Patrick Joseph Bartels’s Reviews

Patrick Joseph Bartels

Average Rating

Based on 5 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. Very very poor service

    Posted by Tony, a Consumer Protection client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Poor
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Patrick Bartels.
    • I hired Patrick more than 3 years ago.
    • Patrick handled my Consumer Protection matter.

    I hired this firm, Keefe Bartels. This firm switched lawyers on me 3 times. I complained to Bartels. He refused to communicate, and did not contact me as promised. The day of trial I was refused a jury trial I was promised. The day of trial he told me he would not use my witness and said "You know your witness and the judge will look unfavorably on him." This of course makes no sense. Without a witness I could not win my case. Evidence was not presented since Sullivan lost my witness evidence and evidence relating to my valuations. The judge said the Court could not award damages since Sullivan did not include bailment. I lost over $100,000 in property.

  2. Tremendously Qualified Highly Recommend

    Posted by Pamela Sue Farquhar, a Litigation client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Patrick Bartels.
    • I hired Patrick more than 3 years ago.
    • Patrick handled my Litigation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 6-10 lawyers.

    I consulted with Mr. Bartels regarding a potential litigation. My appointment was handled professionally, timely and thoroughly to my satisfaction.
    Mr. Bartels asked pertinent questions, researched the matter and responded quickly regarding what course of action needed to be taken.
    I would highly recommend Mr. Bartels and his staff.

  3. Rude, inconsiderate & unprofessional are a few adjectives I'd use to describe the individuals working in Mr. Bartels' office

    Posted by Chris, a Employment client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Poor
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Patrick Bartels.
    • I hired Patrick more than 3 years ago.
    • Patrick handled my Employment & Labor matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    I started out by speaking w/ Lisa in the front office to schedule a consultation. She took my information & scheduled my appointment. Great, no problems there. However, I explained to Lisa that I currently don't have transportation and would be arranging for a ride back and forth to the office. Not only did I have to rearrange my day, but also the day of the person providing me with transportation to make the trip to Red Bank. Which wasn't an issue at all. However, herein lies my major issue with how this firm treats their perspective clients.... I travelled all the way to Red Bank only to find out that not only was my consultation cancelled, no one was even in the office that day. I never received a call informing me of the change. However, I decided to call back and reschedule anyway believing it was just a miscommunication. Not only was that phone call never returned, my following 3 phone calls were never returned either. That's completely unacceptable and unprofessional, period. In sum, if this is any indication whatsoever of how Mr. Bartels' runs his front office, then I want nothing to do with him or his colleagues representing me in a court of law, let alone paying for their services. One of two things is blatantly evident. One, either Mr. Bartels' has no idea of how his front office is being handled or, two, he just doesn't care. Judging by his other reviews, I believe it to be the former rather than the latter. Regardless, I will NEVER use this firm and, consequently, two other co-workers whom were interested in his services have gone on to seek a more professional and knowledgable firm. The bottom line Mr. Bartels' is that your front office is rude, inconsiderate, inept and unprofessional.

    1. Patrick Joseph Bartels

      Patrick Bartels

      Lawyer Comment:

      Dear Mr. Sorbo;

      I am sorry you had such a frustrating experience with my office. I had no idea you were having these difficulties until I read your post of 02/16/2011. I wish you had contacted me directly to voice your concerns. We take customer service seriously at Keefe Bartels and I am certain I could have worked things out to your satisfaction. Please call me and I will do my best to make things right.

      However, I do want to address some of the comments you made in your statement.

      In your post you allege that you traveled to my office in Red Bank only to discover that my office was closed without prior notice to you.

      To the contrary, our records indicate that your only appointment with me was scheduled at my Red Bank office for 3:00pm on 1/27/11. Because of inclement weather that day we had a delayed opening of 10:30 am, and remained open until after 5:00pm. At approximately 11:45 am that morning you called to confirm your appointment and were advised by my receptionist that your appointment would have to be rescheduled. As such, I am not clear on what day you claim to have traveled to my office as you describe.

      Also, you alleged that my “front office” was “rude, inconsiderate, inept, and unprofessional.” I know which staff members you spoke to and each has worked here for sometime. I can assure that none of them were rude, inconsiderate, inept or unprofessional towards you. Their mistake was not getting back to you in a timely manner and for that I apologize.

      Again, I apologize for these unfortunate circumstances, and I wish you good luck.

      Patrick J. Bartels, Esq.

      Posted about 4 years ago. Flag

  4. Patrick Bartels Review

    Posted by Sue,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Patrick Bartels.
    • I hired Patrick more than 3 years ago.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Patrick was the best choice we could have made when we needed an attorney for a personal injury case. He far exceeded our expectations and was able to obtain a settlement on our behalf in a shorter period of time than we had anticipated. He is honest, hard-working and really cared about us. He went above and beyond to help us in our case.

  5. Friendly and patient

    Posted by a Employment client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Patrick Bartels.
    • I hired Patrick more than 3 years ago.
    • Patrick handled my Employment & Labor matter.
    • I have previously worked with more than 10 lawyers.

    Mr. Bartels is one of the most friendly and patient attorney's I've ever done business with. He took his time answering all of our questions and provided us with excellent counsel. I highly recommmend him.