Skip to main content
Christopher G Meikle

Christopher Meikle’s Answers

125 total


  • How long is given to issue a workman's comp check

    I went to court to settle a workman's comp case on 11/17/15. I signed the paperwork and saw the judge. I was informed that the state of nj has 60 days to issue my check. I was wondering if that meant calendar days or business days.

    Christopher’s Answer

    calendar days not Business Days per statute

    See question 
  • How long is given to issue a workman's comp check

    I went to court to settle a workman's comp case on 11/17/15. I signed the paperwork and saw the judge. I was informed that the state of nj has 60 days to issue my check. I was wondering if that meant calendar days or business days.

    Christopher’s Answer

    calendar days not Business Days per statute

    See question 
  • Hi. I'm subcontractor my workers compensation policy covering only new jersey but worker was injured at pensilvanya I have nj

    Company, helper location new jersey, I had to hire worker from new jersey, worker hired pensilvanya attorney, they petition pensilvanya department of labor for uninsured employer fund what's state law must be apply and if they continue to pensilva...

    Christopher’s Answer

    The petitioner is looking to double dip and will probably also attempt to file in New Jersey once he closes out the PA claim. It is a common tactic. If PA has accepted jurisdiction and your insurance company will not defend the PA claim you should sit down with a workers compensation attorney. Your insurance company should send a disclaimer if they are denying coverage. You should take that to the attorney consultation.

    See question 
  • I had a workers comp case where I was found to be 100% disabled due to my injuries

    The case has already settled, because of my circumstances (financial) I moved to southern Mississippi. My father recently passed which has caused me to relocate back to New Jersey. The original law firm who handled things before now only tell me...

    Christopher’s Answer

    As you probably know, Total disability provides for life time benefits and certain medical treatment related to the compensable injury. Assuming that you are seeking medical treatment You should first reach out to NJM if you feel that you need additional treatment related to the original injury. They are required under the order for total disability to designate an authorized treating physician. Request a new authorized physician in New Jersey. They cannot refuse. If they do refuse or do not respond an attorney should be willing to take the matter as the court will compensate them should they need to make an application. However, I recommend that you put everything in writing to them, saving a copy.

    See question 
  • Workmen's compensation Dr refused to see me!!

    I have a workmen's compensation case...I fell at work n have had operations to correct my knee...workmen's comp is stopping my checks saying I reached my limit I went back to my orthopedic n he said u r not ur limit u can not walk so he wrote a le...

    Christopher’s Answer

    You need to sit down with a compensation attorney. The original authorized physician typically carries more weight than the second opinion.

    See question 
  • I was hurt on the job yesterday and my employer refuse to send me to see a doctor. can you help me period?

    what kind of background information is needed period?

    Christopher’s Answer

    You should sit down with an attorney. You can use this site to find one in your area.

    See question 
  • Workmans compensation or sick and vacation time?

    I fell while working and twisted my left ankle. I have vacation time and sick time. If I can't work for a week will they force me to use my sick and vacation time or will i be paid from the workmans compensation? I just don't want to lose my si...

    Christopher’s Answer

    The Law states that If an injured worker is disabled for a period of more than seven days, he or she will be eligible to receive temporary total benefits at a rate of 70% their average weekly wage, not to exceed 75% of the Statewide Average Weekly Wage (SAWW) or fall below the minimum rate of 20% of the SAWW. These benefits are provided during the period when a worker is unable to work and is under active medical care.

    If you are out of work 7 days or less, you must use sick and vacation time. If you are out more then 7 days you are compensated retroactive to day 1.

    Good luck.

    See question 
  • I am a business owner that had a lapse in workers comp and an employee filed a claim that she got hurt. I have a court date.

    She fell before in the snow in the development and now I have a court date. Who can I get to represent me

    Christopher’s Answer

    Feel free to email me directly.

    Cmeikle@meiklewest.com

    See question 
  • Is there a way to have a real estate agent lower their commission? Is there someone I can speak to about this situation?

    Ex spouse stopped paying the mortgage even though there are several court orders to pay. His brother made an offer where there will be no proceeds for me to move forward. The original real estate agent lowered his commission to $1000 after listing...

    Christopher’s Answer

    Typically, negotiations for the broker's commission occurs before the home is listed. The fact that the court was involved in the listing suggests that it is unlikely that the commission could be challenged. This really is a question best addressed by your family law/divorce attorney.

    See question 
  • What it the difference between TTD and TT on my benefit checks from Workers Compensation for a spinal surgery ?

    My payments are bi-weekly and were TTD. The last one received was TT and I don't know the difference. The spinal fusion surgery has been very painful and therapy has not been much help in the recovery. I still cannot bend or to stoop to lift any l...

    Christopher’s Answer

    You should sit down with a compensation attorney in your area of the state. It sounds like you have a significant injury and at a minimum you should make sure that you are receiving the correct payments. Assuming that you are cleared for light duty but still under active care and the employer does not have same you are entitled to temp. Contact an attorney ASAP.

    See question