Jef D Henninger’s Reviews

Jef D Henninger

Average Rating

Based on 31 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. FID card delay... resolved by Jef in hours.

    Posted by Frustrated FID applicant in NJ, a State & Local Law client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Jef Henninger.
    • I hired Jef more than 3 years ago.
    • Jef handled my State, Local And Municipal Law matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    For weeks I was waiting for my FID card. I was stopping by the police station weekly for updates, and just being told "soon, and to keep waiting". Finally an officer told me he believed the dept was backed up "months".... I retained Jef immediately, as I did not want to miss the fall hunting season. Timetable: I retained Jef on a Fri afternoon. He worked over the weekend for me. By Tuesday morning, Jef's staff called me and told me my Permit was now waiting to be picked up!! Could not be happier with the outcome, He got more done in 36hours then I did in months, and kept me in the loop with every step.

    Would recommend Jef, and will use his services in the future if needed.

  2. Follow-up and consistency

    Posted by a Licensing client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Jef Henninger.
    • I hired Jef more than 3 years ago.
    • Jef handled my Licensing matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I needed an attorney to deal with a firearms licensing issue. New Jersey has a bad reputation for gun permits and I needed someone to handle a tough police department in the town I lived in.

    When I called Mr. Henninger, he answered all my questions and explained the process. After that I started to do all my research and started dealing with the detective who handled the case.

    After filling out the paperwork and all the other requirements, Mr. Henninger stayed on top of the matter and it reached a conclusion in less time than I originally thought. Very smooth and professional process.

  3. Here's to the real Perry Mason, Jef Henninger!

    Posted by a Family client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Jef Henninger.
    • I hired Jef more than 3 years ago.
    • Jef handled my Family matter.
    • I have previously worked with 6-10 lawyers.

    He is beyond the real deal in every sense of the word. He truly works tirelessly for his clients. His loyalty is steadfast and staunch. His legal expertise is truly brilliant. His courtroom precision rivals the likes of a highly skilled surgeon.

    Unlike so many other attorneys Jef's loyalty is actually "always" with his client and not the other counsel. Never the other counsel.

    He respects and honors the law, and seeks nothing less then justice. He is so passionate about his profession.

    Thank you so very much for giving me my "life" back.

    As I embark on a brand-new chapter of my life, the infinite possibilities are now all attainable, and all thanks to Mr. Henninger. Thank you sir!

  4. Hard working winner

    Posted by a Family client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Jef Henninger.
    • I hired Jef more than 3 years ago.
    • Jef handled my Family matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I spoke with several attorney's before choosing Jef. Some had the stance of "The case was very complicated and you might not get what you want. It will be difficult". ...And it was.

    However, Jef very confidently said he would work night and day to get the results. I wasn't sure whether or not I could believe him, but I am so glad I went with my gut and did.

    Before I continue, bear in mind that he only had two days to prepare because I changed my mind last minute with a previous attorney. Despite the short time frame, Jef was extremely well prepared. He wrote up a very thorough argument letter to the judge (Some attorney's don't bother to do that). In court, he argued assertively and got the results we wanted. This guy does not know how to back down!!

    Lastly, I was glad to find that he is not one of those guys out to get your money. He's out there to win and during the process he treated me like family.

  5. Permit to Purchase a Handgun

    Posted by Jonathan, a Appeals client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Jef Henninger.
    • I hired Jef more than 3 years ago.
    • Jef handled my Appeals matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    I'm a military vet, pursuing my BS in Criminal Justice. Long story short I went down to my local police station to apply for a permit to purchase a handgun. To my surprise, I was denied due to a falsifying statement I made under the direction of counsel . After doing research on attorneys who specialize in gun appeals, I was confident in hiring Jef Henninger. I explained to Jef the situation and he did the rest. On the day of the hearing I felt so secure and overwelmingly satisfied to witness my attorney exercise such a kick-ass representation that if I didn't win the case, I would still be able to sleep at night. I couldn't have asked for more out of this attorney. He did his job. Case closed. However, 30 days later he calls with good news. We won!.. and I thanked him several times. He is honestly a great man. I will most definitely refer family, friends, coworkers, associates, etc., to utilize his services... if they want to win..

