James C Wing JR’s Reviews

James C Wing JR

Average Rating

Based on 14 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. Wish I had him on my side sooner.

    Posted by a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend James Wing.
    • I hired James 1-6 months ago.
    • James handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Attorney Wing took over my DUI case from a different attorney who was doing nothing to help me. It was my second DUI and the first was still pending. I had been sitting in prison for 3 months, and on his very first appearance for me, he was able to negotiate a plea agreement for just four days to serve, which of course I had already far beyond satisfied. Attorney Wing cared about my circumstance and was considerate to the fact that I had a wife and two children to go home to. He was determined to see me released, especially in light of the short comings of predecessor counsel. Not only is Attorney Wing an excellent and knowledgeable attorney, he legitimately cares about the work he does and the people he is doing it for. This entire ordeal was a nightmare for my family and I, and Attorney Wing helped it come to an end.

  2. Excellent, Knowledgeable and brings out best

    Posted by a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend James Wing.
    • I hired James 6-12 months ago.
    • James handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I hired attorney Wing for my 2nd DUI case. All other attorneys in the state have confirmed that the jail time is a MUST for 2nd DUI. He took his time to study my case, the first offense and did a negotiation with the state to keep me outside the jail and with minimal fine and probation. Hats off to his skills. He is also very patient to listen to all your questions and doubts and very eloquent in his explanations and possible consequences and outcome. He is man whom you can trust and get the best value of your money.

  3. Professional. Affordable. Reliable

    Posted by a Juvenile client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend James Wing.
    • I hired James 1-3 years ago.
    • James handled my Juvenile matter.

    Mr. Wing is a professional at what he does. He handled my case personally and re-arranged his schedule to be at my court date. He comes highly recommended.

  4. James Wing fought for my divorce. but I won ! Thanks to Atty. Wing.

    Posted by a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Good
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend James Wing.
    • I hired James 1-3 years ago.
    • James handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Attorney Wing represented me in my divorce after 28 years of marriage. He worked tirelessly to get the settlement (a lot of assets, alimony configurations etc) to a point where my former and I could agree to sign, thus avoiding Trial. He was particularly astute in recognizing when I was nervous, and was able to to calm me down and answer my most outrageous questions. Divorce is a long process and if you want the best representation for your money,I suggest you call James C Wing, Jr.

  5. Mr. Wing is hard working, dedicated, and patient. Got me (single dad at time) sole custody

    Posted by a Child Custody client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend James Wing.
    • I hired James 1-3 years ago.
    • James handled my Child Custody matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    From the initial consultation Mr. Wing helped me navigate through the legal issues that I needed to confront. My daughter was born from a woman whom I was no longer in a relationship with. Due to the mother's drug abuse my daughter at birth was put into DCF foster care. This was not an easy time emotionally for me, my friends, and my family. Mr. Wing helped me gain visitation and after paternity results came back he helped get sole custody awarded to me. Furthermore he helped me get a visitation schedule in place so my daughter's mother can continue to have a relationship with her. Mr. Wing has been direct when advising me in situations and helped preserve the welfare of my daugher. Mr. Wing gets to the point when I speak with him and this has saved me both time and money. I am someone who has little background knowledge about family courts and Mr. Wing has been there with me every step of the way.

  6. Attorney Wing is the kind of attorney that puts your mind at ease.

    Posted by Jennifer, a Juvenile client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend James Wing.
    • I hired James more than 3 years ago.
    • James handled my Juvenile matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I highly recommend Attorney James Wing, Jr., anyone who finds themselves in need of legal representation. He helped our family with a complicated legal matter involving our son. His experience and knowledge enabled him to clearly communicate the situation to us. He was also very skilled in dealing with the court to obtain the best outcome possible. He insured that our son's interest were protected, and that he was treated fairly by the court.

  7. JAMES WING IS A NIGHTMARE

    Posted by a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Poor
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend James Wing.
    • I hired James 1-3 years ago.
    • James handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    In 7 weeks James Wing went through 10,000 of my divorce retainer and accomplished absolutely nothing. His communication skills are pitiful, does not return phone calls to his office("staffed" by one part time uninformed assistant), his cell phone does not accept messages. He charges fifteen cents for each page of copy(!). time and one half for "after hours" calls and emails, arrives at court without prior meeting or conversation with client and basically, "wings"it. He has a litany of excuses for being uninformed: away for the weekend, had the flu. He indulges in personal criticism of client "too emotional" but is soft on the opposition! Boastful and arrogant, he eats up time with tales of his legal victories and will discuss at length and tedium every case but yours. Hiring James Wing was a bigger mistake than marrying my husband.

