Mark M Cheser’s Reviews

Mark M Cheser

Average Rating

Based on 62 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. Glad I found him!

    Posted by Kevin W., a Car Accident client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Mark Cheser.
    • I hired Mark 1-6 months ago.
    • Mark handled my Car / Auto Accident matter.

    I had multiple violations from an accident. From the second I called Mark, I felt an incredible weight off my shoulders. He put me at ease, and delivered exactly what he promised in court. He was courteous, professional, and definitely proved he is a master of his craft. I highly recommend calling Mark!

  2. Mark is THE man! Hands down.

    Posted by Mazz, a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Mark Cheser.
    • I hired Mark 6-12 months ago.
    • Mark handled my DUI / DWI matter.

    I was facing a serious case and had no clue how to approach it. Im not going to lie, I was scared at first as I was afraid I would suffer the maximum penalties for my Underage DWI, Possession of Marijuana, Possession of a CDS and and speeding case. I knew Mark was the immediate choice for my case as he left me a very knowledgeable and honest answer on avvo. After calling and meeting with him for the first time, Mark really seemed to make me feel more comfortable and better about my case. He really knew what he was talking about and you could tell he has a vast amount of experience in these cases. On top of that, Mark is a really cool guy, we had a interesting sports talk and he really made me enjoy my visit to his office. Mark was always prepared and on time in he court room did a magnificent job during the case. In the end of the day, I had 2 charges dropped and received the minimum 30 day license suspension for my underage dwi. I HIGHLY recommend giving Mark a call, this man is a magic maker.

  3. Got me off the hook!

    Posted by Timothy, a Speeding Ticket client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Good
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Good
    • I recommend Mark Cheser.
    • I hired Mark 6-12 months ago.
    • Mark handled my Speeding / Traffic Ticket matter.

    Right from the moment I first contacted Mark over email, I felt like he was the one for the job. He just gave me that reassurance that he knew what he was doing and had the confidence he could handle my case. It was really what I needed because my interaction with the police officer was a disaster and I was facing 7 points. Over a series of emails, and a couple of phone calls I met Mark in person at the courthouse. I was a but bewildered and didn't know what to expect, but Mark put me at ease right away and said he was going to dismissal of all points. And that is exactly what he did. I was so relieved that I went with my gut feeling instead of my checkbook and chose Mark. What I mean to say is that while Mr. Cheser charges more than some of his competitors, he has the confidence and the rapport with the people in the business (i.e. prosecutor, judge etc.) to work magic. I was really happy with him!

  4. Mr. Cheser works miracles

    Posted by Nino, a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Mark Cheser.
    • I hired Mark 6-12 months ago.
    • Mark handled my Criminal Defense matter.

    I recently caught a possession of cds charge along with a speeding ticket(driving 70mph on a 50). I was facing loss of license and deportation. I hired Mr. Cheser to assist me on being granted a conditional discharge. Somehow, Mr. Cheser got the drug charges dismissed and reduced my point penalty. You will not be disappointed with his services. I highly recommend him.

  5. Excellent traffic attorney

    Posted by a client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Good
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Mark Cheser.
    • I hired Mark 6-12 months ago.

    I made calls to several attorneys when a family member of mine involved in vehicle accident and was issued a moving violation involving personal injury ticket. Every attorney said they can help to get a high fine no point ticket but Mr. Cheser was the only person who said there was no need to hire him to achieve that. He spent a good 15-20 mins on the phone answering my questions while others suggested office visit promptly. I did meet with an attorney who said he would help to get the high fine no point ticket and explained almost nothing. I wanted to consult Mr. Cheser again before deciding on what to do because I felt that he was honest. He said he would charge me consultation fee for the office visit and I agreed. And am I glad that I did. Mr. Cheser didn't promise the outcome but he told us exactly what the options were and what he would try to do. When we decided to hire Mr. Cheser, he reduced the consultation charge from his fee. On court date, he successfully produced the best result with the reduced fine. In my opinion, not only Mr. Cheser is knowledgeable, he is honest and kind despite his tough talking. Mr. Cheser did what no other attorney( I talked to) would even say they could do.

  6. Traffic Violation Tickets

    Posted by Marlene, a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Mark Cheser.
    • I hired Mark 6-12 months ago.
    • Mark handled my DUI / DWI matter.

    Mr. Mark Cheser exceeded my expectation of my overall experience with the situation that my relative was in. My relative had 5 tickets, all branching from a DUI obtained in Irvington. Mr. Cheser and his secretary were so kind and kept us informed on the progress of obtaining the police reports and what all we need to do in order to win this case. Mr. Cheser was able to push the court date and in the end, was able to get rid of ALL of the tickets. We were very happy and extremely satisfied with our experience with Mr. Cheser and his practice. He even gave some advice on some programs to consider while we waited for the court date which can help my relative to control his alcohol intake. We highly recommend him for any legal matters and we will continue to use him for the future.

