John Scott Logan’s Reviews

John Scott Logan

Average Rating

Based on 11 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. Beware!

    Posted by a Foreclosure client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Poor
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend John Logan.
    • I hired John more than 3 years ago.
    • John handled my Foreclosure matter.

    I met with Scott Logan in Oct of 2010 for 30 minutes or less to discuss an ongoing foreclosure matter. Our meeting consisted of discussions around a mortgage company that frequently did business by being difficult to work with and in our opinion with blatant disregard for the law. Scott told me he would write a letter to see if they respond to our complaints. Scott was told about many things we felt were wrong / illegal/ criminal. Some examples of their actions are as follows, selling the note several times (not illegal) but in that process screwed up title to the property in 3 separate transactions. The first of these mistakes came on the same day we signed the mortgage loan, back in 1998 (easy to track / verify). They contacted me during Bankruptcy (Illegal) 3 different times which is easy to verify by date , number and phone records, in an effort to "work out" a forbearance agreement while at the same time advertising a foreclosure auction of the home in the local news paper(bait and switch, it's illegal) . They neglected to send monthly statements several years in a row. They neglected to post payments, accept payments, they charged fees for everything...... on and on and on. They continued to trash my credit score even though they didn't have clear title, or rightfully own the note to foreclose. Scott accepted a retainer of $300 to write a letter and he wrote a letter. Well, really all he wrote was a paragraph on a sheet of paper. I signed a copy of an agreement to the retainer (standard) and he wrote a note to the mortgage company on record. He sent me a copy of that note / letter. That is all he did for $300.00. I never heard from him again. When I called his office several times he never took my call and finally after pleading with the secretary for some help he took my call. He said "they" didn't respond to my / his letter/note, and there was nothing else he could do for me. He is young inexperienced, rude, and overcharges for services that are less than exceptional. I would not recommend him or his firm. If he took a case that was over his head he should have been man enough to say so and return my money. My only consolation is that I wasn't so desperate enough to give him $3000.00. He was totally ineffective as a lawyer!!

    1. John Scott Logan

      John Scott Logan

      Lawyer Comment:

      Unfortunately, this person is thinking of a different lawyer. I simply don't charge $3,000 for either foreclosure defense or bankruptcy. I might have accepted a $300 retainer, but cannot tell who this person is. I don't offer loan modification assistance outside the bankruptcy court or foreclosure process, so if we didn't go to court, it wasn't me who was working with this person. I am happy to review the matte and if appropriate, refund the retainer, if this anonymous client identifies him or herself

      Posted 2 months ago. Flag

  2. Top notch lawyer, great knowledge of Maine State bankruptcy laws

    Posted by Chris, a Chapter 7 client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend John Logan.
    • I hired John 1-3 years ago.
    • John handled my Bankruptcy / Chapter 7 matter.

    I hired (John) Scott Logan and 2010 to represent me for Chapter 7 bankruptcy. This was very emotional issue; Scott handled this on a professional level. He charged me a flat fee and answered all questions I had for him. Even while on the road traveling, and looking for work. I knew Scott would be there to make sure my case would be successful

    With my bankruptcy filing, my house was in foreclosure; Scott again was there to assist me. Scott was very honest and my outcome and he worked extremely hard for three years. I have seen very many people lose their houses with this very same experience, I can happily say that because of Scott’s assistant I am now making my first trial payment.

    I have often recommended Scott Logan, he is a lawyer and really cares for his clients and truly understands Maine State bankruptcy laws. I can't stress how much I appreciate Scott, my decision to file for bankruptcy was not an easy decision, and one that never want to do again.

    The three years that I went through bankruptcy to having a new mortgage were extremely stressful times. Having Scott on my side meant the difference between losing everything I worked a lifetime to achieve, and being able to start a brand-new life.

    Thank you Scott Logan for all the extremely hard work you have done for me.

  3. Have recommended him many times

    Posted by John, a Chapter 7 client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend John Logan.
    • I hired John 1-3 years ago.
    • John handled my Bankruptcy / Chapter 7 matter.

    John Scott Logan (goes by "Scott") was referred to me by a trusted real estate/business attorney. My initial meeting with Scott lasted an hour and a half, for which I was not charged. Based upon this meeting, I retained Scott for my case.

    The flat fee for representing me and preparing the necessary legal documents was very reasonable. Scott kept me well informed about the legal process, and was very knowledgeable about the different judges and their preferences. They actual hearing that I attended went according to plan, and my case was resolved successfully.

    I have recommended Scott many times and have had positive response from the people that have used his services based upon my recommendation..

  4. Genuine Top Quality Professional

    Posted by a client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend John Logan.

    In the face of significant impending losses, one wants an attorney with a highly developed analytical ability and genuinely empathetic skills to help manage the financial quagmire. We all hope to find someone who is trustworthy, knowledgeable of the pertinent financial laws and able to provide insightful advice with clarity and understanding of our dilemma. Fortunate for us, John Scott Logan practices bankruptcy law. His competency as an attorney, and moreover, his integrity as an individual can clarify and ease the way through various fiscal predicaments. Astute, honest, patient and wise, Scott is able to reduce the legal complexities of fiscal issues to a humanely comprehensible and deliverable level. He is a rare blend of high level intelligence and practical sensitivities.

