Vivien I. Stark’s Reviews

Vivien I. Stark

Average Rating

Based on 15 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. highly recommended

    Posted by Ella, a Child Support client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Vivien Stark.
    • I hired Vivien 1-3 years ago.
    • Vivien handled my Child Support matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I used Vivien for a child support case. Working with her was an amazing experience. I had gone to other lawyers for a consultation and payed high fees but wasn't satisfied with their suggestions and didn't feel the positive energy I immediately felt with Vivien. After going over all the details of my case she told me what my options were and came up with a plan that made total sense and followed through with it. The office staff was pleasant to deal with. My calls were returned promptly and all questions and concerns were handled in a patient and competent way.
    I am deeply grateful for everything she did for me and highly recommend her to anyone looking for a divorce attorney.

  2. Vivien did an outstanding representation far beyond my expectations

    Posted by Max, a Child Custody client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Vivien Stark.
    • I hired Vivien 1-3 years ago.
    • Vivien handled my Child Custody matter.

    Vivien handled my case from end to end, while keeping it within my budget, and setting realistic expectations.
    My case was involving interstate child support, divorce and child custody (with some very compacted twists).
    She got to know my case very well, did an outstanding representation and subsequently won it.
    I'm very glad that I've chosen Vivien to work on my case.

  3. Wonderful Lawyer with such professional status

    Posted by ELIZABETH, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Vivien Stark.
    • I hired Vivien 6-12 months ago.
    • Vivien handled my Divorce / Separation matter.

    I am Thanking Vivien Stark and her staff for helping me with my difficult divorce.
    Vivien Stark and her assistants not only gave me the most professional service but they helped me with professional care. Ms. Stark encouraged me to keep the faith and that she will handle all my needs. Her staff I have to say we're very attentive to my needs. The mannerism I loved from Ms. Stark's company, I started with Ms. Starks company about 9 months ago and was completely done with my divorce. I am very impressed with Ms. Stark and her company and was very happy with the price that was quoted to me, I also have to say Ms. Stark's company was very reasonable because Ms. Starks company was also able to give me a payment installment.

  4. Excellent Attorney

    Posted by Natalie, a Family client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Vivien Stark.
    • I hired Vivien 1-3 years ago.
    • Vivien handled my Family matter.

    I have been represented by Vivien Stark for 8 years in an extremely complicated, from every point of view, case. Child support, visitation, abuse, medical mistreatment - you name it. I can't praise this attorney highly enough. She's very smart, dedicated, knowledgable, and well-respected in the court rooms. Vivien always comes 100% prepared for the hearings; she is very honest, detail-oriented and thorough. Ms. Stark fights fiercely for her clients putting all her knowledge and dedication into her cases. Legal fees for that level of legal work and representation are very reasonable.

  5. Most Knowledgeable and Caring Lawyer: Vivien Stark

    Posted by a Family client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Vivien Stark.
    • I hired Vivien 1-3 years ago.
    • Vivien handled my Family matter.

    I used Vivien for a prenuptial agreement less than a year ago, and I was more than pleased with the results.

    I was dealing with a fragile situation and had no idea what to do. Vivien quickly came up with a course of action, and was always prepared and knowledgeable at every turn. She took the time to answer all my questions in a way I could understand the agreement and my options, when my previous lawyer did not.

    She was a strong advocate for me without being overly confrontational in the process. This was key for my particular situation and her extra care made it a pleasure for everyone involved. She is the most genuine lawyer I have yet to encounter, and was fair with all her hours and rates.

    Overall I am grateful for all her help and would recommend her to anyone needing a lawyer in her field.

    Thanks again Vivien!

  6. Absolute the worst lawyer Vivien Stark, delays cases for financial gain

    Posted by a Family client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Fair
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Vivien Stark.
    • I hired Vivien 1-3 years ago.
    • Vivien handled my Family matter.

    Vivien Stark, is the worst lawyer in the world. This lawyer was hired at an extremely high $400 per hour rate after reading her friends and co-workers reviews all trumpeting her. The first problem I should have realized afer traveling 1200 miles to get visitation with my son is that she did not "serve" the mother of my son properly, thus the case was rescheduled (my travel wasted) although I absolutely told her to be sure that the mother of my son got it properly and legally.

    Next, while sitting outside the court room upon the first hearing the mother of my son approached me with retalitory child support increases, as well as false accusations of restraining orders to be "served" on me. Ms. Stark turned her head and looked the other way without speaking up for the mother not to approach me. Ms. Stark was certain to remind me during multiple proceedings that the process was to be long and costly.

