Michael L Detzky’s Reviews

Michael L Detzky

Average Rating

Based on 17 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. Very knowledgeable, excellent staff

    Posted by a Chapter 7 client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Good
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Michael Detzky.
    • I hired Michael 1-6 months ago.
    • Michael handled my Bankruptcy / Chapter 7 matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    Very knowledgeable, with excellent staff that follows up very well. Advocated very effectively for me. Can be a bit abrupt when discussing elements of the proceeding, but that is a very minor carp. The point of his services was to get results, and that is what he got.

  2. Excellent attorney

    Posted by Diane,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Michael Detzky.
    • I hired Michael 6-12 months ago.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Mike Detzky is an excellent attorney. His expertise is exactly as it should be along with his demeanor dealing with what was a life challenge for me was very comforting. His office staff is excellent at follow up which was a relief considering how busy we all are, they were there to handle whatever questions I had. If you want to feel secure that your case is being handled by an expert then Mike Detzky is the person you should hire.

  3. Personable, Professional and Honest

    Posted by Dana, a Chapter 7 client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Michael Detzky.
    • I hired Michael 1-6 months ago.
    • Michael handled my Bankruptcy / Chapter 7 matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    He is very easy to deal with and honest about your situation and what you may experience. His staff is very friendly and always there to help. My husband and I cant thank him enough!!!

  4. Legal representation is OUTSTANDING.

    Posted by Gregory, a Chapter 7 client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Michael Detzky.
    • I hired Michael 6-12 months ago.
    • Michael handled my Bankruptcy / Chapter 7 matter.

    Michael L. Detzky obviously has worked deligently at aquiring the respected reputation of an outstanding Bankruptcy attorney. From the moment we sat down to discuss our financial situation with him (which was very hard for us) it was obvious we had come to the right place for acurate facts, honest representation and agressive action. Within one month, a Petition was filed and the Notice of Creditor Hearing was held. Michael L. Detzky saved us OVER $95,000.00 - including back taxes to the IRS. If you are serious about getting out of debt and moving forward with a debtfree financial future, look no further. Contact Michael L. Detzky, Esq.

  5. GREAT LAWYER

    Posted by MARK, a Chapter 7 client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Michael Detzky.
    • I hired Michael 6-12 months ago.
    • Michael handled my Bankruptcy / Chapter 7 matter.

    I would recommend Mr. Detzky to anyone in need of a bankruptcy lawyer. He explained everything to my wife and I, we needed to know. We felt as if I were talking to a well informed friend, he made us feel that comfortable. Great Lawyer, the name says it all. The office is great also, they do their best to answer your questions, or have Mr. Detzky contact you. This office made a difficult decision easy, you would be foolish to choose any other lawyer than Mr. Detzky in my opinion.

  6. excellent and trustworthy thank you

    Posted by brandon, a Chapter 7 client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Michael Detzky.
    • I hired Michael 6-12 months ago.
    • Michael handled my Bankruptcy / Chapter 7 matter.

    Michael detzky was my lawyer for chapter 7 , im so happy i chose him, he is a honest and very proffesional laywer. Very happy with his services , his assistant stephanie was so helpful and kind thank you !!

  7. Our Hero

    Posted by Tricia, a Immigration client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Michael Detzky.
    • I hired Michael 6-12 months ago.
    • Michael handled my Immigration matter.

    I met Michael about 9 years ago when I needed help filing an Immigration case for a spouse, I was very surprise and quite impressed with how smooth and quickly everything worked out. Michael is very professional and highly knowledgeable and current with the immigration laws, so it was no surprise when it had a potentially life changing event happen a few months ago I went straight to Michael with tears rolling down my face. I informed him of my situation, and right away he went into lawyer mode and explained to me step by step the good and the bad of the situation, he then told me what we had to file to begin this long process of a Waiver under 212(h) Immigration act. What I truly admire about Michael is his honesty he tells you like it is, he is always truthful. In this immigration case my close family member was inadmissible to re-enter into the USA you could imagine how stressful this was on my family week after week, but Michael came to the rescue and by all means this was a STRESSFUL case for him as well. Michael had to present his case before the judge a whole case together in a matter of days not weeks or months literally days we had ONE CHANCE ONLY to get this right with many sleepless nights along with Pray, Hope, and Faith Michael along with his fabulous team went to work to get everything that was needed. I cannot thank him and the Ladies in the office for all their hard work and keeping me calm when I felt so broken and very helpless at times. I just want to say Thank You, Thank You so much I'm so grateful for their support. And of course with lady luck on our side we won, YES WE DID. Michael made lightning strike twice all I can say is Michael Detzky is The Man. When it comes to Immigration Law Michael Detzky is THE MAN for the job i personally and HIGHLY recommend him, BECAUSE OF HIM OUR FAMILY IS WHOLE AGAIN.

  8. A difficult situation made easier

    Posted by Barbara,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Michael Detzky.

    As other reviewers have stated, filing bankruptcy is a very upsetting situation. Mr. Detzky make the entire process painless and kept me informed every step of the way. His assistant, Stephanie, is very personable and efficient. Mr. Detzky never made me feel embarrassed that I had to result to bankruptcy to solve my financial situation. I would recommend him without reservation.

  9. Highest recommendation!!

    Posted by Ken, a Chapter 7 client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Michael Detzky.
    • I hired Michael 1-3 years ago.
    • Michael handled my Bankruptcy / Chapter 7 matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I was more than scared and hesitant to undertake a bankruptcy filing when I first met with Mr. Detzky. But, from the first meeting and continuing on through the filing process Mr. Detzky has been an informative and calming hand in guiding me through this process. He is thorough, professional without being intimidating, and always willing to answer any question I might have. He has helped to guide me in a way that is both reassuring and painless. I no longer look at my situation as dire and embarassing but as a way to re-start my life after some family catastophes befell me. I would highly recommend Mr. Detzky to anyone who thinks they need to file for bankruptcy. They will find themselves in capable and compassionate hands.

  10. I would absolutely recommend Mr. Detsky

    Posted by a Chapter 7 client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Michael Detzky.
    • I hired Michael 1-3 years ago.
    • Michael handled my Bankruptcy / Chapter 7 matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    I recommend Michael without hesitation for several reasons:
    * He made sure we were well informed every step of the way.
    * His support staff was also well informed and friendly.
    * Inevitably there was always the question we forgot to ask and every single one was answered in a timely fashion.
    * Finally, we went in feeling like trash and he would not allow us to leave his office with the low opinion of ourselves. He said bankruptcy is designed to help decent people who made mistakes. It helped ... we appreciated the sentiment, it's still tough knowing you failed.

We're ready to help. Contact us today.

732-780-3090