Virginia Elizabeth Fortunato’s Reviews

Virginia Elizabeth Fortunato

Average Rating

Based on 63 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. Best bankruptcy attorney

    Posted by Kevin and Annemarie, a Chapter 11 client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Virginia Fortunato.
    • I hired Virginia 1-6 months ago.
    • Virginia handled my Bankruptcy / Chapter 11 matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    If you ever find yourself in a situation where you may be considering bankruptcy look no further than Virginia E. Fortunato. She will sit with you and discuss all your options and answer all your questions. She will speak to you and not at you. Ginny knows how to deal with clients and understands the pressure and decisions that must be made to straighten out your financial situation. She knows the rules and laws related to bankruptcy. If you are considering bankruptcy, look no further than Virginia E. Fortunato. She will help you out of a difficult situation, you can't
    go wrong.

  2. Excellent, trustworthy, our needs were her top priority. You will be very relieved that you selected Ginny.

    Posted by Erin, a Foreclosure client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Virginia Fortunato.
    • I hired Virginia 1-6 months ago.
    • Virginia handled my Foreclosure matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Ginny from the very beginning was honest in providing very detailed information that clearly demonstrated that she is extremely up to date with her practice. She was very strategic in not wanting to make a bad situation worse for us by spending needless money in places that were not warranted. She has continued to be a resource for us during a long and stressful ordeal and has found many loopholes that have been in our favor. You will not be disappointed with Ginny, we selected her based on her excellent reviews, and encourage the reader of this review to do the same. Trust the reviews, trust Ginny to help you to have a strategic plan.

  3. Ginny Is A Gem

    Posted by David,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Virginia Fortunato.

    After the 2008-10 recession, close friends and family needed attorneys on bankruptcy and related matters. Of the multiple bankruptcy attorneys I observed first hand in 2011-13 here in northern NJ, Virginia (“Ginny”) Fortunato is the best. She’s experienced, knowledgeable and efficient. Ginny is great at both big-picture issues and gritty details. Her paralegal staff have superior software skills and attention to detail – vital and often overlooked factors. Her value-for-money is excellent. And Ginny is personable, responsive and very easy to deal with. In sum, Ginny is a real gem!

    1. Virginia Elizabeth Fortunato

      Virginia Fortunato

      Lawyer Comment:

      Thanks David! I was more than happy to assist your family through these very difficult and challenging economic times.

      Posted about 2 months ago. Flag

  4. Recommend Highly!

    Posted by Kathleen G., a Chapter 7 client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Virginia Fortunato.
    • I hired Virginia 6-12 months ago.
    • Virginia handled my Bankruptcy / Chapter 7 matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I highly recommend Virginia Fortunato, Esq. She was extremely knowledgeable and walked us through this process from beginning to end. Ginny was so patient with us and was always available for questions. I could not imagine having gone through this with any other attorney. Overall Rating 5 Stars. AMAZING!

    1. Virginia Elizabeth Fortunato

      Virginia Fortunato

      Lawyer Comment:

      It was a pleasure being able to assist you and your husband! I wish you both a very bright financial future!

      Posted about 2 months ago. Flag

  5. Smooth Transaction

    Posted by a Chapter 7 client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Virginia Fortunato.
    • I hired Virginia 1-3 years ago.
    • Virginia handled my Bankruptcy / Chapter 7 matter.

    Virginia was very informative and helped me understand what was best for me and the entire process. I felt very comfortable with her handling my case and it went by quick. She never made me feel bad for what I was going through. I previously spoke to another lawyer and he was very rude and talked down to me but Virginia was a pleasure. Thank you soo much.

  6. AMAZING

    Posted by Joanne, a Chapter 7 client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Virginia Fortunato.
    • I hired Virginia 6-12 months ago.
    • Virginia handled my Bankruptcy / Chapter 7 matter.

    I was in desperate need of a Bankruptcy lawyer. I came across Ginny's information and was sold by her raving reviews! They were one hundred percent accurate and true. I can't thank her enough for all of her hard work and dedication to helping me start a new chapter in my life. She is so down to earth, intelligent, dedicated, and knowledgeable! She is by far the best attorney for the job!!!

  7. Decision was not difficult after meeting Ginny!

    Posted by Lisa, a Chapter 7 client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Virginia Fortunato.
    • I hired Virginia 1-3 years ago.
    • Virginia handled my Bankruptcy / Chapter 7 matter.

