Steven R Ebert’s Reviews

Steven R Ebert

Average Rating

Based on 11 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. Fantastic experience working with Steven

    Posted by Robin,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Steven Ebert.

    Steven is an excellent real estate attorney. He is extremely engaged and knowledgeable. He knows every nuance of the transaction and explains everything thoroughly to his clients. He is always available for even the most trivial questions and willing to talk through any issues or concerns. He is also very thorough -- I have worked with him on multiple occasions and he is extremely precise -- nothing falls through the cracks. Finally, he is easy to work with and the realtors and other lawyers always get along with him and respect him, which eases the drama that often accompanies apartment sales. I would highly recommend working with Steven.

  2. UNPROFESSIONAL

    Posted by a Real Estate client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Fair
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Poor
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Steven Ebert.
    • I hired Steven 1-3 years ago.
    • Steven handled my Real Estate matter.
    • I have previously worked with more than 10 lawyers.

    This lawyer started out great. Had everything ready. The end was a nightmare. This was a real estate deal. The buyer of my apartment seemed to think that after the closing I should replace the light fixtures. I had stayed in the apartment two extra days leaving a 10,000 deposit of escrow money in Ebert's account. Ebert actually defended the buyer instead of me who was his client. He began insulting me by e-mail on a daily basis. The buyer asked for 560.00 for new fixtures because she didn't want the original fixtures which were 45.00 each. It took me one month to obtainmy moneyInstead of sending a messenger as I asked, this lawyer made me walk 20 block s in a snow storm

    1. Steven R Ebert

      Steven R Ebert

      Lawyer Comment:

      This commentary is replete with mistruths. We took over from another attorney who did not and could not deal with the client any more. The client was selling and purchasing simultaneously, her listing agent did not even attend the closing, the selling agent refused to speak with her and the other attorney sent a time is of the essence letter and she was on the verge of defaulting on her contract. We inherited a contract from another attorney and turned it all around completed both closings within 30 days.

      Initially the client was very appreciative and thankful. However, under her sale contract (which was drafted by the prior attorney) the client had the right to rent back the apartment as a tenant from her buyer. The client exercised that option. Per the contract that the client signed before we were ever hired, $10,000 remained in escrow to ensure that she followed the contract, kept the apartment in the proper condition and left timely. The terms the contract plainly required the client to change out certain light fixtures. Said client refused to do so. The purchaser made certain requests for the client to follow through on their obligations and the client responded that the other party could sue her for it. Per the contract, if the parties could not come to an agreement as to any open issues, the other party had 30 days to initiate a lawsuit. The other party indicated they would sue, and then at the deadline felt that it was not worth their while. The client completely understood same, and in fact in her emails to me indicated on mulitple occasions that the other party had 30 days to sue her, and if not then after 30 days the escrow had to be returned.

      The first business day after the 30-day window required under the contract was the first business day we had power at the office as we lost power due to Hurricane Sandy. Notwithstanding all of the chaos from the hurricane, the client was contacted on that first day (a Monday). Between that Monday and the next 2 business days, I sent the client approximately 7 emails indicating that the other party declined to initiate the litigation, the escrow check is written and I can either mail the check or she can pick it. Considering that it was a $10,000 check and that she lived about a 5 minute walk from the office, I recommended that we meet & I hand it to her personally. However, with her okay, I was happy to mail it as well.

      The client denied receiving any of the approximate 7 emails I sent, and then we spoke on Wednesday by telephone. She refused to meet me at my office, so we agreed to meet at a middle point-- at the branch of the bank that was the location of the representative that made the introduction in the first place. This was a location that she, not me, chose.

      At the meeting & in the presence of the bank officer and a staff member of the firm, I not only gave her the proper escrow check, I gave her copies of all of the emails I sent to her that week. She refused to read them & then claimed that they were fabrications and that I used the "cut & paste" options to generate them and then she threw them on the desk of the bank representative. At the time there was no snow on the ground or any snow coming from the sky. It did snow later that night.

      In summation, we went out of our way for this client. We inherited a horrible situation in which the client was in a dangerous position and turned it around. The client's real estate agent never showed up for her closing for her sale, and none of the parties wanted to have any dealings with her. We received compliments from every other person in the working group & within 10 days of the closing we received a referral from one of the real estate agents for a transaction now in contract.

      The client became hostile to us after the purchaser addressed the issue of the lights. The client was inappropriate. We worked hard, saved the client from default & closed everything properly. This post is disingenuous and should be removed.

