Virginia Elizabeth Fortunato’s Reviews

Virginia Elizabeth Fortunato

Average Rating

Based on 65 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. Best bankruptcy lawyer in bergen county!!

    Posted by a Chapter 7 client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Virginia Fortunato.
    • Virginia handled my Bankruptcy / Chapter 7 matter.

    I never thought I would end up in a position where I would have to file bankruptcy. After a couple of hard years and reduction of wages I realized I couldn't fix it on my own. I read reviews after googling searching "bankruptcy lawyers" and I felt that Ginny was the perfect fit for me. From the first time I spoke to her on the phone to schedule my consultation I knew I had made the right decision. She is honest and fair. She doesn't judge you or make you feel like a bad person. She is realistic about life and how things can go bad or not be perfect. Ginny always made me feel comfortable and from beginning to end I was soo soo soooooo happy I chose Ginny to represent me and file my petition. I had my meeting of creditors today and even though I was extremely nervous she made me feel at ease! I would definitely recommend Ginny to ANYONE considering bankruptcy. I would also suggest meeting with her even if you're not sure you qualify. She will lead you in the right direction!!! Ginny you rock!! Thanks so much for being you!!

  2. The Best bankruptcy attorney!

    Posted by Linda, a Chapter 7 client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Virginia Fortunato.
    • I hired Virginia 1-6 months ago.
    • Virginia handled my Bankruptcy / Chapter 7 matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    From my first phone call with Ginny I knew she was the attorney for me. She understood my circumstances and made me feel at ease and said she would take care of me. Then when I had my consultation meeting and met her in person I retained her that day for my case. She is very knowledgable , compassionate and very passionate about helping you. She told me not to worry and to relax she would make the process easy for me. She is true to her word. Filed the end of April and was discharged in August. Hire Ginny you won't be disappointed!

    1. Virginia Elizabeth Fortunato

      Virginia Fortunato

      Lawyer Comment:

      I am so happy I was able to make the bankruptcy process as easy as possible. Best of luck on your new financial future! :)

      Posted 28 days ago. Flag

  3. Best bankruptcy attorney

    Posted by Kevin and Annemarie, a Chapter 11 client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Virginia Fortunato.
    • I hired Virginia 6-12 months ago.
    • Virginia handled my Bankruptcy / Chapter 11 matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    If you ever find yourself in a situation where you may be considering bankruptcy look no further than Virginia E. Fortunato. She will sit with you and discuss all your options and answer all your questions. She will speak to you and not at you. Ginny knows how to deal with clients and understands the pressure and decisions that must be made to straighten out your financial situation. She knows the rules and laws related to bankruptcy. If you are considering bankruptcy, look no further than Virginia E. Fortunato. She will help you out of a difficult situation, you can't
    go wrong.

  4. Excellent, trustworthy, our needs were her top priority. You will be very relieved that you selected Ginny.

    Posted by Erin, a Foreclosure client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Virginia Fortunato.
    • I hired Virginia 1-6 months ago.
    • Virginia handled my Foreclosure matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Ginny from the very beginning was honest in providing very detailed information that clearly demonstrated that she is extremely up to date with her practice. She was very strategic in not wanting to make a bad situation worse for us by spending needless money in places that were not warranted. She has continued to be a resource for us during a long and stressful ordeal and has found many loopholes that have been in our favor. You will not be disappointed with Ginny, we selected her based on her excellent reviews, and encourage the reader of this review to do the same. Trust the reviews, trust Ginny to help you to have a strategic plan.

  5. Ginny Is A Gem

    Posted by David,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Virginia Fortunato.

    After the 2008-10 recession, close friends and family needed attorneys on bankruptcy and related matters. Of the multiple bankruptcy attorneys I observed first hand in 2011-13 here in northern NJ, Virginia (“Ginny”) Fortunato is the best. She’s experienced, knowledgeable and efficient. Ginny is great at both big-picture issues and gritty details. Her paralegal staff have superior software skills and attention to detail – vital and often overlooked factors. Her value-for-money is excellent. And Ginny is personable, responsive and very easy to deal with. In sum, Ginny is a real gem!

    1. Virginia Elizabeth Fortunato

      Virginia Fortunato

      Lawyer Comment:

      Thanks David! I was more than happy to assist your family through these very difficult and challenging economic times.

      Posted 4 months ago. Flag

  6. Recommend Highly!

    Posted by Kathleen G., a Chapter 7 client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Virginia Fortunato.
    • I hired Virginia 1-3 years ago.
    • Virginia handled my Bankruptcy / Chapter 7 matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I highly recommend Virginia Fortunato, Esq. She was extremely knowledgeable and walked us through this process from beginning to end. Ginny was so patient with us and was always available for questions. I could not imagine having gone through this with any other attorney. Overall Rating 5 Stars. AMAZING!

    1. Virginia Elizabeth Fortunato

      Virginia Fortunato

      Lawyer Comment:

      It was a pleasure being able to assist you and your husband! I wish you both a very bright financial future!

      Posted 4 months ago. Flag

  7. Smooth Transaction

    Posted by a Chapter 7 client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Virginia Fortunato.
    • I hired Virginia 1-3 years ago.
    • Virginia handled my Bankruptcy / Chapter 7 matter.

    Virginia was very informative and helped me understand what was best for me and the entire process. I felt very comfortable with her handling my case and it went by quick. She never made me feel bad for what I was going through. I previously spoke to another lawyer and he was very rude and talked down to me but Virginia was a pleasure. Thank you soo much.

  8. AMAZING

    Posted by Joanne, a Chapter 7 client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Virginia Fortunato.
    • I hired Virginia 6-12 months ago.
    • Virginia handled my Bankruptcy / Chapter 7 matter.

    I was in desperate need of a Bankruptcy lawyer. I came across Ginny's information and was sold by her raving reviews! They were one hundred percent accurate and true. I can't thank her enough for all of her hard work and dedication to helping me start a new chapter in my life. She is so down to earth, intelligent, dedicated, and knowledgeable! She is by far the best attorney for the job!!!

  9. Decision was not difficult after meeting Ginny!

    Posted by Lisa, a Chapter 7 client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Virginia Fortunato.
    • I hired Virginia 1-3 years ago.
    • Virginia handled my Bankruptcy / Chapter 7 matter.

    Ginny is amazing. After meeting with Ginny we knew we found the right lawyer! Ginny is not only knowledgeable but kind hearted and compassionate which makes all the difference in the world. Ginny took her time, gave us advise, answered ALL our questions and what we thought would be the most difficult decision of our lives actually turned out to be the BEST thing we ever did! She helped us get the FRESH start we so desperately needed and not sure we could have done it without her! I would highly recommend Ginny, she will walk you through the process and guide you every step of the way!

  10. What a difference the right attorney makes...

    Posted by Ruben, a Chapter 7 client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Virginia Fortunato.
    • I hired Virginia 1-3 years ago.
    • Virginia handled my Bankruptcy / Chapter 7 matter.

    Virginia “Ginny” Fortunato is a consummate professional. Bankruptcy is her only specialization, and as such, she is extremely knowledgeable about bankruptcy law and the bankruptcy process. My personal experience started with another attorney who did absolutely nothing for six weeks. I made the decision to change attorneys and was fortunate to have found Ginny…right here on Avvo!! Thanks to her, I was able to complete the process within the timeframe I originally required. Not only that, but because of her follow-up and very capable paralegal, Karen, I never had to call for an update. A decision to retain Ginny is the right decision and the first step toward peace of mind and financial freedom.

We are your NJ Bankruptcy Firm and we are here to help. Call for a free consultation.

201-673-5777