Louis Black’s Reviews

Louis Black

Average Rating

Based on 10 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. I wouldn't do a deal with out him

    Posted by Jim, a Business client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Louis Black.
    • I hired Louis more than 3 years ago.
    • Louis handled my Business matter.
    • I have previously worked with more than 10 lawyers.

    I have worked with Lee for almost 20 years on deals and issues of every size and kind. His insight and value goes far beyond just the pure legal matter at hand. He is one of the few lawyers I have ever met that understand getting a deal done, or solving a problem, is the core goal and that the lawyering should help, not hinder.

  2. client

    Posted by Ulrike, a Business client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Louis Black.
    • I hired Louis more than 3 years ago.
    • Louis handled my Business matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    I know and work with Louis Black since 1998. I hardly recommend this lawyer. The most trustworthy and responsive person who i ever met and heard about! I feel in good hands, working with him! always informed what's going on, and because of his high knowledge, confident at all times!!!

  3. Highly recommended

    Posted by a Business client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Louis Black.
    • I hired Louis more than 3 years ago.
    • Louis handled my Business matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Lee Black offers exceptional quality, keen insight, and a practical approach to law that gives clients as much support as they need -- no more, no less. As the owner of an elite executive search firm, he has served as my virtual Corporate Counsel for the past decade. He is extraordinarily responsive and informed. Moreover, he is the consummate gentleman, elegant, articulate, and well-mannered -- all powerful tools he deploys on your behalf. However, he does not hesitate to do battle for you when adversaries throw down the gauntlet. I cannot recommend him highly enough.

  4. One of the most competent, high-value start-up/corporate/M&A lawyers in NYC

    Posted by Samer, a Corporate client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Louis Black.
    • I hired Louis more than 3 years ago.
    • Louis handled my Corporate / Incorporation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 6-10 lawyers.

    I have been using Mr. Black month after month after month since the mid-90s on multiple start-ups, board seats, and investments. His work has spanned employment contracts, incorporation, trademark filings, lawsuits, M&A transactions, angel and venture capital investments, investment bank engagements, and licensing agreements, among other areas of corporate and tax law. All the work is top-notch, done efficiently, and completed at a fair price. He's also a terrific board member, serving as a corporate secretary as well as an independent who carefully balances business operations with the minimum legal work required to achieve business goals, a rarity among lawyers who love to over-think the legal issues.

  5. President

    Posted by Michael, a M & A client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Louis Black.
    • I hired Louis more than 3 years ago.
    • Louis handled my Mergers / Acquisitions matter.
    • I have previously worked with more than 10 lawyers.

    Lee is an outstanding corporate and M&A attorney. His attention to detail is excellent. He knows the law inside and out. He is an excellent negotiator and highly experienced. He is the type of good lawyer you often find in a large firm but with the access and cost-effectiveness of a small firm. Highly recommended.

  6. Rare find - especially for smaller companies.

    Posted by Venky, a Business client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Louis Black.
    • I hired Louis more than 3 years ago.
    • Louis handled my Business matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Lee has been our corporate counsel on 2 of our companies. He knows a broad area of subjects really well. Unlike larger firms that I have worked with, you get to work with the partner directly in a very cost efficient manner. Lee is a businessman as well as an attorney, and will quickly help you focus on the important issues. This approach allowed us to get much legal work done for a fraction of the cost at larger firms. He has advised me a numerous issues over the past 8 years ranging from company formation, stocks and option plans, contracts, contract disputes, tax matters and insurance.

    I have recommended him to several other friends, and recommend him now without reservation.

  7. 85 Broads Unlimited LLC is honored to recommend Lee Black

    Posted by Janet, a Partnership client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Louis Black.
    • I hired Louis more than 3 years ago.
    • Louis handled my Partnership matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Lee has been our corporate lawyer for over a decade. His ethics and standards of excellence are unimpeachable. 85 Broads Unlimited LLC was founded as an exclusive network for current and former Goldman Sachs women professionals worldwide. We have worked with Lee on all legal matters pertaining to 85 Broads, including our foundation.

    Lee's knowledge of our business allowed us to ask him for advice on virtually every aspect of our business, domestically and internationally. Lee has always been thoughtful and just as importantly, respectful and kind. There have been many times when we've had to call upon his wisdom and knowledge on a fast moving negotiation or partnership opportunity. I would recommend Lee without reservation. He is the best of the best.

  8. General Counsel for Entrepreneurial Companies

    Posted by James, a Business client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Louis Black.
    • I hired Louis more than 3 years ago.
    • Louis handled my Business matter.
    • I have previously worked with more than 10 lawyers.

    A Partner's knowledge in every call. Exceptional service with great "business sense" gives us the perfect combination of skills and level of support we need. Timeliness of deliverables is terrific. Adherence to a pre-approved budget is the norm not the exception.

  9. Rounded, pragmatic, cost effective.

    Posted by Lenny, a Venture Capital client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Louis Black.
    • I hired Louis more than 3 years ago.
    • Louis handled my Venture Capital matter.
    • I have previously worked with more than 10 lawyers.

    I have been using Lee as my primary lawyer for both personal and professional matter for over 25 years. Extremely well rounded and pragmatic. Lee is a deal maker, not a deal breaker!

  10. Lee Black Review

    Posted by a Contracts client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Good
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Good
    • I recommend Louis Black.
    • I hired Louis more than 3 years ago.
    • Louis handled my Contracts / Agreements matter.
    • I have previously worked with 6-10 lawyers.

    Lee has been excellent to work with and very helpful. He has deep experience, especially for early stage organizations, is very bright, knowledgeable, rational, and practical.

917-656-6263