Back to Steven’s Profile

Client Review

Steven has received 18 client reviews

When Heroes Go Down

Posted by: Art, a Landlord & Tenant client about 2 months ago.

Overall rating
Poor
Trustworthy
Poor
Responsive
Fair
Knowledgeable
Fair
Kept me informed
Poor

I do not recommend Steven Smollens

I hired Steven 6-12 months ago.

Steven handled my Landlord / Tenant matter.

I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

It was very difficult to bring myself to write this review for several reasons. Not only did I have to find the courage within myself but then I also had to muster it. It is one thing to call an attorney lousy, something, I quite never had to do. How do you articulate let alone put into writing something so heinous, so deceitful and ever so traumatizing that you would never even fathom much less imagine happening to anyone until you became the person that it happened to? You see my disability requires me to use a wheelchair and, unfortunately, I live in a rent stabilized apartment in a non-accessible building in Chelsea. Thus, this is what precipitated the legal action I had found myself in, my landlord's attempt to circumvent his legal obligation to afford me a transfer to a lower level or comparable apartment within my community as a reasonable accommodation. Being how the court would not permit me to teleconference as a reasonable accommodation, I was referred to APS. Unbeknownst to me and according to Steve Smollens, APS was like 'a big elephant in the room who will only a see a thirty five year old confined to a wheelchair who was stuck on the second floor in a non elevator building.' Steve Smollens assured me that had I chosen to continue with APS, they would 'take over your life and move you into a home in the Bronx.' Like many who come arrive to Avvo, I was seeking expert guidance with how to compel my landlord to uphold his legal obligation to maintain my apartment in a habitable and livable condition. And like many, I, too became easily and quickly impressed with the voluminous array of insight Steve Smollens exhibited in no less than three thousand instances. But that was before I had the privilege to retain his services and invest thousands of dollars in representation for as he so plainly put it, my case was 'toxic.' He boasted of taking my case to trial and assured me how the initial retainer would take me a 'very long way' only to tell me how trials are tenuous immediately after I found him bullying me into issuing him a check. He called my landlord's attorney, in lack of better words, 'vapid' who only knew how to pressure tenants into signing away their rights in stipulations. However it was those very same 'absentminded' and 'stupid' attorneys who petitioned the court to strike his $250000 countersuit because the cause of action did not permit him to do so. Amid all his deception and scheming, Steve Smollens did manage to accomplish something and as a result, in all fairness, I must offer my praise when it is due. I would like to thank Steve Smollens for if not for his flagrant engagement of moral turpitude, the cancer which burns between my bones would otherwise be in remission and there would not be a need to recite nor announce nor suffer these truths as I have experienced them to be.

STAYS WITH YOU !!!

Posted by: TOM 4 months ago.

Overall rating
Good
Trustworthy
Excellent
Responsive
Excellent
Knowledgeable
Good
Kept me informed
Excellent

I recommend Steven Smollens

MY DETAILS IN WORDING MY QUESTION TOOK SEVERAL TRIES AND MR. SMOLLENS WAS STILL THE FIRST TO HELP ME GET THE PROPER INFO INCLUDED SO HE COULD RESPOND. HE ANSWERED AND GAVE ME A LINK SO I COULD BE AS SURE AS POSS. I THANK HIM FOR HIS EFFORT...........

Great Lawyer - fast great responses

Posted by: a client 8 months ago.

Overall rating
Excellent
Responsive
Excellent
Knowledgeable
Excellent

I recommend Steven Smollens

This Lawyer is great, he answers questions so fast and is very helpful. Thanks Mr Smollens!

I received valuable information and good advice

Posted by: Manny, a Real Estate client 8 months ago.

Overall rating
Good
Trustworthy
Good
Responsive
Good
Knowledgeable
Good
Kept me informed
Good

I recommend Steven Smollens

I hired Steven more than 3 years ago.

Steven handled my Real Estate matter.

I had a minor question regarding estate of my late mother and received good advice and even call. We had conversation and in my opinion Mr. Smolens knows the subject. Thank you. Regarding your questions? I never hire this lawer, But that option is not available

TALKED MORE ABOUT MONEY

Posted by: David 10 months ago.

Overall rating
Poor
Trustworthy
Poor
Responsive
Poor
Knowledgeable
Fair
Kept me informed
Poor

I do not recommend Steven Smollens

ALL ABOUT MONEY Absolutely ridiculous. I called this lawyer today to discuss my case and to determine whether I would hire him. This lawyer did not even know what the facts of my case were before he started dishing out large dollar amounts. Then he foolishly used the word "toxic case" which contradicted two (2) court orders from Judge H and Judge S on my case that proves my case was NOT toxic. In fact, Judge S sided with us in our argument that the IMD tenant's facts did not establish "actual living purposes".
  1. Steven Warren Smollens

    Steven Smollens

    LawyerComment:

    I declined to become involved in a Loft Law claimed non primary residency holdover proceeding two years after the case began and take over for a lawyer representing you who also represented the prior owner just as the proceeding is lingering in discovery. A tenant may have a credible explanation for being in the premises on a daily basis from morning until evening and not sleeping over in an IMD building that has not gained a residential certificate of occupancy. I explained to you my estimate of time for getting up to speed, for concluding discovery, for trial readiness and for trial, as you advised the tenant was dug in and would not even consider a surrender of tenancy rights in exchange for a financial settlement. I honestly informed you what I estimated your costs through each stage. You disputed my expert opinion. An attorney may determine a client cannot afford to become involved with a new attorney so far into a lawsuit. I am sorry you feel I owed you representation, but I am sure based on your negative comments that you do not appreciate the time and skill and expense of an expert attorney and rather than move on and consult another lawyer you went after me, even though we never were engaged as an attorney and client.

