Marianne Rebel Brown’s Reviews

Marianne Rebel Brown

Average Rating

Based on 7 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. Uneducated to practice Law in the state of NJ!!!

    Posted by TOMYMOMMY2,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Poor
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Marianne Brown.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Insensitive and uneducated on the needs of children with Autism. I found her remarks to be unprofessional, inappropriate and offensive when describing the relevance of therapy for children with Autism. NJ is one of the states that has a growing number of children and individuals with Autism or ASD and she practice law in NJ and still is unaware of the need and importance of special needs children to have therapy- Really?! April was Autism Awareness Month why wasn't she aware? She needs to educate herself before entering a courtroom. Her remarks, lack of knowledge and insensitivity to documented facts demonstrates that her client's money is better spent at the drive-thru at McDonalds. Personally my advice to her: "Get the facts and leave the ignorance at home!" Thank goodness she was my ex-husband's attorney.

  2. like family

    Posted by Elizabeth, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Marianne Brown.
    • I hired Marianne 1-3 years ago.
    • Marianne handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Marianne handled both my divorces. She treated me as if I were her family. She educated me thoroughly so that I would make educated decisions. She toughened me when I needed it and focused me when I was too emotional. She made sure that I was clear on everything and was fair all around. Marianne is about the family in her practice and does not lose focus of that.

  3. Glad I Found Marianne Rebel Brown in Time!!!

    Posted by Anne, a Power Of Attorney client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Marianne Brown.
    • I hired Marianne 1-3 years ago.
    • Marianne handled my Power Of Attorney matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    After getting basically ripped off by another law firm for a basic no-contest divorce, Marianne took my case and got me results for power of attorney- FAST!! She knows the law and empowered me every step of the way. She's down to earth and made me comfortable in having picked her, I just wished I hired her before the first law firm, but a lesson learned here. I do & will always recommend Marianne Rebel Brown to everyone I know and if you are reading this, please take this to heart...you will not be sorry when she's on board and on your side. She DID NOT slam me with high fees which is always great during a divorce!! She was listed next to alot of attorneys in NJ, but for some reason I chose her & will always be greatful for whatever the reason was that brought her into my life- THANK YOU MARIANNE!!!!

  4. Tells the Truth

    Posted by Cathy, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Marianne Brown.
    • I hired Marianne more than 3 years ago.
    • Marianne handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Admittedly this was MANY years ago but I sought out Marianne trying to find out how the divorce laws worked, and what kind of income/support I could get, since my kids were still little. She brushed past all that, after I told her my sad, sad, story, and said, you don't really seem like you want to break up this marriage. Which was absolutely true, I just wasn't willing to admit it.
    My point is, she never took dime one from me, and gave me lots of good informatioh. I probably used up about ah hour and a half of her time.
    And yes, I did finally leave the marriage, but it was probably 25 years after that visit!

  5. Charged me for phone call 5 months after she was removed from my representation

    Posted by a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Poor
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Marianne Brown.
    • I hired Marianne more than 3 years ago.
    • Marianne handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    I received an invoice from Ms. Brown 5 months after my new attorney filed a Substitution of Attorney with the court facility. She billed me for a phone call to me; however, my telephone records do not show a number I am unfamiliar with. I sent her a letter indicating such and thought perhaps this simply was an error; however, on my next invoice the charge was still there. I would not recommend this attorney. No response from her & continuing to charge me shows she simply doesn't care.

    1. Marianne Rebel Brown

      Marianne Brown

      Lawyer Comment:

      If a call was billed from an unfamilar number, I probably returned the call on the evening or weekend from my home or cell. I did not get a billing inquiry that was not addressed. Client should email me directly if there is a question and I will address it.

      Posted about 2 years ago. Flag

  6. Average at best

    Posted by a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Average
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Poor
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Marianne Brown.
    • I hired Marianne more than 3 years ago.
    • Marianne handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    Very lax in preparation. I had to tell her to put sole use of home in my Pendente Lite orders, since my husband already moved out and had his own place. She neglected to request a due date of Pendente Lite support, making most of my payments late. Neglected to make certain real estate taxes were paid for my my soon to be ex. Errors made by her staff on my Case Information Statement were billable to me. Do not use this attorney if you have a difficult ex.

    1. Marianne Rebel Brown

      Marianne Brown

      Lawyer Comment:

      If a client has an issue, I am responsive. If an error was made by staff, a billing adjustment would have been made. I do not recall a case or issue with this fact pattern. I would suggest that the reviewer, if an actual client, contact me directly to resolve his or her concerns..

      Posted almost 3 years ago. Flag

  7. Contract Drafting and Review

    Posted by Fabian, a Business client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Marianne Brown.
    • I hired Marianne more than 3 years ago.
    • Marianne handled my Business matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    I recently employed Marianne to review and draft several contracts for my Music Production Company. Her expertise and network of professionals proved great success for me and my company. In addition to working with my LLC, I also utilize Marianne for my personal Legal Services and Realtor Services.