John Paul Thygerson’s Reviews

John Paul Thygerson

Average Rating

Based on 25 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. A Well-Respected Lawyer Who Spends Time With You. I'm Grateful For His Help.

    Posted by ISA L,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend John Thygerson.

    Mr. Thygerson was exceptionally helpful in regards to my court case. I was nervous as I've never been to court. He eased my nerves by answering my numerous questions. He was available 24 hours a day for me as well! And importantly he was kind towards me and didn't belittle me or my case. He was very respectful towards me as well. I have alot of respect for this hard-working man. Overall Mr. Thygerson was extremely generous with his time. I'm grateful for his help. A good man!!

    It would be a mistake not to hire Mr. Thygerson, he will undoubtedly work hard for you!

    ISA L

  2. 20 year old warrent

    Posted by eddie,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend John Thygerson.
    • I hired John 6-12 months ago.

    I had a 20 year old warrant that I didn't know about and mr. thygerson took the case resolved it with no penalties' to myself clear me from the court had the charges dropped thank you for everything I will hire mr thygerson again.

  3. fantastic

    Posted by juls, a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend John Thygerson.
    • I hired John 6-12 months ago.
    • John handled my Criminal Defense matter.

    This lawyer was very informative and quick with regards to taking legal action with the case. He changed the court date that worked best for the both of us and told me what exactly I need to bring on the date. Showed up in court for me and nailed a homerun. I was facing a very difficult reckless driving ticket with speeds in the triple digits. I was very nervous and scared but with his knowledge and approach he had no issues getting that taken care of for me. Case well done recommend to anyone facing some serious stuff.

  4. First rate job

    Posted by Pam, a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend John Thygerson.
    • I hired John 1-3 years ago.
    • John handled my Criminal Defense matter.

    John was a reliable resource for our family. He made himself available at all times. He has a multitude of knowledge and uses it to guide you to a smooth resolution. If I needed an attorney, I would call John Thygerson. He understands what you are going through and will be there for you.

  5. Traffic accident defense

    Posted by Ryan,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend John Thygerson.

    John came to me via referral from other attorneys. He represented me with regard to tickets related to a traffic accident with a police officer. John was very up-front on what to expect from the magistrate hearing and trial de novo. When it came time to present during the trial de novo, John was prepared and very experienced in the courtroom with the judge. In the end, we obtained a successful verdict. I would recommend John without hesitation to a friend.

  6. Mr. Thygerson did an awesome job!

    Posted by Katherine, a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend John Thygerson.
    • I hired John 1-3 years ago.
    • John handled my Criminal Defense matter.

    I hired John to represent me after my first attorney was getting nowhere with the prosecutors in convincing them of my innocence. I got the impression that the attorney I first hired did not have a good relationship with the prosecutors, even though he swore to me he did. After hiring John, there was an immediate change in the attitude of the prosecutors and it appeared as though real progress was being made in my case. John was patient and he took the time to interview witnesses which was crucial to my case. The end result: the charges were dropped!!! He did a great job explaining everything to me and always took the time to talk to me, unlike my first lawyer who just wanted me to use a program to get rid of my case and acted as if I was an imposition to him when I questioned his strategy. I will always refer Mr. Thygerson to anyone who needs an attorney in criminal court!

  7. CHARGES DROPPED!!

    Posted by Vinny, a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend John Thygerson.
    • I hired John 1-3 years ago.
    • John handled my DUI / DWI matter.

    Within the first 5 minutes I knew Mr.Thygerson would represent me. His presense is commanding and his knowledge was so impressive I didn't have to meet any other attorney. Throughout the whole process he took charge and kept me well informed. Very detailed and knows the system extremely well. The judge and prosecutor knew him well and there was no doubt a respect for Mr. Thygerson. He will go the extra mile when he has to. I would use My Thygerson over and over again. You won't be disappointed.

  8. Simply the Best

    Posted by Josh, a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend John Thygerson.
    • I hired John 1-3 years ago.
    • John handled my Criminal Defense matter.

    John represented me on multiple occasions over the years. Each time John delivered the results I hoped for. In fact, whenever anyone in my family gets in trouble, he is the only one we turn to for advice and help. He has never let us down. He fights hard, and takes the time to maximize results. I would refer him to anyone in trouble with the law. He can be a pit bull when called for and compassionate as well. He was extremely patient representing my grandfather in a case where the charges were ultimately dropped and my grandfather can be a real pain in the ***. John kept his cool and got the job done. He is simply the best.

  9. John gets results

    Posted by Cliff, a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend John Thygerson.
    • I hired John 1-3 years ago.
    • John handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    After being arrested for suspicion of a DUI and facing months in prison and a felony on my record I turned to John Thygerson and from the moment we first spoke on the phone to the moment all charges were dismissed John was a consummate professional. He understands the anxiety and confusion situations like this can create and does everything in his power to both achieve the best results and make the entire process as frictionless as possible. I recommend John P. Thygerson without hesitation.

  10. An effective attorney

    Posted by Jim, a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend John Thygerson.
    • I hired John 1-3 years ago.
    • John handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Attorny Thygerson has represented me in two cases. Both were serious felonies. I was quite scared about going to jail (I was stupid in doing what I did). Each time John took the time to listen to me (and he read me the riot act after the second arrest) and he came up with a game plan that left me with no record! The entire time he was patient with me and took the time to work with me so that I not only have no criminal record but, because of the counselling he got me to take, I believe I won't be making the mistakes that led to my arrests.

    I have also refered him to my friends and he has gotten them amazing results to. He really is an all around good guy who cares for his clients.

203-810-4195