David T O'Sullivan’s Reviews

David T O'Sullivan

Average Rating

Based on 14 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. The BEST Divorce Attorney in NJ!

    Posted by Jayna, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend David O'Sullivan.
    • I hired David 6-12 months ago.
    • David handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I met with a number of attorney's regarding my divorce. As soon as I met with Mr. O'Sullivan I immedately felt a level of comfort that I hadn't experienced at any other consultations I previously had. Mr. O'Sullivan was extremely attentive as I spoke about my situation and had a number of great suggestions and offered concrete advice as to how he would handle my highly complex case. Mr. O'Sullivan's knowledge of the laws amazes me . His level of integrity, honesty and professionalism are second to none. When he needs to fight, Mr. O'Sullivan fights hard and aggressively -- he always gives 110% in all that he does and gets RESULTS! No matter what time I reach out to him, Mr. O'Sullivan responds immediately -- he makes himself available to discuss any issues (major or minor) I may have. He always makes me feel as though I am his only priority (even though I know how busy he really is). Mr. O'Sullivan has an outstanding reputation amongst other attorneys and is extremely well respected and highly regarded whenever I mention his name and see him interact with his peers.. Thus far, I have been extremely pleased with the level of service and the results that Dave has achieved with regards to my ongoing, and highly contentious divorce. I have the utmost faith and confidence that he will succeed in getting me the most favorable and positive result at the end of this litigation. Having Dave guiding and representing me was the best decision I made. I would highly recommend David T. O'Sullivan to anyone looking for an attorney, especiallly a divorce attorney.

  2. Bankruptcy isnt easy, but he made it easier for me.

    Posted by Anina,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend David O'Sullivan.
    • I hired David 1-3 years ago.

    Mr. O'Sullivan was a huge help through my case. I know that would be his job, however he made me feel secure through the process, always kept me up to date and was a terrific guide through it all. I was scared and helpless, and he helped me through a difficult time, when I wasn't sure how to get out of my debt.I couldn't have done it without him. Thank you.

  3. Skilled litigator

    Posted by Current client, post-litigation,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend David O'Sullivan.

    It took five years and as many lawyers to find Mr. O’Sullivan. From what he has accomplished since with grace, truth, and shown me is legally possible since placing him on retainer, I can only surmise that a greater power thought it important for me to experience the narcissistic maniacal and lip service attorneys rivaling the ex attorney spouse that came before him. He is respectful of where I have come from, he does not look down on me for staying when I should have left, he understands the emotional roller coaster and deception of which the children and I continue to live with, and is more than willing and able to confront adversity while protecting me from blows intended to harm. His truths are brazen and lack sugar coating, a quality I admire and more of us need to hear in place of promises never intended or possible. He has extensive and astute financial experience from which to draw from for advise whether real estate, personal finances, or the need for planning as example, and savvy enough to know when it is best to refer out to his extensive circle of trusted professional resources. He is willing to admit when things confound and search for the answer within the law while utilizing his capable, client supportive, and outstanding staff to prepare. He is accessible, chivalrous (loyal, considerate, courteous), and honest to a fault (understanding that the truth often hurts, needs to be said, and provided without maliciousness or implied fault). He gets the demoralization, discouragement, and deceptiveness that accompanies divorce and its all-encompassing co-morbidities [sic] and is willing to take a stand backed by the full knowledge of the law. He counsels with and seeks the truth. As a corporate attorney’s wife for over thirty years, I am very confident in recommending Mr. O’Sullivan in his specified areas of expertise. Sadly, from those years and literally hundreds of rolodex attorneys known both professionally and personally, there is only one other officer of the court for which I have such confidence (Estate Law, Indiana). In choosing Mr. O’Sullivan to represent your interests, you will find a highly qualified professional providing solid advice, alternatives when possible, and a knack for reading people. That last quality should never be underestimated in contentious litigation. He is not a therapist nor should he be, but is fully prepared with the necessary intellectual and social skills to perform his job and will give you the best of his ability. I hope that as a potential client you will do him the same justice in providing honest disclosure in return.-

  4. Getting a Divorce? Hire David immediately !!!

    Posted by Kevin, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend David O'Sullivan.
    • I hired David more than 3 years ago.
    • David handled my Divorce / Separation matter.

    David guided me through a very difficult time in my life during a long drawn out divorce process... I am proud to say that I am David's second longest client! David has become a very good friend and I look forward to continuing a great working/friend relationship.

  5. Divorce with a positive result!

    Posted by John,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend David O'Sullivan.

