James M. Clancy’s Reviews

James M. Clancy

Average Rating

Based on 8 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. Informed and involved

    Posted by Benjamin, a Workers Compensation client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend James Clancy.
    • I hired James 1-3 years ago.
    • James handled my Workers Compensation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    My dad recommended Mr. Clancy and we retained him for the purpose of a work-related car accident. Jim was thorough and focused on details regarding my medical treatment. He explained what was to happen prior to the court proceeding, and he talked with me about the terms of the workers compensation claim. We were able to work together to resolve the claim. Jim was organized and settled the matter smoothly. I am happy with the result of the settlement. I definitely recommend Jim and his firm.

  2. Mr Clancy made my claim go smoothly.

    Posted by Alex, a Workers Compensation client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend James Clancy.
    • I hired James 1-3 years ago.
    • James handled my Workers Compensation matter.

    I live in Philadelphia and was injured in New Jersey. Following surgery I was not able to return to my job. Mr. Clancy explained my rights, made sure the insurance company did what they were supposed to do, and negotiated a settlement that was fair. Prior to settling my case Mr. Clancy discussed with me of the potential range in value of my claim. The Judge also explained to me in detail my right to a trial but was I unwilling to risk the possibility that he might come to a different result that was not as favorable. Mr Clancy made the process less intimidating.

  3. Worker's Comp Client

    Posted by Patti, a Workers Compensation client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Good
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend James Clancy.
    • I hired James more than 3 years ago.
    • James handled my Workers Compensation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I have been a client since 2010 when I got hurt on the job. Unfortunately I ended up with 3 surgeries to try to fix the problem. The insurance carrier initially accepted my claim but then tried to deny responsibility when it came time to settle. Mr. Clancy kept me informed of important information and updated me on the negotiations. He is in Court everyday so sometimes it took a little time for him to get back to me. I recently went to court and settled my claim. Both Mr. Clancy and the Judge explained my rights and my right to a trial if I did not want to settle. Thank you again for all your help. Very much appreciative for looking out for my best interest.

  4. Bad experience with his firm...

    Posted by a client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Poor
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend James Clancy.
    • I hired James more than 3 years ago.
    • I have previously worked with 6-10 lawyers.

    I had work with this lawyer and his firm for my case, I had work with other 6 different lawyer in past only reason I pick this firm because depending on my case it was highly recommended by co worker. They never provide information on time if you want answer you have to call multiple time. If you read their letters to written for insurance company more sound like weak and pleading for information than asking for it by law they have to provide information my case they knew they had information they had temper with evidence still they fought so weak.. I had surgery done but never receive proper treatment when ever I call for pain I had need further treatment, they tell me call insurance company. If you my lawyer you should have done in writing.

    When you go meet them first time they gonna promise so much more " we gonna fight for pain, suffering and treatment other stuff." In the end you gonna leave with pain and suffering nothing else.

    Any way if you seeking help for your current case or you still have this firm is representing you feel you not gonna have fair trial if you decide to change do it ""Do not let other lawyer know who's your current lawyer is other wise they not gonna take your case than they will let this firm know about you thinking to change" they not gonna fight fairly. As client we trust their judgement and we believe they fighting for us that's not the case. Look for some one you can trust ""DO NOT SIGN"" for your pain and loss is nothing compare to their profits.

    Think twice before you sign I don't want you to feel and get pain and suffering I been after all we all had made bad decision in our life. Don't make bad decision after knowing this. Best of luck for your decision. Make it smart choice. Good luck ....!!!!!

  5. Treated with respect and compassion

    Posted by David G, a Workers Compensation client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend James Clancy.
    • I hired James 1-3 years ago.
    • James handled my Workers Compensation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    My attorney suggested I retain Jim to protect me and my family after I suffered devastating work injuries. I was injured on a construction project after being struck by debris from a motor vehicle accident. Jim fought for me every step of the way, making sure that I got the care that I needed and the Worker’s Compensation benefits I relied on to keep my family afloat. After multiple surgeries including a failed disc replacement and a spinal fusion , Jim was able to settle my case fairly and without letting the insurance carrier delay paying me the benefits that I was entitled to. David G. “ The Winston Man”

  6. I'm satisfied so far, and I'm very picky

    Posted by Client, a Workers Compensation client,
    Overall rating
     Good
    Trustworthy
     Good
    Responsive
     Good
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend James Clancy.
    • I hired James more than 3 years ago.
    • James handled my Workers Compensation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Thus far, I like him. He's very knowledgeable an though he's
    always "in court" when I call him, he gets back to be soon.

  7. Work injury

    Posted by Joe D. Camden County NJ, a Workers Compensation client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend James Clancy.
    • I hired James more than 3 years ago.
    • James handled my Workers Compensation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    I was injured on the job and rendered totally diabled. Mr Clancy fought for me after my first attorney could not get my case settled. It took about a year because of the insurance company but he finally settled my case with out having to go to trial.

  8. The worst lawyer I had and I won't recommend my worst enemy to this so called lawyer

    Posted by a Workers Compensation client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Poor
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend James Clancy.
    • I hired James more than 3 years ago.
    • James handled my Workers Compensation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    This office came highly recommended and I was appalled at the lack of response I received from Mr. Clancy! He never answers emails or returns phone calls unless you beg for a response. Mr. Clancy had my case for six months and did nothing, et. no filing of important petitions, keeping me informed and reassuring I would receive the necessary medical treatment, which I am still waiting on. He then screwed me by stringing me along, making me to believe he was working on getting me seen by another doctor after my insurance company stated I had reached my medical plateau. Mr. Clancy finally informed me after several attempts of trying to reach him, that he was turning my case over to another attorney because he no longer wanted to make the journey back and forth to court as well as his lack of commitment to my worker's comp case. Mr. Clancy should have never taken my case and when I found another attorney to take over my case, Mr. Clancy continued playing games by taking almost three weeks to release my file, like the old saying (the check's in the mail)! So, I decided to find an attorney on my own because if I left it to Mr. Clancy to pick an attorney for me I probably would still be waiting , but mostly I refuse to have another lawyer like Mr. Clancy!!! THIS ENTIRE SITUATION WAS A COMPLETE WASTE OF TIME AND I CONTINUE SUFFERING LONGER THAN I SHOULD, because now I have wait for my new lawyer to do what should have been done months ago and I pray Mr. Clancy gave/turned over all the correct paperwork from my file to my new attorney. Mr. Clancy has contributed to making my life a living hell and it's sad when you put your trust into your lawyer - then you're let you down by him, which was Mr. Clancy!!!

    1. James M. Clancy

      James M. Clancy

      Lawyer Comment:

      I am very sorry that you did not like the opinions that were given. The treating phycicians discharged you in late April after a 5 month period of treatment. It was their medical opinion that you had recovered and could return to work. You disagreed with that assesment. As you live in Georgia and you case is venued in Newark ,NJ I advised you that it would be prudent to involve counsel who appears in Newark everyday. The costs involved for you to take your case to trial will be significant. Realizing this , the travel involved and how slowly the docket in Newark moves is why I made this suggestion. You instead chose to find another attorney. I wish you the best.

      Posted over 3 years ago. Flag

Call now for a free consultation.

856-424-5400