    Throughout recent experiences with heavy financial debts and potential foreclosure on the family home, Attorney Logan offered clear and persistent advocacy and generated confidence through his patience and responsive communications. Utilizing his wisdom and depth of experience, Scott helped us to manage the entanglements of Chapter 13, a loan modification and other related fiscal matters with acumen. From our vantage point, he is a verifiable quality attorney of bankruptcy who truly cares for his clients.

  5. Wish I Had Consulted With J. Scott Logan Earlier

    Posted by a Bankruptcy client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend John Logan.
    • I hired John 1-3 years ago.
    • John handled my Bankruptcy / Debt matter.

    As I was searching for Scott Logan's phone number I stumbled upon these reviews. Normally I stay away from this medium but feel the need to respond. Scott has helped me tremendously with my business and personal financial affairs. He has spent countless hours personally meeting with me and my wife to ease our fears and come up with a plan for the future. Communication with Scott and his firm have been top notch. I wish I had hired him three years ago instead of the debt consolidation company I used, would have saved thousands. I highly recommend J. Scott Logan.

  6. Great Lawyer

    Posted by Ryan, a Chapter 13 client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend John Logan.
    • I hired John more than 3 years ago.
    • John handled my Bankruptcy / Chapter 13 matter.

    I hired John in 2009 to handle a Chapter 13 case so that I could avoid losing my house. I had a duel mortgage that noone would refinance and the rates kept going up and my pay was staying the same. I DID NOT initially want to file BK, but wanted to try and do debt consolidation because my thought was if I bought something, I wanted to pay it off. Through a few months of discussions by phone, email and in person, he finally convinced me that the only way to "fix" the overall debt problem was to file and take action.

    OK, so that was out of the way, now what. Chapter 7 and lose the house, vehicle but be able to start over soon, or Chapter 13, keep the house and vehicle and pay back as much as possible over 54 months. John explained in detail what every option would result in, and what the pros and cons of each one was. Once we selected a plan, we moved forward, and he was there every step of the way, was at every meeting that was required, and really guided me through the entire process of filing in a way that made me feel very confident in him, and that I was doing the right thing.

    To be honest, I am glad the lawyer can not post customer reviews, because over the next several months as everything was getting rolling, as I took internet classes that were required, went to a quarterly trustee meeting, and just over thought the process, it resulted in countless emails on my part being sent to John asking numerous questions. I have gotten a response each and every time with the answers I needed.

    Throughout the past 4 years, I have also asked for him to file motions on my behalf as part of my case, and they have always been done and I have always gotten what I needed.

    I know this is long and drawn out, but I can not stress enough how much I recommend this lawyer. In 2009, the decision on what to do with my house, debt and overall situation had me extremely stressed out because I did not want to file and take the "easy" way out. Well guess what, there is nothing easy about it, at least Chapter 13. You live within a budget, a pretty tight budget actually and pay towards your creditors over a set amount of months. My plan was a 54 month plan and as I write this I have only 3 1/2 to 4 months to go. The end is in sight, and I can honestly say if it was not for how well John handled all of my questions and concerns at the beginning of this process I never would have filed, and I probably would have lost my house by now, and still been burried in debt.

    I have learned so much these past few years about myself, debt, and how to live a better and healthier life, one without credit cards and vehicle loans, and when I get my discharge towards the end of Decemeber and I get my second lease on financial life, I know who to thank, and that's John.

  7. J. Scott Logan provided great services

    Posted by a Chapter 13 client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend John Logan.
    • I hired John more than 3 years ago.
    • John handled my Bankruptcy / Chapter 13 matter.

    Scott was very reassuring when I would call with questions, and would clearly explain steps in my proceedings. He has an accessible demeanor, and a professional attitude. I would recommend him to others with issues in mortgage negotiation.

  8. informative and helpful

    Posted by a Chapter 13 client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend John Logan.
    • I hired John more than 3 years ago.
    • John handled my Bankruptcy / Chapter 13 matter.

    I found Mr. Logan to be informative and helpful. I had a few options, but most important was keeping my house. I think he did a good job by creating a chapter 13.

  9. Great Lawyer!

    Posted by a Chapter 7 client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend John Logan.
    • John handled my Bankruptcy / Chapter 7 matter.

    We worked with Scott as our lawyer and he made a difficult time in our lives easier to deal with. Scott always kept us informed and returned all phone calls/emails in a very timely manner. The first time we met with Scott, he never rushed us and answered all our questions. We had an exceptionally difficult case and we felt he went out of his way to help us through it and spent the extra time with us that we needed. We were very happy to have him as our lawyer

  10. amazing guy and lawyer

    Posted by Peter J, a Chapter 13 client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend John Logan.
    • I hired John 1-3 years ago.
    • John handled my Bankruptcy / Chapter 13 matter.
    • I have previously worked with more than 10 lawyers.

    He spent 120 hugely important minutes with me teaching me a lot. I love this guy. He is always there for me in a scary time.