Joseph E Depaola’s Reviews

Joseph E Depaola

Average Rating

Based on 17 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. Excellent and compassionate attorney

    Posted by Eileen, a Car Accident client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Joseph Depaola.
    • I hired Joseph more than 3 years ago.
    • Joseph handled my Car / Auto Accident matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I have found Joe to be an excellent lawyer. He has handled my husband's and mine legal affairs for years. But this past year my husband was in a serious accident and I turned to Joe when it happened. He helped myself and my husband through what has been a terrible ordeal. Each step of the way he has guided us through what has been an legal and emotional journey with excellent legal advice and emotional support.

  2. Excellent Lawyer!

    Posted by a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Joseph Depaola.
    • I hired Joseph more than 3 years ago.
    • Joseph handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Attorney DePaola was nothing short of exceptional during my divorce and as support since. He kept me fully informed, was understanding and kind, and very supportive of me and my children.
    Perhaps the ONE person who posted a negative report on Attorney DePaola is the one with an issue (why else would someone need 6-10 lawyers in recent times)?
    Highly recommend you calling Attorney DePaola!

  3. Excellent Real Estate Attorney

    Posted by a Real Estate client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Joseph Depaola.
    • I hired Joseph more than 3 years ago.
    • Joseph handled my Real Estate matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I have used Joe to represent me for my home closing and most recently for a mortgage refinance. He is courteous, knowledgeable, honest, and very responsive to phone calls and questions. He is very friendly and personable and goes out of his way to provide the highest quality service possible. I would definitely hire Joe again if I ever need legal council in the future.

  4. Attorney DePaola is the best choice for an attorney and I will use his service for every legal matter.

    Posted by Maureen, a Probate client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Joseph Depaola.
    • I hired Joseph more than 3 years ago.
    • Joseph handled my Probate matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    This past year, my Mother died, and I asked Attorney DePaola to take on the enormous responsibility of closing her estate. He walked me and my family through many difficult situations, always being patient with my inexperience. He guided me from paying for the funeral, to appointing my brother as Executor of the estate. He worked continuously with the court to get the estate through Probate and he guided us on selling her home.

    One week before the closing of the house, my brother, the Executor of the estate, had a stroke, and could not sign his name. Attorney DePaola was influential in obtaining an immediate court date, then, he went to the court to expedite a substitute Executor so we could close on the sale of the house. He handled a very complicated situation with ease.

    He has helped me and our family to get through the most difficult year of our lives. He has kept on top of every legal matter concerning my Mother’s estate.
    More importantly, he e-mails me every day to ask about my brother’s progress after his stroke.

    Attorney DePaola has taken care of every legal matter for me for the past year while I grieved the loss of our Mother and tended to my Brother’s health. Our family appreciates Joe’s hard work and we owe him many thanks.

    Attorney DePaola is the best choice for an attorney and I will use his service for every legal matter.

    Maureen LaBanca

  5. Repeat Customer

    Posted by a Real Estate client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Joseph Depaola.
    • I hired Joseph more than 3 years ago.
    • Joseph handled my Real Estate matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Attorney DePaola was my parents' lawyer for many years. When my husband and I bought our first house, we knew we wanted Attorney DePaola to help us. He did such a great job with our closing, that we went back to him to help us close when we refinanced our home. His staff was extremely helpful answering our many questions; as first time home buyers, we had no idea what we were doing and called often. I highly recommend Attorney DePaola for anyone looking for a new laywer.

  6. I refer all of my clients to Attorney DePaola….

    Posted by Maureen, a Real Estate client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Joseph Depaola.
    • I hired Joseph more than 3 years ago.
    • Joseph handled my Real Estate matter.
    • I have previously worked with more than 10 lawyers.

    I practiced accounting in North Haven for over 15 years. I have used Attorney DePaola’s law practice for all of my legal matters and I have never been disappointed. He has always been professional in his actions, well organized in his work, and conscientious of time sensitive matters.

