Travis J Tormey’s Reviews

Travis J Tormey

Average Rating

Based on 33 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. Elite NJ Marijuana Attorney! 5 Stars!!

    Posted by Jon, a State & Local Law client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Travis Tormey.
    • I hired Travis 1-6 months ago.
    • Travis handled my State, Local And Municipal Law matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Second time in 18 months Travis has gotten me out of multiple marijuana charges with just court fines. No probation, no loss of license, just pay the fine. (Decent little fine tho hear in NJ). But by nj state law with all my charges was facing a potential 2 year loss of license, probation and even jail! I enjoy the occasional smoke so probation was something that was terrifying. That was no obstacle for Mr. Travis Tormey and his team as I left court with just a fine and no other punishment.

    Hiring Travis made my entire situation way less stressful. Travis is an excellent defense attorney and from my experiences with him shows very strong knowledge of constitutional rights, yet blends that with superb negotiating skills in court as well as tremendous charisma in front of the judge. Travis and his team do a great job of not only taking the stres out of the process but as well as getting you the best legal representation you could hope for. Also very nonjudgemental and didn't seem to think negatively of me as a person, not that it matters.

    If you are facing marijuana charges in nj I highly recommend Mr. Travis Tormey as an elite attorney. He will do a great job and most importantly does not make false promises but delivers the goods on game day.

    Excellent attorney, and the head of a tremendous team.. 5 stars.

  2. An Excellent lawyer!

    Posted by Alaji Ali,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Travis Tormey.
    • I hired Travis 1-3 years ago.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    Travis Tormey is trustworthy, patient, efficient and an overall excellent lawyer.
    He helped to get my tickets dismissed and saved me a ton of stress and setbacks.
    I would recommend him to anyone looking for a lawyer that will represent them with the highest level of Intelligence and efficiency.
    Thank You Travis!

  3. Great lawyer for DUI

    Posted by a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Travis Tormey.
    • I hired Travis 1-3 years ago.
    • Travis handled my DUI / DWI matter.

    Travis did exactly what he said he would in my case. He to my refusal and other tickets dismissed with a very difficult judge. When we had to appeal the time i lost my license for he came through and we won
    I highly recommend him.

  4. I highly endorse Travis Tormey.

    Posted by a Domestic Violence client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Travis Tormey.
    • I hired Travis 1-6 months ago.
    • Travis handled my Domestic Violence matter.

    Due to unfortunate circumstances I recently had a TRO ”temporary restraining order” served to me unexpectedly and instantly was highly concerned. The TRO was requested by an ex-girlfriend and was entirely false and unwarranted, it was the middle of the night and as part of the order the police had searched my home, as my ex had lied to the police and told them that I had threatened her with a firearm, so the police had to conduct a search, the search turned up nothing and the police left although this obviously left both myself and my fiancée very concerned. It was also the middle of the night so as soon as the commotion died down I immediately did a Google search on “NJ Temporary Restraining Order” and one of the first links to come up was to one Travis Tormey. I called Travis and left a message at his office at midnight, one of the best decisions I have ever made, and he immediately returned my call first thing in the morning.

    I explained to Travis the next morning My ex was accusing me of “harassment” via social media and defaming her character, and informed him of the events regarding the night before and unwarranted search of the house by the police. I explained to Travis that my initial concern was what type of impact this would have on my record if a Final Restraining Order was issued, and with all my research regardless of if it came up on any type of background check or not this was not a stigma that I wanted associated with my character. I also told Travis I was concerned if the final order was put in place what type of permanent restrictions this would have on the rest of my life. Final Restraining Orders are no joke and have deep impact and Travis explained all of this to me. I ultimately made the decision to hire Travis and let me say for both myself and my fiancée this was one of the best decisions we ever made. Travis ultimately won our case with absolutely no hard evidence on my part besides the testimony of me and my fiancée. My ex came to court for the final hearing with a plethora of nasty comments made by myself via social media, which I regret and were in response to insults made by my ex to both myself and my fiancée. Despite this Travis used his expertise to prove that these allegations were false and that there was an ulterior motive of jealousy on the part of my ex and that she was using the legal system unjustly and unfairly in an attempt to further try to disrupt the happy life of me and fiancée.