    Getting a divorced is a process that can be very emotional and financially draining. To me, finding a law firm that is trust worthy , professional, a firm that can simplify the process so there clients can understand and know what to expect as they move through this difficult time in there lives is so important.
    To the Law firm of David T O'Sullivan, many thanks!!!!

  6. Help, when I didn't know what the next step should be

    Posted by Julie, a Chapter 7 client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend David O'Sullivan.
    • I hired David 1-3 years ago.
    • David handled my Bankruptcy / Chapter 7 matter.

    I needed to seek help from Dave and Rebecca after losing overtime and taking a big pay cut, for the 1st time in 16 years, I wasn't sure what I was going to do, how was I going to pay rent and other bills with such a steep loss in income? I had no real knowledge on how bankruptcy worked and it was something I never thought I would need/have to do(wasn't feeling like my proudest moment) I was constantly worried about bills/money and knew that I needed to talk to someone! Immediately after meeting Dave and talking to him, his confidence and knowledge with bankruptcy really made me feel comfortable and confident that he was a good fit to be my lawyer, he could tell I was upset and spoke to me in a way that made me feel better and he really put my mind at ease, he explained everything to me in detail, answered any and all of my questions and even talked to my mom and educated her in how the process would take place(which was going above and beyond) I left his office feeling so much better then I did when I first went to see him! All of his staff are friendly and I consider Dave and Rebecca to be answers to my prayers! The bankruptcy process was very intimidating and scary to me, but being able to talk and email with Rebecca and Dave, the process went very smooth! Thank god for people like Dave and Rebecca to help people like me, not only did they help with my bankruptcy case, but they spoke to me and treated me like a human being, never judged me and with bankruptcy not being an easy decision(pride was hurt) that is a very important thing! Rebecca and Dave truly came to my rescue! I would highly recommend Dave and Rebecca to anyone needing any type of assistance where a lawyer is needed...please do yourself a favor and make an appointment to see them! You will not be sorry!!

  7. EXCEEDED EXPECTATIONS

    Posted by Amy, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend David O'Sullivan.
    • I hired David 1-3 years ago.
    • David handled my Divorce / Separation matter.

    David T O'Sullivan recently represented me in a divorce case that had a complicated international component. He is well versed not only in NJ matrimonial law, but is ready and willing to take on cases that originate elsewhere. He is very responsive by phone and email which has been outstandingly helpful. It is comforting to know David is in your corner, and I highly recommend his services.

  8. Help during stress

    Posted by Mary, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend David O'Sullivan.
    • I hired David 1-3 years ago.
    • David handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Your experience with a lawyer can only be based on what you are willing to put into it. David will give you all the information that you need to make the choices that best suit your case. He will answer any questions that you have. He will give you very honest feedback whether it is what you wanted to hear or expected to hear. That is exactly what I was paying for and I am grateful. l would highly recommend David to my friends.

  9. Not if your a father

    Posted by a Family client,
    Overall rating
     Fair
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Average
    Kept me informed
     Fair
    • I do not recommend David O'Sullivan.
    • I hired David more than 3 years ago.
    • David handled my Family matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    I would not recommend this lawyer for fathers seeking help. He is a basic lawyer, will take your retainer, but not fight hard for you, or your rights. When we finally came close to possibly a positive ruling , he wanted another $4000 retainer. Was promised he would take care of my situation with the first retainer! We need more lawyers who will fight for fathers and their children! I had no more money to fight, so I never had resolution, and ultimately my children suffered.

    1. David T O'Sullivan

      David O'Sullivan

      Lawyer Comment:

      We represent fathers and mothers equally and every member of my staff works tirelessly on their behalf. I remember this client well; He not want to pay for our services and wanted us to work for free after his retainer was exhausted. We do not treat mothers and fathers differently, and the fact that he is a "father" has no bearing on our fees. We are no different than any other working professional; we expect, and deserve, to be paid for the quality legal services that we provide, and we do not make promises regarding how long or how much litigation will cost. Our focus is to provide our clients with the highest level of legal representation at the lowest possible cost.

      We truly appreciate the trust that our clients place in us, and we honor that trust daily by providing each and every client with high quality legal representation throughout the State of New Jersey.

      Posted almost 2 years ago. Flag

  10. AWESOME!!!!!

    Posted by Janice, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend David O'Sullivan.
    • I hired David more than 3 years ago.
    • David handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Mr. O'Sullivan is an excellent attorney. He helped me with my divorce, which was not easy. He was always available via phone or email. He even gave me his cell in case I needed him after hours. He was always up-front with me, always truthful. He would even call me just to see how I was doing. If you are in need of an ‘EXCELLENT” divorce attorney, I recommend you give Mr. O'Sullivan a call. You’ll be happy you did… Thank you David, I will always be greatful…..