    Posted 10 months ago. Flag

  2. Jack Richard Lebowitz

    Jack Lebowitz

    LawyerComment:

    I flagged this "review" because I believed it violates community guidelines. The commenter was clearly NOT a client, he was just a prospective client shopping for an attorney. Mr. Smollens, is an excellent attorney I have endorsed because of the extensive high quality FREE advice he has offered to askers on Avvo.com in his area of expertise. This is no different than askers on this site leaving "snarky" reviews because they don't like the free answers they get.

    Mr. Smollens undoubtedly did not charge "David" for a consultation where David heard that it would cost more than he thought and have less of a chance then he thought to accomplish his goals. His remedy, if he has one, is to find another lawyer willing to take his case for less money, or suck it up, not to leave "reviews" on this site. By the way, attorneys are ethically obligated to discuss the costs of representation. Almost no attorneys work for free, it's their business or profession, so this fellow getting bent out of shape about the costs is out of line. I've flagged this "review" and am also bringing to the attention of Avvo moderators who should remove it.

    Posted 10 months ago. Flag

  3. Olga Someras

    Olga Someras

    LawyerComment:

    I have also flagged this review. Mr. Smollens should not be punished for giving an opinion regarding the merits of the case or an estimate as to how much it will cost, simply because he disagreed with the potential client. Mr. Smollens is a highly knowledgable attorney, especially in the field of landlord tenant law, so if Mr. Smollens told me, during a free consultation mind you, that my case was not very strong, I would be thanking him for his opinion, not going after him and retaliating against him.

    Posted 7 months ago. Flag

extremely helpful

Posted by: a client 12 months ago.

Overall rating
Excellent
Trustworthy
Excellent
Responsive
Excellent
Knowledgeable
Excellent
Kept me informed
Excellent

I recommend Steven Smollens

mr smollens really answered all my questions completely. he was thorough and very helpful. he relieved much of the stress in a tenuous landlord/tenant situation. he took the time to point out specifics, and didn't just skim the problem in the least. highly recommended *****

Savvy attorney

Posted by: G about 1 year ago.

Overall rating
Excellent
Trustworthy
Excellent
Responsive
Excellent
Knowledgeable
Excellent
Kept me informed
Excellent

I recommend Steven Smollens

I found myself in tangled a very serious legal matter. I explained my problem on the site and got an immediate response from Mr. Smollens. He gave me clear and sound advice on the situation and the importance of seeking counsel right away. I am grateful and fortunate that Mr. Smollens took the time to give me sound advice and direction on the matter.

Kind man.

Posted by: Mary, a Landlord & Tenant client about 1 year ago.

Overall rating
Excellent
Trustworthy
Excellent
Responsive
Excellent
Knowledgeable
Excellent
Kept me informed
Excellent

I recommend Steven Smollens

Steven handled my Landlord / Tenant matter.

I haven't met Mr. smollens in person. I called Mr. Smollens many times and was so grateful yo have gotten through to him. He made me feel at ease with a very hard situation I have been put through. I haven't hired him because I am waiting for him to come back from vacation. He was very kind to me. At these moments that's what I needed after encountering horrible people in my home. I would recommend him based on our short conversations.

Not recomending Steven Smollens.

Posted by: N/A, a Landlord & Tenant client about 1 year ago.

Overall rating
Fair
Trustworthy
Fair
Responsive
Excellent
Knowledgeable
Average
Kept me informed
Fair

I do not recommend Steven Smollens

Steven handled my Landlord / Tenant matter.

I spoke to Steven Smollens and sent him some document to review. He tried to convince me to hire him by answering many questions on Avvo. I am not going to hire him at all and not recommending him.He is very expensive and first the money should be consider then the case. When I said I cannot efford so much money to pay ,He ask if I can ask some one to borough the money to me. I am talking about thousands of Dollars just for eviction case.
  1. Steven Warren Smollens

    Steven Smollens

    LawyerComment:

    From Steven Smollens:

    I do not know who you are. I answer anonymous questions on AVVO. I do not solicit documents from strangers. But as with any attorney, although I cannot say this happened to you, because I am not familiar with you or your complaint, a potential client may be rejected if the attorney recognized that the potential client cannot pay the fees expected. Landlord and tenant cases are costly in New York. If you bother to check out one of the leading cases on fees in Housing Court matters, you will see that a judge believes fees of $450/hour and greater are considered reasonable. If you were turned down before engaging an attorney, then the ability to pay fees is a consideration.

    Posted about 1 year ago. Flag

Great and Knowledgeable Lawyer!

Posted by: Thomas, a Landlord & Tenant client over 1 year ago.

Overall rating
Excellent
Trustworthy
Excellent
Responsive
Excellent
Knowledgeable
Excellent
Kept me informed
Excellent

I recommend Steven Smollens

I hired Steven 1-3 years ago.

Steven handled my Landlord / Tenant matter.

I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

Wow, Steven is a great lawyer! He want above and beyond to help me with my landlord/tenant matter. He answered my questions thoroughly and is extremely knowledgeable and diligent. I would recommend him to anyone.