Hillary Hera Hughes’s Reviews

Hillary Hera Hughes

Average Rating

Based on 9 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. A great find

    Posted by Evelyn, a Entertainment client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Hillary Hughes.
    • I hired Hillary 1-3 years ago.
    • Hillary handled my Entertainment matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    From our first conversation, I felt she was extremely knowledgeable and would be an asset for my particular needs. I always feel confident that she has my best interests in mind. I’ve trusted her firm with my intellectual property concerns over the past 3 years. Hillary always responds to my communication promptly, even occasionally on the weekend when the need has arisen. I’ve always been confident that she will guide me towards the best decision for each situation. She’s also made excellent referrals when I’ve had a need for other areas of legal counsel. I consider Hillary a fantastic find. I’m eternally grateful for all the work that Hillary and her team have done on my behalf.

  2. Top Notch Sports, Arts and Entertainment Lawyer

    Posted by Stephanie, a Entertainment client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Hillary Hughes.
    • I hired Hillary 1-3 years ago.
    • Hillary handled my Entertainment matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    Hillary Hughes was referred to me by a colleague who knew of her legal skills, and suggested that her expertise maybe helpful in our business initiatives. Initially, during my first meeting to discuss our needs, I was impressed with her ability to grasp the concepts and complexities of our vision. She offered sound legal judgment and showed her business acumens to plan a course of action.

    It was easy to see she would be tough-minded and direct in business situations and discussions...but also incredibly understanding and compassionate.

    Having worked with Hillary for nearly two years, she has demonstrated outstanding strategic planning advice geared towards the success of major projects and events. She is always thinking "big" picture in our business efforts, but detail analysis is never overlooked.

    I have no hesitation recommending Hillary Hughes' legal counsel...for she possesses unquestionable accountability and commitment to objectives.

  3. Rave review for Hillary Hughes

    Posted by a Contracts client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Hillary Hughes.
    • I hired Hillary more than 3 years ago.
    • Hillary handled my Contracts / Agreements matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    I’ve known Hillary for 8 years (2001-2009) on both sides of work relationships, and I endorse her highly. She hired me to do a job in 2001 and was great client in a situation where many are often frazzled and frantic. This speaks to her poise and character. As I shifted careers and founded a non-profit, she offered pro bono legal services from SNR in June 2005. Non-profit start-ups can be chaotic and challenging as clients, and Hillary stood by us offering prompt, professional service, sometimes drilling deep into SNR’s staff resources on short notice to find the right lawyer to advise us on diverse and changing legal issues. She worked with us on several areas of law including performing arts contract, real estate, IP, admiralty. When we had a tough negotiation with a difficult vendor, she was serenity herself, always poised and calm. It is a pleasure to work with such a professional.

  4. Great Attorney

    Posted by Georgia, a Corporate client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Hillary Hughes.
    • I hired Hillary more than 3 years ago.
    • Hillary handled my Corporate / Incorporation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Hillary is a bright capable attorney. She is very attentive to you needs and herself very available to you. She is knowledgeable, trustworthy, very responsive and a pleasure to work with. I recommend her without any reservations.

  5. Enthusiastic Recommendation of Hillary H. Hughes

    Posted by Cathleen, a Business client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Hillary Hughes.
    • I hired Hillary more than 3 years ago.
    • Hillary handled my Business matter.
    • I have previously worked with more than 10 lawyers.

    I was so impressed by Hillary's work when I first worked with her at Sonnenschein, I kept in touch with her over time to be sure that I could find her when I needed her. And that need arose when I took over the reins of an early stage company in the healthcare field. At my new company I reviewed the documents created by other attorneys who had served the company and I felt they did not have the thoroughness and attention to detail that were needed as I took the company to the next level. Fortunately, Hillary had joined a firm - Garvey, Schubert, Barer - who could support an early stage company such as mine. And the timing was perfect as we entered into a major negotiation for our first large scale contract. Successful negotiations are about attitude, aptitude, strategy, and execution and Hillary excels on all counts. She is a pleasure to work with - tough-minded but with a sense of humor even in the heat of battle. Even when not in negotiations, Hillary is always "on the case" and her follow up skills are remarkable. In addition to working with Hillary on this significant customer contract where we were responsible for all the documents, I have worked with Hillary on employment contracts, stock option documents, an offering memorandum, general corporate documents such as hardware sales, software licensing, evaluation agreements, NDA's, etc. so I can attest to her talents across a multitude of legal areas.

  6. M&A experince

    Posted by Michael, a M & A client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Hillary Hughes.
    • I hired Hillary more than 3 years ago.
    • Hillary handled my Mergers / Acquisitions matter.
    • I have previously worked with 6-10 lawyers.

    Hillary provided my company with a high level of expertise while we were going through the MA process. Our team had varied experience with the MA process ranging from little or not at all to an ex-investment banker on the management team. Hillary was able to bridge the gaps with the team and brought in resources and experts within her firm to move the process effectively forward. I found her to be highly available and responsive, providing definitive information and answers on issues that arised, which allowed us to make choice in a timely fashion.
    In the event that I am fortunate enough to go through another MA opportunity, I would want Hillary to be a part of my team

  7. For Hillary

    Posted by Walter, a Tax client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Good
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Good
    • I recommend Hillary Hughes.
    • I hired Hillary more than 3 years ago.
    • Hillary handled my Tax matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Excellent lawyer...! I highly recommend Hillary for her professionalism, spirit and knowledge to get the job done.

  8. Hillary Hughes Review

    Posted by Tony, a Corporate client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Hillary Hughes.
    • I hired Hillary more than 3 years ago.
    • Hillary handled my Corporate / Incorporation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    It is a pleasure to work with Hillary. She is very thorough, honest, knowledgeable and always makes enough time to work with me on various issues regardless of how big or small they are.

  9. From the contract and Non Profit world

    Posted by Margaret, a Contracts client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Hillary Hughes.
    • I hired Hillary more than 3 years ago.
    • Hillary handled my Contracts / Agreements matter.
    • I have previously worked with more than 10 lawyers.

    Hillary is wonderful to work with because she is very detail oriented. She knows when to seek additional expertise and has a wonderful calm manner about her. She is gracious and skilled and will build a rapport in a very brief period of time. She seems to have a very clear and ethical approach to the law and is most client oriented. She keeps you in the loop of all the steps she is taking to rememdy any legal issues.