Brian L Hoffman’s Reviews

Brian L Hoffman

Average Rating

Based on 7 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. No-nonsense, thorough and responsive

    Posted by Michael, a Real Estate client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Brian Hoffman.
    • I hired Brian 1-3 years ago.
    • Brian handled my Real Estate matter.
    • I have previously worked with more than 10 lawyers.

    Brian has handled a number of issues for me and I've found him and his team to be highly knowledgable and responsive. Like any typical individual dealing with law related issues, my approach and expectations were heavily biased towards my own perspective. Brian and his team helped me see the broader perspective so that I could take a more conservative, realistic and pragmatic approach. He presents the facts clearly and in terms a layman like myself can understand and take action upon.

  2. Job well done

    Posted by a Real Estate client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Brian Hoffman.
    • I hired Brian 1-3 years ago.
    • Brian handled my Real Estate matter.

    I was in a dispute with a nasty landlord and Brian jumped in and helped me out of a jam. He was responsive and aggressive.

  3. Estate & Bankruptcy

    Posted by Larry, a Banking client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Brian Hoffman.
    • I hired Brian 1-3 years ago.
    • Brian handled my Banking matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    I am a mortgage professional and I have consulted with Brian Hoffman from Hoffman & Hoffman on a number of occasions. I feel very comfortable in referring my valuable clients to Brian and his office. I wholeheartedly endorse him should anybody have need of his services.

  4. review

    Posted by Anthony, a Family client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Fair
    Knowledgeable
     Poor
    Kept me informed
     Fair
    • I do not recommend Brian Hoffman.
    • I hired Brian more than 3 years ago.
    • Brian handled my Family matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I hired Brian for a will for my estate planning and it was absolutely shameful of his performance that after spending thousands of dollars I was totally taken by my ex wife's lawyer. I lost everything and in the end he sends me a bill for the remaining amount of money. He is a smooth talker at the start and says all the right things until I signed the paperwork. After that multiple times I was billed for reading the same set of papers with multiple analysis, photocopies, mailings etc. etc... it was a shameful act. I hope if there is karma in this life.

    1. Brian L Hoffman

      Brian L Hoffman

      Lawyer Comment:

      This is undoubtedly a phony review. Estate planning has absolutely nothing to do with an "ex-wife's lawyer." A will doesn't take effect until you are deceased and obviously can't write a fake review. Also, our office never charges for photocopies or mailings and I have no idea what "multiple analysis" is.

      Posted over 1 year ago. Flag

  5. Bad Experience

    Posted by Mike, a Personal Injury client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Poor
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Brian Hoffman.
    • I hired Brian more than 3 years ago.
    • Brian handled my Personal Injury matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I tried to use Brian's services for personal injury. One of my friends warned to get a better lawyer but I didn't do my research and went with him First meeting was very nice and he said all the good things I wanted to hear. Once I signed the paperwork, I was arguing with my lawyer more than being focused on the case. It was extremely annoying and I was stuck with him. He wont return my calls, talk to me and try to prove that I was at fault rather than being on my side.
    The staff was nice.
    I should have fired him but was scared of all the paperwork I had signed with the firm and its people like us, who are new to this, get stiffed.

    There are a lot of good lawyers in this business esp in New Jersey and please don't make the same mistake as I did. Please reach out to me if you want more details. One small mistake and I am still in pain with a very minor settlement.

    I think the other reviews are misleading.

    1. Brian L Hoffman

      Brian L Hoffman

      Lawyer Comment:

      This is also a phony review. I believe this was posted by the same person claiming to be "Anthony" who also posted a poor review at exactly the same time. As soon as this is tracked, the libeler will be dealt with. I believe this person is an adversary to one of my clients which means I'm doing well by my client! I have never had a PI client complain and any client can certainly hire a new attorney when they are unhappy with their current counsel. You are never "stuck" with an attorney. Also, my PI clients have always been satisfied.

      Posted over 1 year ago. Flag

  6. A LAWYER YOU CAN TRUST

    Posted by DrG, a Contracts client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Brian Hoffman.
    • I hired Brian 1-3 years ago.
    • Brian handled my Contracts / Agreements matter.
    • I have previously worked with 6-10 lawyers.

    I have used Mr. Hoffman and his law firm in Keyport, NJ numerous times over the past 5 years for both business and personal matters. His knowledge and response to my various needs have been nothing short of excellent. His staff is very pleasant. His fees have always been very reasonable, in fact his advice last year alone saved me more than I actually paid him.
    I CAN'T THANK HIM ENOUGH.

  7. Great attorney and did a great job for me more than once!

    Posted by a Estate Planning client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Brian Hoffman.
    • I hired Brian more than 3 years ago.
    • Brian handled my Estate Planning matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    First he handled a DUI for me and he did a great job. I got a reduced sentence and he worked hard to get me great results. Afterward that I have returned to have my parents wills and estates set up. He was very thorough and helped us understand the whole process.