    Ginny is amazing. After meeting with Ginny we knew we found the right lawyer! Ginny is not only knowledgeable but kind hearted and compassionate which makes all the difference in the world. Ginny took her time, gave us advise, answered ALL our questions and what we thought would be the most difficult decision of our lives actually turned out to be the BEST thing we ever did! She helped us get the FRESH start we so desperately needed and not sure we could have done it without her! I would highly recommend Ginny, she will walk you through the process and guide you every step of the way!

  8. What a difference the right attorney makes...

    Posted by Ruben, a Chapter 7 client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Virginia Fortunato.
    • I hired Virginia 6-12 months ago.
    • Virginia handled my Bankruptcy / Chapter 7 matter.

    Virginia “Ginny” Fortunato is a consummate professional. Bankruptcy is her only specialization, and as such, she is extremely knowledgeable about bankruptcy law and the bankruptcy process. My personal experience started with another attorney who did absolutely nothing for six weeks. I made the decision to change attorneys and was fortunate to have found Ginny…right here on Avvo!! Thanks to her, I was able to complete the process within the timeframe I originally required. Not only that, but because of her follow-up and very capable paralegal, Karen, I never had to call for an update. A decision to retain Ginny is the right decision and the first step toward peace of mind and financial freedom.

  9. Best Lawyer

    Posted by N. Holmes, a Chapter 7 client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Virginia Fortunato.
    • I hired Virginia 6-12 months ago.
    • Virginia handled my Bankruptcy / Chapter 7 matter.

    Filing bankruptcy is a very difficult decision. For months as things progressively got worst I decided to do some research and seek out an attorney for an consultation. As many people needing services I looked on the internet I found several and started setting up appointments.

    I had an appointment with a reputable attorney but there was no connection. Called Mrs. Fortunato and she sold me from the phone call. In person at the consultation it was sealed, I needed this woman to help me.

    This woman is AMAZING. Mrs. Fortunato is professional, honest, reliable, knowledgeable, personable, sweet. She hand walked me through this whole process. She responded to every question, and if there is something she didn't know( rarely happened) she got back to me within hours. This woman truly cares, and makes you feel like you are her only client. My case wasn't the easiest but she assured me she'd fight for me and I'd get through this. I really felt like we knew each other and she really had my best interest at hand. Although, its her job to get me through this, she truly went above and beyond. Her colleagues respect her and know that she is great if not the best in this area.

    So, I say the above to say this: Do NOT hesitate to give her the chance to represent you through this. She never judges nor questions what got you in this situation. Her fee is equivalent to pennies in comparison to her services. Shes the best and I am so happy to have had the pleasure of meeting her. Truly a hidden treasure in my community.

    N. Holmes (Filed 4/20- discharged 6/2013)

    1. Virginia Elizabeth Fortunato

      Virginia Fortunato

      Lawyer Comment:

      It was my pleasure to help you! I truly enjoy helping people who are in difficult situations. I simply treat my clients the way I would want my family members treated if they were having financial difficulties and sought bankruptcy counsel. In fact, I have had close family and friends out of state have to file for bankruptcy. Although I could not file for them because I am only licensed in New Jersey, I have sat with them on the other side of the table. Just sitting with my family through the process was a humbling experience and gave me a very different prospective. Best of luck to you! You are a bright young lady with a promising career ahead of you.

      Posted 8 months ago. Flag

  10. Knowledgeable, trustworthy and friendly

    Posted by Marlene, a Chapter 11 client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Virginia Fortunato.
    • I hired Virginia 1-3 years ago.
    • Virginia handled my Bankruptcy / Chapter 11 matter.

    My husband lost his job and was unemployed for many years. Loss of income, combined with our high mortgage payment, made life extremely difficult. We were barely surviving (living paycheck to paycheck). We considered bankruptcy but couldn't bring ourselves to do it, we always pay what we owe. Then we started drowning, we didn't know what else to do. Virginia was recommended to us.

    As we waited in her waiting area, our neighbor walked in. These are definitely hard times. She and her family were in the same situation. She said she was happy to have Virginia on her side. After sitting with Virginia, several things happened; we felt relief, we were comfortable with knowing we were in good hands, and she is extremely knowledgeable. Any and all questions were answered and in simple terms. She explained and walked us through the process (what was going to happen, what to look forward to and what should we do after). I would recommend Virginia to anyone.

    1. Virginia Elizabeth Fortunato

      Virginia Fortunato

      Lawyer Comment:

      Thank you Marlene for your feedback. It is my goal to make the process as smooth as possible and to give you all the information needed for you to make informed decisions. So glad the Chapter 7 Discharge will give you the fresh start you and your family so well deserved. Best of luck in the future!

      Posted 9 months ago. Flag

We are your NJ Bankruptcy Firm and we are here to help. Call for a free consultation.

201-673-5777