    Travis was dynamite in the courtroom as he controlled all situations with ease and professionalism ultimately winning our case. I can honestly say that calling Travis that night saved my life in numerous ways and I would tell anyone hesitating due to financial or any other reasons DEFINITELY MKE THE CALL TO TRAVIS, you can never put a price on these type of things and Travis is the right man for the job.

  5. Travis Tormey Law Firm

    Posted by Ron, a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Travis Tormey.
    • I hired Travis 1-6 months ago.
    • Travis handled my DUI / DWI matter.

    Travis Tormey Law Firm provided me with very professional and reliable support including court appearances. I had a huge problem and this law firm got me off with minimum fines and sentencing. This firm is outstanding and I recommend them 200%+.

  6. Too big of an investment for too little results

    Posted by a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Fair
    Trustworthy
     Fair
    Responsive
     Average
    Knowledgeable
     Average
    Kept me informed
     Average
    • I do not recommend Travis Tormey.
    • I hired Travis 1-3 years ago.
    • Travis handled my DUI / DWI matter.

    While I understand the justice system is in no rush to deal with petty crime, I cannot say that investing a 1000 USD in services from Travis Tormey was worth it.

 In fact, I can instead say that it was essentially worthless.



    After physically going to court four times before a verdict was made, Tormey made one suggestion to alleviate the case (the second to last trial, of course) which the judge frantically denied.



    I would contact him for updates and he would tell me we are still waiting. Instead of waiting around, I would ask friends in law school what they would do and make these suggestions to Tormey. He would deny and again, say we have to wait.

    All in all, I did not need representation as he did nothing for me or my case. Would have been the same slow, uneasy trial if I stepped into court alone.



    Now that all is said and done, he told me he would help expunge this arrest for another whopping amount because he 'only makes a few hundred out of it' and its heavy paperwork.

    I would say do not waste your time.

  7. Travis is a Lifesaver

    Posted by Joe, a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Travis Tormey.
    • I hired Travis 6-12 months ago.
    • Travis handled my Criminal Defense matter.

    When I found myself in a very difficult situation, I reached out to Travis Tormey and was never disappointed. Travis is very responsive and explains legal terms in a clear and understandable way. I hope I never find myself again in this type of legal situation, but if I do I will contact Travis Tormey immediately.

  8. Travis J. Tormey - Evaluation

    Posted by George, a Domestic Violence client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Travis Tormey.
    • I hired Travis 6-12 months ago.
    • Travis handled my Domestic Violence matter.

    I hired Attorney Travis Tormey to handle a minor case and found him to be very personable, reasonable, and with expert knowledge of criminal law. He patiently answered all questions and provided me with legal options and best course of action. I found him to be compassionate, flexible, and good guy to have on your side. Easy to talk with and friendly. He presents himself very well and provided timely follow-up. A skilled professional. I recommend his service, especially if needed in Bergen county.

  9. Great Lawyer. Got me off exactly what I wanted

    Posted by Joe, a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Travis Tormey.
    • I hired Travis 6-12 months ago.
    • Travis handled my Criminal Defense matter.

    Travis is a real professional. I got in a situation with a loitering with intent charge. He answered all my questions and answered all my calls when I called him. Was on time for court and knew how to get the charges dismissed. Exactly what I wanted!

  10. Consummate Professional!

    Posted by Amy, a Juvenile client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Travis Tormey.
    • I hired Travis 6-12 months ago.
    • Travis handled my Juvenile matter.

    Mr. Tormey is a consummate professional. Our case was sensitive and complicated and unusually lengthy for a juvenile case. For 8 months Mr. Tormey faithfully worked our case and never failed to show for court once. Punctual, disciplined, knowledgeable, patient and responsive there aren't enough words of admiration and gratitude I can apply to him. My son's case was resolved in our favor and we owe it to Mr. Tormey's unwavering professionalism. I choose him based on previous reviews and I am so pleased I did as the excellent reviews are absolutely warranted. He made an unbearable situation so much more bearable with his calm demeanor. I highly recommend Travis to anyone needing a juvenile defense attorney. He knows the law and he knows how to navigate the judicial jungle. Without a doubt, one of the best attorneys out there. Thank you Travis for giving my son his life back, I will forever be gratefully indebted.