      Posted over 2 years ago. Flag

  3. Wonderful Attorney!

    Posted by Margaret, a Real Estate client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Steven Ebert.
    • I hired Steven more than 3 years ago.
    • Steven handled my Real Estate matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Mr. Ebert is a phenomenal real estate attorney. My husband and I spent about a year working with Mr. Ebert on the purchase of our brownstone, which was complicated by an erratic seller who had hired an incompetent lazy attorney. Despite these difficulties, Mr. Ebert never failed to be there for us. He was instrumental in moving the transaction forward and always kept a close eye on our interests. The final contract was clearly negotiated in our favor, an advantage which ended up saving us tens of thousands of dollars as well as help smooth over a lot of closing details. Mr. Ebert’s patience and expertise is invaluable. He is a rare find and we would strongly recommend using him if you are ever in need of an attorney.

  4. Very impressed

    Posted by Phil, a Real Estate client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Good
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Good
    • I recommend Steven Ebert.
    • I hired Steven more than 3 years ago.
    • Steven handled my Real Estate matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I just sold my apartment in NYC which was no small feat. The building was under-occupied as well as a cond-op leasehold. Steven managed the closing process extremely well and served as power of attorney at the closing. What I was most impressed by was how thoroughly and succinctly he explained to me all of the key documentation as well as the process. The closing happened in a timely manner and went off without a hitch. I felt very comfortable working with Steven and would highly recommend him to anyone closing on an apartment in the city.

  5. great

    Posted by sebastien, a Real Estate client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Steven Ebert.
    • I hired Steven more than 3 years ago.
    • Steven handled my Real Estate matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Had a great experience with Steven on a condo closing (buyer side).
    Steven is extremely responsive, reliable and trustworthy.
    Will definitely use him for future real estate transactions

  6. I am lucky to have met Steven - he is fantastic!

    Posted by James, a Real Estate client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Steven Ebert.
    • I hired Steven more than 3 years ago.
    • Steven handled my Real Estate matter.
    • I have previously worked with 6-10 lawyers.

    Steven has handled multiple legal transactions with me now (one condo closing and one real estate related consultation). He continues to amaze me with his ability to pick up every detail, view problems from every angle, think outside the box and utilize his encyclopedic knowledge of NYC real estate law to handle any situation laid before him. He found easy and quick solutions to problems when other attorneys claimed that there was "nothing I could do." Steven is the person you want in your corner when you need legal assistance and is the only lawyer, in any capacity, that I've ever dealt with that I felt 110% confident that they are doing anything and everything possible to safeguard my best interest. I'm also amazed at how approachable and easy to reach he is. I can not recommend Steven highly enough.

  7. Professional and thorough

    Posted by a Real Estate client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Steven Ebert.
    • I hired Steven more than 3 years ago.
    • Steven handled my Real Estate matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Steven Ebert is an excellent attorney. I have used him twice in the past on a sale of an apartment and a purchase as well. Steve is very detail oriented and thorough. He takes the time necessary to explain things along the way and makes the process as easy as possible. I have recommended him to other as well and will continue to do so.

  8. Excellent lawyer.

    Posted by Jim, a Real Estate client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Steven Ebert.
    • I hired Steven more than 3 years ago.
    • Steven handled my Real Estate matter.
    • I have previously worked with more than 10 lawyers.

    I have hired Steven twice for residential real estate transactions, once for the sale of an apartment and again for the purchase of my current apartment. As a lawyer myself, I was very impressed with Steven's attention to detail and responsiveness, and both of my transactions went smoothly. At the closing for my current apartment, my broker was so impressed with Steven that she has since recommended him to her other clients. I have also recommended Steven to my parents, who hired him for the sales of two apartments, and were quite pleased with his work. Given his knowledge of the field, honesty, excellent work, and fair prices, I can recommend him without hesitation. When I do purchase a house within the next few years, I will definitely hire Steven again.

  9. Professional, Very thorough, Excellent Experience

    Posted by a Real Estate client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Steven Ebert.
    • I hired Steven more than 3 years ago.
    • Steven handled my Real Estate matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Steven Ebert did an excellent job as my lawyer. I couldn't have been happier. He is very knowledgeable and explains everything very clearly. I felt very comfortable and at ease knowing he was helping me. I have recommended him to several people since and they have all been thrilled with him.

  10. Real Estate Closings adn Other Legal Issues

    Posted by Michael, a Real Estate client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Steven Ebert.
    • I hired Steven more than 3 years ago.
    • Steven handled my Real Estate matter.
    • I have previously worked with more than 10 lawyers.

    Steve is absolutely outstanding. I am a lawyer at a large corporate firm in New York and have hired Steve three times in connection with real estate transactions. The simple ones remained simple. He was reliable, honest, skilled and efficient. The complicated one was handled with incredible skill. He made pleasant what otherwise would have been a very unpleasant situaton, achieved a homerun result and did so with class. I would never use anyone else for a real estate transaction.