  6. FINALLY FINISHED

    Posted by SHAUN, a Family client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Good
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Good
    • I recommend Jef Henninger.
    • I hired Jef more than 3 years ago.
    • Jef handled my Family matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    I HAVE BEEN IN AND OUT OF COURT FOR 21 LONG YEARS AND HAVE NEVER HAD ONE JUDGEMENT IN MY FAVOR.NOT UNTIL NOW. I WENT INTO FAMILY COURT LIKE MOST FATHERS DO,KIND OF DOUBTFUL. I WENT INTO COURT WITH JEF AND DID NOT OPEN MY MOUTH ONCE!!! JEF DID EVERYTHING JUST RIGHT!!! I THANK HIM GREATLY FOR ALL HE HAS DONE FOR ME AND MY FAMILY.THIS WAS ALSO AN OUT OF STATE CASE AND I TRAVELED ALL THE WAY BACK TO NEW JERSEY FOR IT LIKE IN THE PAST YEARS. ONLY THIS TIME WITH THE HELP OF JEF I WAS SUCCESFUL!! THANK YOU OVER AND OVER AGAIN.I HOPE NEVER TO ENTER THROUGH THOSE DOORS AGAIN BUT IF I DO I KNOW WHO TO CALL.

  7. Thank You Jef

    Posted by Sam, a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Good
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Good
    • I recommend Jef Henninger.
    • I hired Jef more than 3 years ago.
    • Jef handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    I wanted to thank you again for taking my case in Somerset county NJ. I remember the first thing you told me when I came into your office after my drug arrest was, "You are going to die if you do not get any recovery in your life." This was exactly what I needed to hear. The seriousness of drug addiction and how much it was destroying my life. I was facing 6 years in prison because this was my 3rd felony charge. You told me to start a life of recovery and just maybe the state would understand and place me into the Special Probation (Drug Court) program. After doing everything I could for my recovery, NA meetings, IOP, etc...I was sentenced to Drug Court. I cannot thank you enough for helping me battle my addiction. You will always have a place in my life and recovery and I cannot thank you enough. I would recommend you to anyone that is in need of a professional, curtious, and caring lawyer. At no point did you not look out for my best interests in my case and life.

    Thank you again for all your professionalism and support,
    ~Grateful Recovering Addict Sam.

  8. Jef is AMAZING!!!

    Posted by Ishmael Raines, a White Collar Crime client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Jef Henninger.
    • I hired Jef more than 3 years ago.
    • Jef handled my White Collar Crime matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    What others couldn't do able to get done and then some... Heand his staff are beyond the shadow of a doubt the BEST at what they do, and very professional in the manner in which they do it. He represented me aggressively and ethically.

  9. Mr. Henninger is given 5 Stars

    Posted by Zuzanna Bickel, a Domestic Violence client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Jef Henninger.
    • I hired Jef more than 3 years ago.
    • Jef handled my Domestic Violence matter.
    • I have previously worked with 6-10 lawyers.

    Mr. Henninger is well informed, consistently responsive and highly ethical. He has always given me sound and accurate advice. I would recommend him to anyone dealing with an exceptionally complicated and or volatile domestic situation. I was reassured during the entire legal process thus easing my stress and I was handled with the utmost professionalism. He always had my best interest at heart. I am glad he is on my side!

  10. A client in a panic!

    Posted by Clayton, a Car Accident client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Jef Henninger.
    • I hired Jef more than 3 years ago.
    • Jef handled my Car / Auto Accident matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Very few lawyers would put up with a client having a panic attack in the court room, and especially at this price. This guy talks me down from it! Great lawyer, and great individual.