    Over the years I have referred many of my clients to Attorney DePaola, and they have been satisfied with his practice as well.

    John J. LaBanca, CPA

  7. Estate (no will)

    Posted by Wendy, a Estate Planning client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Joseph Depaola.
    • I hired Joseph more than 3 years ago.
    • Joseph handled my Estate Planning matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    I will share some of my private thoughts with the public about Attorney Joseph DePaola because he is amazing and he so deserves our admiration and gratitude for his service to so many of us. His Administrative Assistant Wendy is amazing as well. Their team has brought me through a time I never anticipated and never could have completed so well without their assistance.

    My ex-husband died suddenly without a will. We had been divorced for 15 years. He had his own in-home business and we have one daughter in college. He was extremely private and no one knew anything regarding his finances or anything else for that matter. His family was out-of-state and estranged and they did not want to participate in the process in any way. I am completely alone with no family, live by myself, and work full time to support my daughter. Usually,someone who is an executor of an estate of someone who dies "intestate" must attain a bond to ensure that funds will not be misappropriated. Because of my less than stellar credit rating for several years, I was denied bond which is very unusual. My stress level was off the charts because there literally was no one else who would care. My ex-husband and I may have been divorced, but he never remarried, I have always loved him, and we became closer as the years went on.

    I am grateful that Attorney DePaola was also my ex-husband's attorney of many years. Attorney DePaola worked tirelessly to advocate for my Executorship and succeeded. Attorney DePaola recommended several amazingly qualified and professional people to help with the process. WITHIN ONE MONTH, The business was sold fairly to a person whose excellent reputation and Attorney DePaola's recommendation encouraged the majority of the clients to transfer their business to him ; estate sales were held and the house was sold at a fair price by the best and most personable real estate agent I have ever met; mysterious corporate accounts were identified and liquified for the beneficiaries who were all the daughters; tax affairs were completed, appropriate accounts were established and bills were paid. I received daily and weekly updates from his office
    regarding what he had done, what I had to do and how to do it, etc. etc.

    I was emotionally vulnerable and depressed as it became clear to me that I had always loved my ex-husband and could not focus on the practical matters. Attorney DePaola lifted the burden as only excellent attorneys are able to do. I cried at the hearings, I cried at the closings. Attorney DePaola and Wendy had done all the work for me. I didn't have to do anything.

    If there are angels here on earth as I believe there to be, Attorney DePaola and his assistant Wendy are those.

  8. Joseph DePaola is first-rate!

    Posted by Joan & Stephen, a Wills client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Joseph Depaola.
    • I hired Joseph more than 3 years ago.
    • Joseph handled my Wills / Living Wills matter.
    • I have previously worked with more than 10 lawyers.

    Attorney Joseph DePaola has been our attorney for twenty five years. We have retained him for house closings and received the professional service we expected. He also processed our will twice over the years. This was a painful issue as one of our children suffered with mental illness along with addictions. His wealth of knowledge, understanding, and kindness regarding our feelings during the process helped us tremendously. We were more than satisfied with the result of his work and his dealing with sensitive issues. Attorney DePaola is top-notch in his profession and as a human being.

  9. Outstanding attorney for many years

    Posted by Dave, a Wills client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Joseph Depaola.
    • I hired Joseph more than 3 years ago.
    • Joseph handled my Wills / Living Wills matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    I have used Atty DePaola for over 20 years and have never had a problem at all. He handled two closings for me and most recently, assisting with changing my will. I opened a small business using Atty Depaola and it couldn't have been easier.

  10. Excellent Lawyer

    Posted by G, a Real Estate client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Joseph Depaola.
    • I hired Joseph more than 3 years ago.
    • Joseph handled my Real Estate matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Worked my case very hard, kept me informed, all in timely manner.
    I have already recommended Attn DePaola to 4 of my friends/relatives and they are equally pleaseed