    1. James C Wing JR

      James C Wing JR

      Lawyer Comment:

      It is an unfortunate consequence of a large and long standing practice that sometimes we are chosen by and accept a client with whom we are not compatible. Happily, it is rare that one of our clients becomes as dissatisfied as the client who wrote this and therefore it was easy to deduce who it was.

      A divorce case can only be concluded three ways. The case can be withdrawn, the parties can reach an agreement and report their settlement to the court and the parties can try their case and have the court decide the outcome. In this case, we were hired to replace the attorney originally hired to handle the divorce with the expectation that the case was going to be tried and decided by the judge. I stepped in and participated in a Special Masters’ Pretrial days after being engaged, so as not to delay the matter from promptly reaching trial. I do not accept that my level of preparation was substandard.

      I recommended during the intake interview that a deposition be conducted to obtain testimony and commit the adverse party to a single story so there would be no surprises at trial and to demonstrate that litigation is an unfriendly and uncomfortable process. However, the client reversed the authorization for the deposition. This, in my opinion, stifled the best strategy available to promote settlement as an alternative to trial.

      During the 3 months we represented this individual, we frequently received more than 5 contacts per day by telephone or email, sometimes substantially more. We clearly communicated that all contacts are billable events and, as such, consume retainers. We urged the client, in our engagement agreement and subsequent communications to be careful about the expense of too frequent contacts for issues of minor or no importance. These warnings were not heeded. Still, emails received must be read and messages left must be listened to.

      We have a clause in our client/attorney engagement agreement that provides that we may charge at 1.5 times our hourly rate for services provided outside business hours and on weekends. This individual’s communications seemed to intensify at those times, especially on weekends. We advised that if the intrusion on our private time for non-emergency communication continued, we would charge at the increased rate, but the contacts did not stop.

      Regarding returning communications, there are several points. First, we try to respond no later than within 24 hours. Contacts are triaged and important contacts are returned first. On any given day, there might be a trial being presented for another client whose matter had been in preparation for months. These are intensely important to us and sometimes we are slower responding. Other reasons for less than immediate responses are weekends away with family and when I am ill. I know most clients accept that. This former client also says that I am available for lengthy discussions, but not about the client’s case. I never reveal information about other or former clients, but I do use examples from other cases, both ones I have researched and ones I have been involved in, that illustrate ideas I am explaining. I think the examples are useful to the client in reaching an understanding of the law and possible outcomes. These discussions are, therefore, always in the context of the client’s matter.

      In the particular case complained of, settlement could not be reached because the opposing party did not change position during my representation, despite an improved offer from our side. There was nothing more to be done other than to prepare for trial and wait for the assigned date.

      As trial approached, the client was expressing anger and personally attacking my assistant and me and finally engaged another attorney who filed an appearance in lieu of mine.

      Throughout the difficult representation we strove to be patient and respectful.

      Posted over 1 year ago. Flag

  8. Excellent Service, fought hard for my case

    Posted by Heather, a Family client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Good
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend James Wing.
    • I hired James more than 3 years ago.
    • James handled my Family matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    I have used different lawyers throughout the last 7 years regarding my child and her other parent. James was very supportive in my endeavors and fought hard for the safety of my child. I wish that I was still in CT and could use him now as my attorney. He is a great lawyer and I highly reccomend him.

  9. Ethical , Knowledgeable , Responsive , Compassionate

    Posted by Jeffrey, a Lawsuits & Disputes client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    • I recommend James Wing.
    • I hired James 1-3 years ago.
    • James handled my Lawsuits / Disputes matter.
    • I have previously worked with 6-10 lawyers.

    I was referred to Atty. Wiing concerning a legal malpractice suit and was delighted to find him above all compassionate to my situation and responsive to my questions. He reinstilled my faith in the legal profession and my belief in our system of law. I am a former law enforcement agent and have been in contact professionally with hundreds of lawyers and would highly recommend Atty. Wing

  10. Excellent Lawyer- Criminal Court

    Posted by a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend James Wing.
    • I hired James more than 3 years ago.
    • James handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Attorney Wing represented me in a Criminal Case that, as a Young Man, would have subjected me to a bad foothold for future endeavors.

    Attorney Wing worked with the Judiciary and with the Prosecution, and got my case dismissed- an outcome that would not would have happened without his hard work and persistence. His legal advice was spot on, and his follow through yielded results. I suggest Attorney Wing as a Defense Lawyer

Careful preparation maximizes outcomes from negotiation and, if needed, at trial.

860-651-3707