James Alexander Abate’s Reviews

James Alexander Abate

Average Rating

Based on 16 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. Most knowledgable lawyer I have ever met

    Posted by a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend James Abate.
    • I hired James 1-6 months ago.
    • James handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    James is by far one of the best lawyers I have ever delt with. He took on my case. He was honest and straight forward throughout the process . Is personable, is willing to work things out with you and most of all fair. His staff and himself handled everything promptly with the most professionalism seen. I extremely rate this lawyer with every possible with comfortably.

  2. I am extremely thankful for hiring James Abate

    Posted by J.R, a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend James Abate.
    • I hired James 6-12 months ago.
    • James handled my Criminal Defense matter.

    I was charged with possession of CDS in a motor vehicle (marijuana). Unfortunately this was the 3rd time i was arrested for possession within the span of a year, and the 4th time altogether. By all rights I should have lost my license for 2 years and/or served a 30 day jail sentence. Mr. Abate, after reviewing the video of my arrest, was able to get the prosecutor to agree to 1 years probation and a suspended 30 day jail sentence. During our first consultation, Mr.Abate advised me to enter myself into a drug rehab program, which i did. The reason for this was to get leniency from the judge, since the judge decides if i can keep my license. As it turns out, the judge did look favorably on this. I should not have a license to drive right now, but because of Mr. Abate's advise and his plea to the judge, I am still able to drive and keep my employment. The judge even remarked to me that I was lucky to have the picked the counsel that I did, because without him i would have been screwed. I highly recommend James Abate if you are looking for an extremely competent lawyer who will get the most favorable results for your case. Also, he will not try to empty your wallet. I would not consider his fee high at all, especially considering how good he was as my counsel.

  3. Thanks James and staff!

    Posted by Katherine,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Good
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend James Abate.
    • I hired James 6-12 months ago.

    Thanks very much to James and his wonderful office staff! James' office kept me informed of everything as it was happening and quickly answered any questions I had. It was very helpful having James by my side when I went to the courthouse. He was knowledgeable about all of the court proceedings, clarified what was happening in the courtroom, and spoke well on my behalf. Definitely made the entire process less stressful.

  4. Best Domestic Violence Lawyer

    Posted by a Domestic Violence client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend James Abate.
    • I hired James 6-12 months ago.
    • James handled my Domestic Violence matter.

    Mr. Abate just saved me from false accusations of domestic violence. He took the case to trial and showed that I was innocent. A conviction would have ended my career and kept me from my children. His attention and dedication to the case made me feel like he was personally invested in the case. His staff was excellent and would answer all my questions and kept me calm. I am so glad that I called Mr. Abate and so thankful for him vindicating my innocence. He was prepared and uncovered my girlfriend's criminal history.

  5. The best lawyer Ever

    Posted by Jimmy, a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend James Abate.
    • I hired James 1-3 years ago.
    • James handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    James Abate is by far the best lawyer i have ever experienced. Even though there are no promises in this profession he tried his best and worked everything out as expected. I was very relaxed and confident having James as my lawyer and would recommend him to anyone in need of a traffic violation representative.

  6. Amazing Lawyer for all Dui,and Cds charges, etcc...

    Posted by Jodi, a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend James Abate.
    • I hired James 1-3 years ago.
    • James handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I am going to start off by saying this...I would recommend James to anyone in need of this kind of help. He did his homework and went to the scene of of the accident, got expert witnesses for the case. He is very knowledgable and knows his job thouroughly and is very passionate about it. He wants to help his clients and he truly does help!! I would recommend James to anyone in need of a genuine, true, knowledgable attorney and i will constantly thank him for everything he has done!

  7. Traffic Ticket

    Posted by Raymond, a Speeding Ticket client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend James Abate.
    • I hired James 1-3 years ago.
    • James handled my Speeding / Traffic Ticket matter.
    • I have previously worked with 6-10 lawyers.

    Mr Abate quickly and professionally resolved a ticket in a local jurisdiction- including handling an adjournment at my request. We found his legal secretary Megan Flynt to be highly supportive and communicative to us in e-mails, letters, and phone conversations in what was for us unfamiliar territory.

  8. Exceptional

    Posted by Nicholas, a State & Local Law client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend James Abate.
    • I hired James 1-3 years ago.
    • James handled my State, Local And Municipal Law matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    I was nothing but blown away by the high level of professionalism, kindness, and honesty.

  9. Review for Legal Services

    Posted by a Speeding Ticket client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend James Abate.
    • I hired James 1-3 years ago.
    • James handled my Speeding / Traffic Ticket matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    I recently used Mr. Abate to defend me in a traffic violation case, and he was a pleasure to work with. Everyone in his office was knowledgeable and responsive whenever we had questions, and he kept us well informed every step of the way. His knowledge of the law and the court system was a great asset and he successfully argued my case with my best interest at heart. I would highly recommend James if someone needs an attorney.

  10. A very good experience

    Posted by William, a Chapter 13 client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend James Abate.
    • I hired James more than 3 years ago.
    • James handled my Bankruptcy / Chapter 13 matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    very happy with my experience with James, He got to the heart of the matter and explained my options and what he said he could do and the costs and how we would proceed and kept me in the loop all the way.The results exceeded my hopes and he didnt overwelm me with leagalese in explaining what was involved.

732-412-2364