Stephen O Allaire’s Reviews

Stephen O Allaire

Average Rating

Based on 13 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. Title 19 Application

    Posted by Ron,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Good
    • I recommend Stephen Allaire.

    The task the State of Ct puts you through to receive benefits that would make any non-millionaire broke is overwhelming. Mr. Allaire and his staff of clearly informed personnel made this procedure less stressful for myself and my 80 year old mother.

  2. Medicaid Application (approved!)

    Posted by Ray, a Elder Law client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Stephen Allaire.
    • I hired Stephen 1-6 months ago.
    • Stephen handled my Elder Law matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    My mother has Alzheimer's disease, and after caring for her for several years in her home my sister and I realized we could not afford to do so for much longer. After some research, we realized that the only real alternative was to apply for Medicaid long-term care benefits.

    I found Allaire Elder Law on the Web, and based on what I read there my impression was that Stephen Allaire was quite likely our best bet to obtain Medicaid benefits for my mother in the state of CT. After meeting with Mr. Allaire and members of his team, I was certain I'd made the right choice. He and his staff were extremely knowledgeable and understanding, and walked us through the entire process step by step.

    Over the next several weeks the Allaire group assembled and organized the information and documents required for a successful application, communicated with the various state agencies involved in the application process, and and answered every one of our many questions. It's quite an involved procedure, but it was made as painless as possible for us.

    Long story short, we are now approved for Medicaid benefits, my mother has excellent caregivers, and our worry level has dropped dramatically. I feel this is solely due to our retaining Stephen Allaire's firm to handle our application, as I'm quite certain I would not have been able to do it myself.

  3. Comments regarding legal services pertaining to the qualification of Robert Merrill for home care services.

    Posted by Wayne, a Elder Law client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Stephen Allaire.
    • I hired Stephen 1-6 months ago.
    • Stephen handled my Elder Law matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    My dealings with Attny Allaire and especially medicare coordinator Patty Cheyne, have been marked by professionalism, prompt response and most importantly, accurate and knowledgeable information and advise.

  4. Eldercare Guidance - Title XIX Eligibility

    Posted by Joseph, a Elder Law client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Stephen Allaire.
    • I hired Stephen 6-12 months ago.
    • Stephen handled my Elder Law matter.
    • I have previously worked with more than 10 lawyers.

    Atty. Allaire was recommended to me by a friend who had previously engaged his firm to help get a family member eligible for Title XIX. I had found myself in a similar situation as POA for my own family member and originally thought I would be able to accomplish this task on my own. I quickly realized that was never going to happen and that I needed help.

    My particular case was not at all straightforward and Atty. Allaire and his staff got me through the entire process step by step until it's successful conclusion. A few months after the State had granted eligibility and with my file "closed" another issue arose and Atty. Allaire's office stepped right back up and got it resolved. Very grateful for everything.

  5. Outstanding Lawyer and Team

    Posted by Patricia, a Elder Law client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Stephen Allaire.
    • I hired Stephen 1-6 months ago.
    • Stephen handled my Elder Law matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Attorney Allaire and his team changed my Father in Law's life for the better. They provided us with the advice and know-how to plan his long-term care. Attorney Allaire explained all of the different options and helped our family choose the plan that worked for us.

    I highly recommend Attorney Allaire and his team!

  6. Attorney Stephen Allaire Highly Recommended

    Posted by Ann, a Elder Law client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Stephen Allaire.
    • I hired Stephen 1-6 months ago.
    • Stephen handled my Elder Law matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Attorney Allaire is very efficient and extremely knowledgeable in the area of elder law. He explains the law so that it can be understood. He followed up on all of the issues that were needing additional attention. The staff that works with him was in constant contact with me and they were always polite, patient, responsive and informative. Difficult issues were resolved with an ending result that was very beneficial for my elderly father. I would highly recommend Attorney Allaire to anyone who is in need of elder law services.

  7. A move toward excelence

    Posted by Roger, a Estate Planning client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Stephen Allaire.
    • I hired Stephen 6-12 months ago.
    • Stephen handled my Estate Planning matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    I was very pleased with Attorney Allaire and his very qualified support staff. The personal touch given to me by everyone really boosted my confidence as executor of my dad's estate. Their knowledge and understanding of estate planning was a breath of fresh air. The ability to take a complicated subject and make it understandable gave me a can-do attitude.

  8. Trust and

    Posted by Justine, a Elder Law client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Stephen Allaire.
    • I hired Stephen more than 3 years ago.
    • Stephen handled my Elder Law matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    During a very emotional and stressful time in my life Attorney Allaire and his paralegal Darlene Bossi helped me to obtain Medicaid coverage for my husband who is in a nursing home. They answered all if my questions which were many times the same ones. All phone calls were returned promptly. I always felt reassured that they were handling everything for me. Attorney Allaire also made some changes in my trust which worked out to my advantage. I will always be grateful for his work.

  9. Elder Care

    Posted by a Elder Law client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Stephen Allaire.
    • I hired Stephen 1-3 years ago.
    • Stephen handled my Elder Law matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    We turned to Steven when my father became ill and passed suddenly and my mother was in need of long term care. Steven immediately put a plan in place and with his staffs help they guided us through the elder care process. They were always quick to respond to any questions we had and were very knowledgeable and caring. We just couldn’t imagine doing this all on our own, it was money well spent. They helped are family through a very difficult time and we were glad they were there. We have and will continue to recommend Attorney Steve Allaire to family and friends.

  10. My Mom's Elder Care support

    Posted by Richard, a Elder Law client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Stephen Allaire.
    • I hired Stephen more than 3 years ago.
    • Stephen handled my Elder Law matter.
    • I have previously worked with 6-10 lawyers.

    Steve has handled my Mom's elder care for the last 3 years. During that time he was instrumental in completing the required mountain of paper work required for Medicaid.
    His attention to details made the filing manageable and followed thru with any additional paper work asked for.

    Steve helped enable my Mom to get into the Nursing home of her choice by giving our family the understanding we needed to navigate the process. My Mom could not be happier and so is the family.

    Recently we had an issue with my Mom’s bank account and the CT tax dept.
    I contacted Steve needing help understanding the complexities surrounding the steps the court was taking. Steve made calls on my Mom’s behalf to the CT Tax dept. and the Court system to un-ravel the actions we needed to take. His persistence and knowledge broke the log jam and we were able to successfully clear up the issue.

    I recommend Steve Alliare to anyone in need of elder care or estate planning, his knowledge and skills are greatly appreciated by our family.