Back to Matthew’s Profile

Client Review

Matthew has received 8 client reviews

Matt, GOD Bless

Posted by: Bill, a DUI client 19 days ago.

Overall rating
Excellent
Responsive
Excellent
Knowledgeable
Excellent
Kept me informed
Excellent

I recommend Matthew Nichols

I hired Matthew 1-6 months ago.

Matthew handled my DUI / DWI matter.

Matt was the ultimate professional. I would recommend him. He kept me informed on all that was going on at all times. He filled me in on how everything was going to take place, and what my options were at all times. I am not from Maine and not only did he keep me updated on what to expect in Maine, but also what to expect in my home state. He arranged it so I did not have to appear at my first hearing. The bottom line is that wile I pleaded guilty, it was to the lesser charge of driving to endanger and not D.U.I.

A review for Matt Nichols

Posted by: a DUI client 23 days ago.

Overall rating
Excellent
Trustworthy
Excellent
Responsive
Good
Knowledgeable
Excellent
Kept me informed
Good

I recommend Matthew Nichols

I hired Matthew 1-6 months ago.

Matthew handled my DUI / DWI matter.

I would recommend Matt to anyone who is in need of a DUI lawyer. This experience was not easy and Matt helped me through the entire process. Every step he was there to explain what I needed to do and why. Not only was this experience an awful one but it is extremely confusing and Matt was there to explain all steps, options and possible outcomes. Matt was also willing to meet on the weekend to accommodate my work schedule. Not only was Matt great but his inside team, Joanne, was great too. She has worked in the system for years and if Matt was not around, she had the answers to all my questions. She is very knowledgeable and always followed up with me on appointments and forms I needed to send in. I HIGHLY recommend sitting down with Matt for a consultation if you have been pulled over for DUI. You need to be educated and consulted throughout this process and Matt is person you want to talk to and represent you.

Wonderful Review for a Wonderful Lawyer

Posted by: Amanda 3 months ago.

Overall rating
Excellent
Trustworthy
Excellent
Responsive
Good
Knowledgeable
Excellent
Kept me informed
Excellent

I recommend Matthew Nichols

I hired Matthew 6-12 months ago.

I contacted Matthew in order to help me with a case where I was caught shoplifting. He not only charged me a reasonable price, but was quick to make contact with me and let me know what he could do for me. I am in school to be a teacher, and was very concerned about having such a bad choice affect my career. Matt was able to reassure me that such a juvenile choice was not going to stay on my record as far as he was concerned. I was scheduled for court on three separate occasions, and I was fortunate to not have to attend any of the hearings. Matt really took care of me. He was relatively good about answering emails, and was always available to talk on the phone when an appointment was made. He knew exactly what to do! My case was dropped completely, and I couldn't be more lucky to have Matt perform such a task! I would certainly recommend this great lawyer to anyone and owe him a lot of gratitude for what he was able to do for me.

Happy choosing Matthew Nichols to help.

Posted by: a DUI client 3 months ago.

Overall rating
Excellent
Trustworthy
Excellent
Responsive
Excellent
Knowledgeable
Excellent
Kept me informed
Excellent

I recommend Matthew Nichols

I hired Matthew 6-12 months ago.

Matthew handled my DUI / DWI matter.

I went to Mr. Nichols in search of someone that had the most obvious depth in knowledge of DUI cases. I felt as though he was friendly but informative. Although, in my particular case I had nothing much in my favor to get away with my actions, Mr. Nichols was able to get me the best possible outcome and avoid a much harsher punishment to which I am grateful. He has experience and knowledge and is prompt and thorough. He gets results.

I ENTHUSIASTICALLY RECOMMEND ATTORNEY MATTHEW NICHOLS!

Posted by: Vincent, a DUI client 3 months ago.

Overall rating
Excellent
Trustworthy
Excellent
Responsive
Excellent
Knowledgeable
Excellent
Kept me informed
Excellent

I recommend Matthew Nichols

I hired Matthew 1-3 years ago.

Matthew handled my DUI / DWI matter.

I hired Attorney Matthew Nichols about one year ago, after I was arrested and charged with OUI while on vacation with friends and family in Maine. As an out of state resident, I was unfamiliar with the laws and procedures in the state of Maine. I spent a considerable amount of time researching both, and scheduled a number of consultations with local trial attorneys that specialized in criminal defense, specifically representing individuals charged with OUI. I spoke with five attorneys before my initial consultation with Attorney Nichols. From the first time that we spoke and every time thereafter, Attorney Nichols was professional, thoughtful and conveyed a level of expertise that distinguished himself from his peers. He anticipated, and precisely answered all of my questions. Additionally, Attorney Nichols identified and discussed all of the collateral consequences associated with the pending case and any potential outcomes. Most importantly, he was sensitive to my lack of familiarity the with the criminal justice process in the state of Maine, and took time to thoroughly explain, in terms that I could understand, everything that I could expect to encounter moving forward. During this stressful and uncertain time, I took great comfort in the fact that Attorney Nichols was always accessible by both telephone and email, and he encouraged me to contact him with any questions or concerns that arose, regardless of the hour. In addition to accessibility, I appreciated Attorney Nichols’s candor and honesty. At every stage of the process, he explained both the “good and the bad,” leaving no room for surprises. Contrary to comments offered by a previous reviewer, Attorney Nichols never once lectured me or judged the questionable behavior that culminated in my arrest. Instead, he was thoughtful, professional and respectful at all times. Attorney Nichols always arrived to court early and prepared, and his knowledge of the law and ability as a trial attorney was impressive to watch. I noticed that his colleagues, including the state prosecutor and the judge that presided over my case, addressed Attorney Nichols with a level of deference that could only have been earned though many years of ethical and zealous advocacy on behalf of his clients. In fact, I was not surprised at the conclusion of my trial when the judge returned a verdict of NOT GUILTY.

