Joseph P Rem Jr’s Reviews

Joseph P Rem Jr

Average Rating

Based on 8 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. Go to Attorney!!!

    Posted by JL, a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Joseph Rem.
    • I hired Joseph 6-12 months ago.
    • Joseph handled my DUI / DWI matter.

    What can I say about Joe Rem…. He is an amazing attorney with great knowledge. He came recommended by a friend and since then I have been represented beyond compare. In addition to his wealth of knowledge, he works wonders when he enters a courtroom and gets things done. I would HIGHLY recommend Joe Rem to anyone needing his services.

  2. One of the Finest Individuals I know.

    Posted by a Family client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Joseph Rem.
    • I hired Joseph 1-3 years ago.
    • Joseph handled my Family matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Mr. Rem is uniquely talented. Trust that he knows the law and will defend it. Trust that he will respond to you in a personal and caring fashion. What struck me as unique is that Mr. Rem defended my interests while simultaneously upholding a measure of fairness to my adversary. This might sound counterproductive. It is not. It is transcendent. If you've ever been through the legal system, then you will recognize this as special. He is a wise man. He is generous.

  3. THE Best Attorney

    Posted by a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Joseph Rem.
    • I hired Joseph more than 3 years ago.
    • Joseph handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with 6-10 lawyers.

    It’s been a very long time, though every day that goes by I realize more and more how grateful and fortunate I have been to have known Joe Rem. He happened to take my case through a referral by a friend of a friend of mine when I almost saw no horizon in resolving multiple criminal charges against me. It was one of the worst and darkest nightmares which I was accused of something that had become so complex and devastating, where finally Joe Rem stood out exceptionally among so many other attorneys which I reached out for help. His wonderful mannerism, excellent attitude, sincerity when discussing the case with me, his patience and not to mention his outstanding knowledge, experience and etiquette not only in handling the legal matter but also in personal level are the facts I will always remember.
    Throughout the entire case he patiently and diligently reviewed many communications I had with him and his great team (James) and with his staff. He remembered every detail; he was fair, supportive and communicative. He had my case dismissed. Nevertheless he is one of the most respected lawyers there is. I highly recommend him.

  4. On Top of His Game!

    Posted by Tom, a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Joseph Rem.
    • I hired Joseph 1-3 years ago.
    • Joseph handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with more than 10 lawyers.

    A few years ago serious trouble found me and I was arrested! Not having any experience with that side of the law, I contacted my family attorney for help. He immediately referred me to Joe Rem...and thankfully he did! While the legal process was extremely tedious and distressing for me, Joe continued to keep the process in perspective for me while never being judgemental. I was always able to contact him by email, cell or face to face meetings for updates. That was reassuring that I had the most capable person on my side.

    Joe Rem does not only know the law, he seems very comfortable around it. I was extremely impressed how he knew the "ins and outs" of the process and his command of the courtroom. Watching him work was practically an artform.

    Obviously, the most important part of my representation was the results he was able to achieve through active negotiations with the judge and prosecutor. Although I was facing serious jail-time, a plea was worked out that kept me with no time served. Hopefully I will never have to trust him with my freedom again, but if those circumstances ever arise again, he is the man I want in my corner.

  5. Above and beyond Excellet in all categories

    Posted by Dan, a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Joseph Rem.
    • I hired Joseph more than 3 years ago.
    • Joseph handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    I hired Mr Rem and the legal team at Rem Zeller when I was facing serious time. Of course, any time in jail is serious, but my situation was bad - 3-5 yrs minimum.

    Lawyers are not in the business of giving guarantees or promising outcomes, but what I got from Mr Rem was the personal guarantee that he was going to fight for me. The support and guidance I received from Mr Rem and his associates, especially James Seplowitz, enabled me to focus my priorities and be an active participant in my defense.

    With Mr Rem and his team's support, I was able to keep my head up and use my time, pre-trial, to put my life on a better path. I obtained treatment for my substance abuse issues and when my trial was being scheduled, I felt like I had prepared myself as best I could. I met with Joe and James and we discussed the probability of my incarceration.

    The process was long, requiring numerous appearances, and every time I was met in the courthouse by a friendly face from Mr Rem's office. I felt very "in-the-loop" with regard to the entire process thanks, in no small part, to the efforts of everyone at Rem Zeller.

    One afternoon (almost 3 years after my arrest), as I sat in the courtroom, Mr Rem emerged from the judge's chambers and informed my pregnant wife and I that I would be serving a sentence that did not include jail time.

