Dan Reed Halper’s Reviews

Dan Reed Halper

Average Rating

Based on 12 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. Excellent attorney!

    Posted by Chad, a Copyright client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Dan Halper.
    • I hired Dan 1-6 months ago.
    • Dan handled my Copyright Infringement matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Mr. Dan Halper was a superb attorney that helped me immensely with my case. I had a copyright infringement case and Dan advised me every step of the way on how to approach and deal with my client to get a healthy settlement. I would recommend him very highly to anyone that needs a personable, knowledgeable and attentive lawyer to assist them with their legal needs.

  2. Helped form my Not for Profit

    Posted by Daleela, a Corporate client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Dan Halper.
    • I hired Dan 1-3 years ago.
    • Dan handled my Corporate / Incorporation matter.

    Dan Halper helped form my not for profit organization which helps women in Kenya. He was a great aid to the formation of the organization, and has always been available to help me over the years.

  3. Very attentive to my case

    Posted by a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Dan Halper.
    • I hired Dan 1-3 years ago.
    • Dan handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    Dan Halper put enormous effort into making sure my case was ended quickly and with a very favorable result. I highly recommend him.

  4. Excellent commercial leasing attorney

    Posted by Ari, a Real Estate client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Dan Halper.
    • I hired Dan 1-3 years ago.
    • Dan handled my Real Estate matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    I am the owner of a fashion showroom in midtown Manhattan, Dan Halper assisted me with the financed buyout of my leasehold estate which involved a highly sensitive negotiation. I have also retained him to advise me on landlord tenant issues such as estoppel certificates, and more recently a net Real Estate Tax clause and a Default clause. I am very impressed by his knowledge of real estate law and his very prompt customer service. He has always been a good friend.

  5. Helped me resolve a most difficult situation

    Posted by Ray, a Administrative Law client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Dan Halper.
    • I hired Dan 1-3 years ago.
    • Dan handled my Administrative Law matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    My brother passed away last September. Since he lived there alone the police, by law, sealed the apartment. I needed legal assistance to be able to re enter that apartment and take away all of my childhood memories. My family had lived there since 1963.
    Dan Halper was a Godsend! He is meticulous, conscientious, and thorough in everything he does. Always communicative and deliberate every step of the way. Thanks to Dan's efforts, I now have the ability to go back to our apartment in the Bronx and gather a lifetime worth of memories.
    I have been most fortunate to have been referred to Dan Halper and
    I highly recommend his services.

    1. Dan Reed Halper

      Dan Reed Halper

      Lawyer Comment:

      My client categorized this as 'administrative law' but it was actually an estate matter/ surrogates court.

      Posted over 1 year ago. Flag

  6. Aided me with stressful personal problem

    Posted by a Energy client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Dan Halper.
    • I hired Dan more than 3 years ago.
    • Dan handled my Energy / Utilities matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I was referred to Dan by a trusted colleague of mine when I was facing a personal problem which was paralyzing my life and therefore endangering my business. Dan was a joy to work with. He analyzed the issues closely and drew up settlement papers which ended the problem for good. I now consult him in a multitude of business matters and heartily recommend him to others.

    1. Dan Reed Halper

      Dan Reed Halper

      Lawyer Comment:

      My client categorized this as an 'energy law' matter. That was a typo. This was a family law issue.

      Posted over 1 year ago. Flag

  7. Forced my landlord to fix my apartment

    Posted by Wai Lon Wee, a Landlord & Tenant client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Dan Halper.
    • I hired Dan more than 3 years ago.
    • Dan handled my Landlord / Tenant matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    I am an elderly man living in the East Village in New York City. I have lived in the same apartment since 1967. Because I have rent control, I pay one of the lowest rents in the entire city. For over twenty years my various landlords illegally refused to repair my apartment because he did not see it to be profitable to do so. I hired Dan Halper who took my landlord to court, and over the course of months forced my landlord to renovate my apartment and bring it up to code. Dan poured immense energy into the job taking many photographs and even helping to film and edit a movie about my struggle to repair my apartment. He personally supervised each visit by construction crews so that the landlord's attorney could not make false claims in court claims that work had been done if it really hadn't. For several years now I have been able to enjoy a far more habitable residence.