  7. Great Lawyer, Great Service, Highly Recommended

    Posted by a Speeding Ticket client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Mark Cheser.
    • I hired Mark 6-12 months ago.
    • Mark handled my Speeding / Traffic Ticket matter.

    With a speeding ticket and a careless driving violation, I was in a tough situation. My speed was way over the legal limit and I was facing 7 points on my driver's license, a license suspension, and hefty fines. Mr. Cheser was able to get the speeding ticket dropped and I was left with a careless driving fine, no license suspension, and 2 temporary points.

    Mr. Cheser was very knowledgeable, friendly, and conversational. I recommend him highly.

  8. Best of the best

    Posted by a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Mark Cheser.
    • I hired Mark 6-12 months ago.
    • Mark handled my DUI / DWI matter.

    Mark is the best lawyer that I know of. He is very knowledgable and friendly. He knows exactly what options to be shoot for depending on the case details. When I called him, he listened carefully and told me upfront what the potential consequences could be. Out of all the lawyers I called, my sixth sense told me to go for Mark and it was the best decision I have ever made. I did not know Mark and I found him online by searching on google. After reading the reviews and doing my homework, I decided to call Mark. Mark helped me to have my DWI charge dismissed and I got a careless driving ticket (worth of 2 points) which I cannot complain. Mark proved that I did well on the field sobriety test and the cop did not have enough ground to charge me with DWI on the first place. Mark also was able to find errors on the ALCO TEST procedure. Mark's assistant Susan was also very helpful to notify me about all the updates including upcoming court dates. Please do not get upset with Mark if you cannot get a hold of him. Mark is an extremely busy gentleman but he will show up at the right time. Mark showed up at all my court hearing dates and represented me as a professional lawyer. Mark was honest about the fees that he charged and there was no hidden fees. Mark never made the case in such a way so that he can charge me more money. I definitely appreciate Mark's honestly. Mark is a man of his word and if he said something to you about your case, he will prove it (he never promised anything superficial). Mark talks to the point (so do not feel bad because it implies the point that he is trying to prove) and leaves no room for ambiguity. Mark saved me from the biggest nightmare that I could have had ever experienced and my sincere thanks once again to Mark (if Mark reading this). I truly extend my appreciation to Mark for job well done in my case. If you need help with law, please contact Mark and explain everything honestly so that Mark can help you. I will always be thankful to Mark for the rest of my life. Please help yourself by hiring Mark because you deserve the best of the best. Thanks Mark.

  9. You can't go wrong with Mark Cheser in your corner

    Posted by Bob, a Speeding Ticket client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Mark Cheser.
    • I hired Mark 6-12 months ago.
    • Mark handled my Speeding / Traffic Ticket matter.

    I first became aquainted with Mark Cheser in January of 1990 and have not even consulted another lawyer to this day. He is tops in his field and the results have ALWAYS been exactly what I'd have wanted. Without going into every case he's worked for me (there have been 4 occasions I've needed his help) I can give you a great example from this summer. I had gotten a parking ticket I had no knowledge of and found out by getting pulled over that my license had been suspended. This could have resulted in further suspension , a $750 fine , 3 years of insurance surcharges and points. The result of Marks work and excellent reputation and relationship with the court was a $150 fine , no points , suspension, surcharges.
    Mark has also handled a DWI , criminal mischief and civil matter for me , all with the best results (meaning minimal costs and damage to my record) possible. The civil matter never even went before a judge after Mark talked to the person bringing charges against me. In closing I will state you CANT go wrong with Mark in your corner.

  10. DUI Case Dismissed!

    Posted by a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Mark Cheser.
    • I hired Mark 6-12 months ago.
    • Mark handled my DUI / DWI matter.

    I was pulled over by a trooper on 78 recently in the Union County. After failing the sobriety test, I was arrested for DUI and taken to the police station where I performed the Alcotest(Breathlyzer) . The results came out to be 0.08%. This was my first DUI case and I was very scared and worried. A close friend of mine who is an attorney suggested that I hired a local lawyer who is familiar with the prosecutor and judge in the Union County. After speaking with several lawyers, I decided to hire Mr. Cheser to represent me. We spoke for about 30 mins on the phone and I got the sense that he was honest and experienced. This turned out to be the best decision as he was knowledgeable, realistic and knew the people in the Union County court well.

    Upon seeing the Alcotest results, he was able to detect that the test results contained major flaws. As a result, he was able to convince the prosecutor to throw out the results. Afterwards, we focused on the sobriety results. He recommended hiring an expert witness to review the video tape. The expert witness was able to detect things that were done incorrectly by the trooper.

    In the end, Mr. Cheser was able to get my DUI dismissed and I was left with a careless driving ticket(2 pt) for which I had to pay a fine. I was very grateful for Mr. Cheser's invaluable help.

    I would highly recommend Mr. Cheser for anyone seeking counsel in the area of DUI or other traffic violations.

908-687-6650