    I don't know what went on in those chambers, but I know that Mr Rem worked a miracle in my life. And I don't say that lightly.

    Because Joe and his team fought so hard for me, I was able to see the birth of my son and spend the last 2 years raising him and building my family.

    I owe Mr Rem so more than this positive review and I am so grateful that he was willing to represent me. I cannot recommend him highly enough.

  6. The Lesson

    Posted by Howard, a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Good
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Joseph Rem.
    • I hired Joseph more than 3 years ago.
    • Joseph handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    One of a parent's worst nightmares is receiving a call about their child from anyone in law enforcement, especially when that call arrives around 2 am. Hearing that there were no injuries provided a sense of relief but did little to allay the fear.

    As the morning approached I set about finding representation for my child. My first call was to a family friend who happens to be a judge in the area. "There is none finer. In fact I used his services for my own child two years ago." I made one more call to an attorney friend. I don't think it was a coincidence that the very same name was provided along with a glowing recommendation. The very next call was to Joe Rem's office to seek his representation for my child.

    I witnessed a finesse in dealing with, "the system," as each person with whom we interacted seemed as if Joe were a personal friend. It was akin to watching a surgeon in an operating room. He explained the situation quite directly and the steps ahead. Absolutely brilliant! It was clear Joe's knowledge of the law and the system was par excellence.

    The outcome was as he suggested. Both my child and I were so relieved. The words from Joe to my child continue to resonate as, despite her somewhat simultaneous fear and joy, she recalls almost verbatim his sincere concern about any future poor decision.

    I will be forever grateful for Joe's involvement and have recommended him on some number of occasions to friends many of whom have children that could, I am sure, recite Joe's parting words.

  7. Top notch lawyer!

    Posted by a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Joseph Rem.
    • I hired Joseph more than 3 years ago.
    • Joseph handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Joe Rem is an excellent attorney. His firm handled a municipal court matter for me and I was extremely satisfied with the result and service.

  8. SUPERB ATTORNEY: PAR EXCELLENCE

    Posted by gil, a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Good
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Good
    • I recommend Joseph Rem.
    • I hired Joseph 1-3 years ago.
    • Joseph handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with 6-10 lawyers.

    I used Joe upon the recommendation of a local judge as well as another attorney in my area. What was remarkable was that they both converged on the same name(Joe Rem) and noted that they would use him if they had family members in similar situations as my own.

    Two things struck me off the bat, 1)his thoroughness in the initial phase for completeness of the facts, 2)his balance and objectivity. Usually lawyers tend to "sugarcoat"/be hopeful in order to gain the business however he was very direct/blunt which I appreciated regarding the gravity, consequences, etc. while offering LEGAL merits in my case and keeping it objective rather than subjective. The case involved a 2nd potential dwi in my case and a refusal for another family member's case so they were both difficult and the law leaves very little flexibility especially in 2nd dwi's. The cases both went to trial. His team(James, Lisa) were all involved in various phases and were extremely thorough. Bottom line is that he beat the dwi charges for the family member, and was able to reduce my charge to reckless driving, foregoing a number of fines,potential 2yr loss in license, increase in insurance rates, and more importantly a second dwi/interlocking device. While I was impressed at the initial phase and his analysis of the discovery evidence, I was even more impressed to see his comportment with the judge, the officers, prosecutor, and the witnesses. At no time was he nasty, grandstanding, obnoxious etc which at times some lawyers can be, and he came across as someone who was deferential before the court and non confrontational, yet thorough,knowledgeable, and complete enough so that it would allow the court to find the door "ajar" just enough such that reasonable doubt and empathy could be established. He has access to top expert witnesses, and as the judge informed me, when Joe talks judges listen because he doesnt come across as someone who just likes to hear his voice. Perhaps to some, his "bedside manner" may be a tad blunt or direct, and his responsiveness may be a tad delayed (24-48 hours), however in fairness, I personally appreciate someone who "tells it like it is" and I think that in most individual circumstances everyone believes that their questions and concerns are crucial and want to be alleviated and addressed immediately, given the visceral and emotional nature of the situation. It's not like we are the firm's only clients, the case never sufferred due to a delayed response, and also its not like the court always informs the lawyers in time either. BOTTOM LINE. I hope never to require Joe's professional services again given the nature of his practice, and to only see him in a social setting, however should anyone have a dui/refusal case, I would recommend him 10 out of 10 times to anyone who wanted the best damn dui lawyer in bergen county

201-488-1234