    I was very happy with Dan's work and referred him to my upstairs neighbor whose funds had been unfairly taken by a court appointed guardian after my neighbor suffered a stroke. My neighbor made an unexpected recovery but the court would not give him his money back. He had hired five attorneys and they had all failed. Dan took the case to trial and won it completely leaving my neighbor with no guardian and with control over his funds until the day he died. Soon afterwards, my landlord attempted to evict another elderly neighbor of mine falsely claiming that she lived in Puerto Rico. Dan forced the landlord to back off and actually withdraw the court case. Since then, he has actively assisted me with a number of business contracts and dealings with government agencies. I am grateful for his assistance.

  8. Helped me out in time of great need

    Posted by a Copyright Application client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Dan Halper.
    • I hired Dan more than 3 years ago.
    • Dan handled my Copyright Application matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    I am an musical artist and engineer in New York City. I came to Dan at a time of crisis to deal with a very private personal problem that could have caused me great personal harm. He was able to deal with the problem and delivered a 100% resolution. I also consult with him periodically on music business issues; and, I am currently consulting with him on a music copyright and licensing issue.

  9. A Great Professional Lawyer!

    Posted by Michael, a Wills client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Dan Halper.
    • I hired Dan more than 3 years ago.
    • Dan handled my Wills / Living Wills matter.
    • I have previously worked with 6-10 lawyers.

    My name is Michael Kane. I am a teacher for the New York City public school system specializing in the education of children with multiple and severe disabilities. I have known Dan Halper for almost 8 years. We met on account of work we were both doing for a public access television program. At the time, he was a licensed attorney but did not yet have an active practice.

    I have often relied on Dan for legal services and advice especially in relation to my needs in regard to my adopted son who came to the Untied States from Honduras and has had to work through issues of child abuse that he experienced in Honduras and associated developmental problems. Dan has always accomplished this work with patience and care, and has never charged me more than a very reasonable fee.

  10. Guardianship

    Posted by Cesar Pariente, a Guardianship client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Poor
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Dan Halper.
    • I hired Dan more than 3 years ago.
    • Dan handled my Guardianship matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Hired Dan Halper to take my case on a guardianship case, unfortunately there was a big mix up at the post office. Instead of dealing with it and getting back to me with the end result he calls me and offers me several different ways to resend the retainer. I go to the bank and put a stop payment on the cashiers check little does he know that my bank waits 90 day's to release these funds. If he had just followed through with the original plan to get the express mail I sent from the post office he could have had his first guardianship case. I gave this individual a second chance to redeem himself when I was in NYC May 16th 2011. I called him to meet up in the city at 8 am unfortunately he was tired from the night before. Look elsewhere for legal work even if it costs a little extra money.

    1. Dan Reed Halper

      Dan Reed Halper

      Lawyer Comment:

      Even by his own account, this man was NEVER my client and NEVER hired me. To his credit, he did send a check to me with what I believe was a genuine intention to hire me. However, the United States Postal Service mis-sorted his envelope which caused it to be sent to a different address.

      He accuses me of "Not getting back to me with the end result." This is a blatant falsehood. I immediately began a trace of the envelope and informed him that the envelope was lost. Instead of giving the Post Office a chance to find the envelope he did the prudent thing and canceled the check. The envelope was found the next day and by then his check was canceled and worthless -- so I never had any funds from him and therefore he was never a client and I was never his lawyer.

      This should have ended the matter. However, he began to demand that I work for him on terms quite different from what we had formerly agreed to. I refused. Soon afterwards he began to threaten to post a negative review of me, if I didn't send him the (now worthless) check. I attempted to send it back to him but he gave me an address that did not exist. Finally I proposed that I meet him in person to hand him back the worthless check. As he states (one of the few parts of the review that is truthful) he woke me up prior to normal business hours eager to meet me. I wasn't able to speak to him at the time, but called him back several times later in the day but he never answered.

      Finally he posted this absurd review claiming that he had hired me which is quite obviously not the case. When I confronted him with documented evidence that I did indeed immediately move to find the package he finally responded claiming that in his opinion, what I really did wrong was INFORM HIM that his envelope was lost as if keeping him in the dark would have been the proper thing to do. Of course, I don't keep crucial information like this a secret from clients. It would be blatantly unethical.

      Posted about 3 years ago. Flag