More concerned about his standing then the outcome.

Posted by: a DUI client about 1 year ago.

Overall rating
Poor
Trustworthy
Poor
Responsive
Poor
Knowledgeable
Fair
Kept me informed
Fair

I do not recommend Matthew Nichols

I hired Matthew 1-3 years ago.

Matthew handled my DUI / DWI matter.

I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

Matthew B Nichols has a fair amount of knowledge in Maine oui knowledge but his professionalism is atrocious. He does not care for your personal situation if not to criticize your personal habits where his opinion is not required or grounded. His work with the district attorney was not based on attempting to make a better deal but keeping up his personal relationship with the DA. While I was with him and requesting professional advice he would dismiss my question until he was done dealing with the other lawyers in the immediate vicinity. Even when he was giving his advice he would take time to talk to his fellow lawyers before getting to my questions. As far as the litigation goes, during my hearings he was spending most of the time on his phone instead of being actively involved. He let far too much on record then was relevant. As a lawyer his aptitude was deplorable. As a professional he was egotistical. I would not recommend hiring this lawyer. If you do choose to; do not pay him up front.

Great Attorney

Posted by: a DUI client over 1 year ago.

Overall rating
Excellent
Trustworthy
Excellent
Responsive
Excellent
Knowledgeable
Excellent
Kept me informed
Excellent

I recommend Matthew Nichols

I hired Matthew 1-3 years ago.

Matthew handled my DUI / DWI matter.

I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

I had never been in trouble before my OUI arrest. I went to Matt and he explained the process and ramifications in the initial conversation. He went way over the 1 hour that he does for free and answered all my questions. He is not the type of attorney that will hand hold you, and he is not exactly comforting. He explains what it is, how it is and what needs to be done. I appreciated all of that in him, but some people might want/need a little more emotional support. Even still, any time I had a question I would email him and if it took an hour to get a response that would have been a long time. So he is there for you but he just won't devote a lot of energy to your feelings. Again, I appreciate this in people, so I don't mean it as a slight towards him. I received a copy of everything filed with the court by both parties and at all times I was made aware of the next step. He was always prompt to meetings and was always prepared--to which I think a lot of credit is due to his office assistant as she is amazing. Contrary to the other reviewer, I was never lectured on alcohol use by Matt and he doesn't come across as the lecturing type on such issue. I did loose my license for 90 days as part of the DMV suspension but not for the criminal offense because my case was dismissed. The DMV part of an OUI is a seperate issue from the criminal matter, it also starts very quickly after the arrest, and the scope of the hearing is very limited. Their real concern is the testing procedure of the breathalyzer and not much else matters. The hearing is painless and Matt did all the talking so in reality I spent more time worrying about the hearing than actually attending the hearing. He asked that I attend but I wasn't required to be at the hearing. Overall, Matt is a great attorney, he's friendly, efficient and is a guy you want fighting for you. Just don't expect him to call you up and ask how you're feeling.

God Complex and Drama Queen

Posted by: a DUI client over 2 years ago.

Overall rating
Fair
Trustworthy
Average
Responsive
Fair
Knowledgeable
Average
Kept me informed
Fair

I do not recommend Matthew Nichols

I hired Matthew more than 3 years ago.

Matthew handled my DUI / DWI matter.

I have previously worked with 6-10 lawyers.

Although Matt has a fair amount of experience in DUI law and seems to be respected in Portland, Maine. His demeanor and actions walk right up to the border of unprofessionalism. During my time with him I often think he forgot who was paying whom. His ego was so big he decided that representing me was less important then preaching the gospel of alcoholism. His job as my attorney was to make sure the government proves its case against me according to law and ensure that I am afforded all of the protections the laws and Constitutions of the Federal and State government provide. He's also supposed to make every effort to have me found not guilty of the charges whether I am, or am not guilty of the crime charged. Matt seemed to depart this role frequently to get on his soapbox and preach to me the dangers of alcohol and all but calls me an alcoholic. I think I've been intoxicated two times in my 40+ years and probably out drinking 20. Regardless, his demeanor was often argumentative, he acted like a bully on more then one occasion and his "professional opinion" often bordered on more opinion than professional. In the end I received the mandatory sentencing that has been established by president. Honestly I would have gotten the same results with a public defender. If you get a DUI, OUI or DWI charge, by all means get a lawyer; just don't get this one unless you want a drama and peachiness. I'd rather have one that just gave me the facts without all the hyperboles.