Brian A. Raphan’s Reviews

Brian A. Raphan

Average Rating

Based on 9 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. Very Attentive, helpful!

    Posted by Ben, a Wills client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Brian Raphan.
    • I hired Brian 1-3 years ago.
    • Brian handled my Wills / Living Wills matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    I would recommend Mr. Raphan and his firm. I have been a client for over 6 years and can not say enough about how helpful he has been. Fully informs me along the way and I know he has got my back. Extremely valuable for the right advice on revising my Will for the 2nd time after remarriage and planning for medicaid. I am happy he returns my call so quickly as well.

  2. The ideal lawyer in all areas: highly experienced, wise, understanding, and keenly intelligent

    Posted by Lynn, a Elder Law client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Brian Raphan.
    • I hired Brian 6-12 months ago.
    • Brian handled my Elder Law matter.

    Since 2006, Brian Raphan has handled my legal needs brilliantly: wills, trusts, probate, guardianship issues, a complicated real estate negotiation, and a Medicaid application for my elderly relative. Most important to me in addition to his highly reliable, far-ranging legal expertise is his warmth and patience. Over the years, he has never rushed me or made me feel that I'm imposing on him. That is an unusual trait in a lawyer! He genuinely cares about helping me handle challenges, such as dealing firmly with difficult family members, interacting gently with my 92-year old brother-in-law who has advanced dementia, advising on all aspects of my estate planning, and preparing up-to-date (laws vary by state and change over time) health care proxy and living will. What always impresses me is how thoroughly he keeps his eye on my portfolio and calls me when it's time to update documents or consider new issues that can affect my situation. Also, he willingly consults on my behalf with my CPA and my stockbroker/financial planner, as needed. Whenever I've referred friends to him, they're always delighted with his accessibility, range of knowledge, and warm personality. As head of his law firm, he oversees an excellent staff; when he assigns a staff lawyer to one of my projects (such as the heavy paperwork involved in a Medicaid application), he supervises them carefully, and I never feel "passed off" to someone else. I highly recommend Brian Raphan with no reservations whatsoever.

  3. Highly recommended, No nonsense Lawyer!

    Posted by Steve, a Elder Law client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Brian Raphan.
    • I hired Brian 1-3 years ago.
    • Brian handled my Elder Law matter.

    Brian is everything I could hope for in a lawyer: knowledgeable, straightforward, thoughtful. He gave me very practical advice as to how to handle my mother's financial affairs as her life comes to an end. He explained the various options and said which ones he thought were best (and not necessarily which would earn him the most fees.) It's hard to say how reassured I feel with Brian as my lawyer!

  4. Excellent attorney

    Posted by Sonia,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Brian Raphan.
    • I hired Brian 1-3 years ago.

    As there is only space for one type of case in the question below, regarding the type of case he handled, he and his staff handled estate planning, an estate tax filing, and adivsed me and my family on several other issues, including those related to aging, wills, and gift taxes.

  5. Highly recommended

    Posted by Marni, a Elder Law client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Brian Raphan.
    • I hired Brian 1-3 years ago.
    • Brian handled my Elder Law matter.

    Mr. Raphan is a very thoughtful and trustworthy attorney. I have always been very impressed with any affair I have brought to him.

  6. A great help to me

    Posted by a Wills client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Brian Raphan.
    • I hired Brian 1-3 years ago.
    • Brian handled my Wills / Living Wills matter.

    I went with my parents to Mr. Raphan (they are clients) because a friend told them they should start estate planning. He pointed out that in their case our needs could be addressed with the properly drafted Will. He explained the pros and cons and my parents revised their Will with his guidance. It saved them/us a lot of time and money. We went back the following week to sign and notarize etc and we were done. I recommend the firm but only met others briefly. Easy to get to from Long Island via Penn Station. Although that may not matter if you live in the city. Maybe the office can use some updating but my parents were happy.

  7. I heartily recommend --excellent!

    Posted by Renn, a Guardianship client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Brian Raphan.
    • I hired Brian more than 3 years ago.
    • Brian handled my Guardianship matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    I've been a guardian on several cases --with different firms, etc. Mr. Raphan takes his work seriously and has been more responsive, timely and accurate than others I have dealt with. He's shown himself to be one of New York's finest. I would heartily recommend.

  8. Truly professional and knowledgeable!

    Posted by Mandlebaum, a Trusts client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Brian Raphan.
    • I hired Brian 1-3 years ago.
    • Brian handled my Trusts matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    We were very impressed with the professionalism and expertise when Mr. Raphan created a trust for my parents. I went there from a recommendation initially just for a free consultation and he was very patient and explained everything clearly. I had something in mind (and it would've cost us more) but Mr. Raphan advised a better and less costly and tax friendly solution. We all would definitely recommend him. A pleasure to work with.

  9. I'd recommend-

    Posted by Leon, a Wills client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Good
    • I recommend Brian Raphan.
    • I hired Brian 1-3 years ago.
    • Brian handled my Wills / Living Wills matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I only have one other law firm to compare to, but earlier in the year they prepared a Will and an asset protection trust for both my parents here. We were recommended from our tax attorney and was very happy with the results. Brian was friendly and informative--helpful for us. So was another person from the staff but forget their name--sorry--she assisted the process.

212-268-8200