview! My wife received her green card in less than 7 months.We highly recommend Chris as your immigration lawyer! We could not have done this without him!

  3. Highly recommended

    Posted by Dan, a Immigration client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Chris Gafner.
    • I hired Chris 1-3 years ago.
    • Chris handled my Immigration matter.

    We would highly recommend Chris Gafner to anyone who’s in need of legal help with immigration issues. My husband and I met with Chris in September, 2013 and with his guidance and experience in immigration law we were able to adjust an immigration status within six-months. While we could have gone through the process on our own, Chris’ help and knowledge of the immigration system helped us navigate the process more smoothly. Hiring Chris was one of the best investments we’ve ever made.

  4. Excellent attorney - Canadian professional immigrating to the US

    Posted by a Immigration client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Chris Gafner.
    • I hired Chris 1-3 years ago.
    • Chris handled my Immigration matter.

    I am a Canadian professional who had looked at a number of US immigration categories, and interviewed attorneys both in NY state, and in California, before selecting Mr. Gafner.
    I conveyed my professional background in discussing options with a number of attorneys. All-in, I spent a number of weeks doing due diligence on attorneys, as it is a long process to determine appropriateness, feasibility, etc. (especially in relation to a number of visa categories I was potentially eligible for). I was looking for a professional, trustworthy straight-shooter who could represent me best as a client.
    Mr. Gafner was forthright and professional from the get-go (the initial consultation), unlike the Palo Alto attorneys I had also consulted. Once I decided to become I client, he remained prompt, professional and no-nonsense, and he was clear in outlining, explaining and confirming what I had to do, and which documents were required. He was also very quick in getting back to me throughout the process, in understanding my business needs and the structure of my case for USCIS, and in explaining correspondence to me.
    Chris has both a scholarly and practical understanding of US immigration laws, and an ability to gauge a client's need and speak directly to all steps within the process, as well as manage expectations. Incidentally, my outcome was successful.
    I also recommended him to a Canadian colleague who is looking at the investor visa category for the US.

  5. Very professional. Highly recommended.

    Posted by Stilyana, a Immigration client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Chris Gafner.
    • I hired Chris 6-12 months ago.
    • Chris handled my Immigration matter.

    I came to Montana from Bulgaria two years ago and met my future husband who is a US citizen.After we married , we hired someone from Chicago to start the permanent residency process for us. After months on end of no return phone calls and a lot of money ,we decided to hire someone else. Chris Gafner of Gafner Law Firm was recommended to us. He returned our calls and emails promptly and everything ran so smoothly. I received my permanent residency card in such good time. He is truly a professional and things have gone better. We highly recommend him. You will never wonder where you are in the process and his rate is very reasonable.
    Stilyana D.

  6. Great Lawyer

    Posted by James, a Immigration client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Chris Gafner.
    • I hired Chris 1-3 years ago.
    • Chris handled my Immigration matter.

    I hired Mr. Gafner after seeing the excellent reviews on this site and was very pleased with his services. He helped us through each step of the immigration process for my fiance. He was very knowledgeable about the process and explained every step to us in detail which included a timeline. This helped us to know how long the process took and what was expected of us at each point.
    Mr. Gafner sent us helpful reminders and gave us useful information on what to expect for the interview at USCIS. He was also very quick to respond to the many questions we had. Overall, working with Mr. Gafner was an excellent experience and I would definitely recommend him to other people.

  7. Meticulous Attorney

    Posted by a Immigration client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Chris Gafner.
    • I hired Chris 1-3 years ago.
    • Chris handled my Immigration matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    I found Mr. Gafner as an outstanding and professional attorney who demonstrated his diligence and intelligence in my case ( Eb1 visa) and was truly updated and every time available. He patiently led me to achieve my goal while integrated his artistic attitude delicately in his profession as an attorney. I appreciate and highly recommend him!!

  8. Excellent attorney

    Posted by a Immigration client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Chris Gafner.
    • I hired Chris 1-3 years ago.
    • Chris handled my Immigration matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    We were very pleased and appreciative with Mr. Gafner's services. We were quite content with his demeanor and professionalism. Since the first meeting Mr. Gafner we felt comfortable and well advised he took the time and patience to really explain, wile making sure we understood all options and Laws in a clear, realistic and simple way. . He is not like some attorneys who are unclear about the cost, what he quoted us in the begining was the same at the end, no surprise fee's or hidden charges . During the whole process of our case, we were surprised by how speedy his reply and effectiveness was. Mr. Gafner constintly updated and followed up with us, he was always available and helpful. We highly recommend him!

  9. Permanent Residency by Marriage Process with Chris Gafner

    Posted by Anthony, a Immigration client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Chris Gafner.
    • I hired Chris 1-3 years ago.
    • Chris handled my Immigration matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    I highly recommend hiring Chris Gafner as your immigration lawyer. Chris helped my wife and I throughout the process of obtaining a permanent residence card (Green Card). He guided us every step of the way. He is friendly, professional, extremely knowledgeable and very detail oriented. He thoroughly explained and filled out each form we needed such as the I-130, I-485 and other important forms we needed to submit to USCIS. He emailed to remind us everything USCIS expected from us and every important date we needed to remember, especially the day before scheduled USCIS appointments.

    Mr. Gafner went above and beyond what we could have wished for in a lawyer. He really took the stress out of the process and we appreciate it so much. The green card came in only 6 months. After our approval, Chris explained what would happen next and let us know that he would remind us of those important dates in the future.

    Simply put, Chris is an extremely skilled and knowledgeable immigration lawyer that gives you peace of mind throughout the whole process.

  10. He gets things done quickly

    Posted by M.K., a Immigration client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Chris Gafner.
    • I hired Chris 1-3 years ago.
    • Chris handled my Immigration matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Chris helped me with my K1 visa application.

    He made filing so easy,
    ( I have only visited his office once )

    He made all the payments so simple

    He kept me informed through the whole process
    ( emails and phone calls)

    Things went smoothly with the USCIS and the ambassy.

    Chris is the man you should hire for any time sensitive case