    She bills for nearly every paper or email however doesNOT tell you when she recieves important documents from you thus causing you to call her and be billed. I started out simply wanting to have a simple visitation with my son, I even begged for supervised visitation, finally I was denied even a phone call with my son. Ms. Stark, did nothing to convince the court, nothing to proactively defend me, turned her head in the air most the time, and finally when the judge asked her to make a motion to dismiss an unfounded restraining order, Ms. Stark refused as I pleaded with her to agree with the jusdge.

    Later, outside the court she told my family and me that "she was not retained to do that"..apprently she only wants money and does NOT look out for her clients. Nearly a year later I had to give up on seeing my son, overwhelmed with the handling of cases I had to handle on my own.

    1. Vivien I. Stark

      Vivien I. Stark

      Lawyer Comment:

      The above review contains untrue statements. The client hired me upon recommendation of a member of his family whom I represented in a case about a year ago. All papers were served properly, however the process server hired made a mistake in completing the affidavit of service. As a gesture of good will, the papers were served again for no charge and the fee for the first court appearance was waived.

      The client’s review and false allegations that other clients’ reviews are fabricated is in retaliation to our firm’s application to be discharged as the client’s attorney. Instead of cooperating and working with the firm, the client ignored my advice and verbally abused me and my staff. The client complains about the billing, while at the same time alleging that I wouldn’t prepare a motion which would have resulted in substantially more fees. There was no requirement to file the motion. The client was actually better served without the filing. However, no matter how many times I tried to explain the reasoning to the client, he remained angry and refused to listen. To make matters worse, the client thought that the unnecessary motion should be done for no charge. The legal system requires patience and stamina. Unfortunately, this client let his emotions get the best of him making it impossible for our firm to continue to represent him in his visitation case.

      No other client has ever accused me of being an uncaring attorney. For years I have volunteered as a mentor with the New York County Lawyers’ Association (NYCLA) to assist young attorneys working at the legal clinic representing low income residents. This is in addition to providing hundreds of well thought answers (for no payment) to legal questions posted on AVVO.

      Posted about 1 year ago. Flag

  7. Vivien saved the day!

    Posted by a Child Custody client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Vivien Stark.
    • I hired Vivien 1-3 years ago.
    • Vivien handled my Child Custody matter.

    When I hired Vivien Stark, my case had been going for three years and was being strung along by incompetent and unethical lawyers (on both sides) who just wanted to profit off of the acrimony between my son's father and me.

    Vivien was able to get my son's father, who was trying to obtain sole custody, to accept a settlement offer, and I think that was in part because she is truly a shark in the courtroom. One day of cross examination by her was all it took to bring him to the table.

    Vivien is charismatic and extremely intelligent. She is responsive, hard working, down to earth and a straight shooter. A true professional in every sense of the word. I am so grateful to have found her, because now I can finally get on with my life.

  8. There can't be a better Lawyer than Vivien, impossible

    Posted by Paul, a Child Support client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Vivien Stark.
    • I hired Vivien 1-3 years ago.
    • Vivien handled my Child Support matter.

    Get Vivian on your side before the other side does cause then your toast. Vivian even had my opponents lawyer shaking in their shoes. She won my case that was very complex. The presiding Judge could only agree with Vivians argument on my behalf. She was unstoppable, relentless and refused to stop until she had secured my request from the court. I refer to her by her first name because she is very personable. Thanks Vivian

  9. No Nonsense, Skilled and Efficient

    Posted by George, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Vivien Stark.
    • I hired Vivien 1-3 years ago.
    • Vivien handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Vivien Stark is a dynamic, effective attorney. She has a very direct style that makes it easy get to the core issues of a case quickly, instead of wasting time (and your money) on extraneous details. I came to Vivien after consulting two other lawyers and she was by far the most impressive, not by big-office standards but by giving me a very real idea of the strengths and weaknesses of my case. When we did move forward, she was always prepared and well-versed on whatever issue came up, even if it required additional legal research. If I had questions, she always responded quickly and completely. Most importantly, she did not overcharge (as many NYC attorneys do, at every opportunity) or overstate her hours. Her prices and her time charged were fair and ethical. I have recommended her to two friends, both of whom were also more than satisfied.

  10. Knowledgeable Family Lawyer!

    Posted by Jonathan R., a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Good
    Kept me informed
     Good
    • I recommend Vivien Stark.
    • I hired Vivien more than 3 years ago.
    • Vivien handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    she represented me in my divorce case a couple of months ago, and I was pleased with the result (or as pleased as you can be in a divorce). I got the sense that Ms Vivien really cares about her clients and isn't just in it for the money. She's very knowledgeable in family law and gives excellent advice. His hourly fee is a bit high but I felt I got good value for the $$. I would recommend her.

Contact the law office of Vivien I. Stark, P.C. today for a consultation.

212-349-1600