Nicholas Howie’s Reviews

Nicholas Howie

Average Rating

Based on 13 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. A real man of his word!

    Posted by a client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Nicholas Howie.

    I had situation where I was in the process of restoring my driver's license, after being suspended for a number of years for a DWI 2nd offense, but got set back when I found out the DMV imposed a 2 year suspension for a breathalyzer refusal that happened like 7 years ago. I had a habitual offender status at the time and didn't decertify myself accordingly when I was supposed to and waited until the last second before going in to restore my license. Because of that mistake, the 2 year suspension started on the day of decertification. I was so upset about this especially when the hearings examiner told me there was absolutely nothing I could do about it and I couldn't appeal the decision.
    I decided to call some of the top DWI attorney's in the state to get some legal advice on whether or not something can be done about this. I had spoke with a hand full of lawyers and they all seemed hesitant, unsure, and didn't really show any confidence in taking on this case. They all said it was a difficult case and couldn't guarantee me the results I wanted and at least one of them wouldn't even take the case. I felt like there was no hope and was ready to accept my fate that is until I received a call back from attorney Nicholas Howie whom I had left a message with earlier. Nick was honest with me from the beginning and very confident he could have the 2 year loss of license revoked. He also claimed he knew the prosecutor and the arresting police officer involved. I couldn't believe what I was hearing and my gut feeling told me he was the one to get me out of this mess and so I hired him.
    To make a long story short, Nick really did end up knowing everyone involved in my case and did exactly what he said he would do and convinced the prosecutor to revoke the 2 year loss of license for the breathalyzer refusal. It was such an exhilarating feeling when Nick called me to give me the news that the suspension was revoked. It felt like a miracle had happened because all of these other lawyers made it seem like it was going to be impossible to have the suspension removed. I never even had to step foot into a courtroom and it was all done behind the scenes. It was all taken care of in just a few weeks and was done at an affordable rate too! I owe Nick my life because of his marvelous work. Life is great right now because of Nick. I honestly don't know how things would of turned out if I never hired him. He's very honest, upfront, and also a man of his word. Simply the best attorney I have ever worked with. I will always refer you and thank you so much from the bottom of my heart Nick.

  2. Great Lawyer

    Posted by EB,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Nicholas Howie.

    Mr howie

    I just wanted to say how much grateful I'm for all the hard work to get my driving license back , after a long year of battle with the state to proof my inocentes to them , so finally we did it and I really appreciate your excellent work .

  3. Miracle worker !

    Posted by April, a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Nicholas Howie.
    • I hired Nicholas 6-12 months ago.
    • Nicholas handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    I had two cases which happened within three months of one another with no prior history. There were 6 charges for the first court date and attorney Howie presented an impeccable strategy, confidence, and respect to all throughout and defended them all and they disappeared with no record!

    If that was not shocking enough, I was then arrested for DWI a couple months later and Atty Howie pleaded in Concord for my license return and after one month of loss of license after refusing a breathalyzer, I received my license back and won of that appeal!

    We then went to court two weeks ago and presented another strategy after I had failed every sobriety test for this DWI and was just told that I have a NOT guilty on this verdict as well !

    A clean record after seven charges!

    To sum up my experience with atty Howie, he is very down-to-earth ,nonjudgmental ,works well with people and is always looking to do better taking his job very seriously yet always with a cool calm demeanor.... I felt very confident with this lawyer!

    A miracle worker as my family would say! Thank you attorney Howie! I will forever refer you!

  4. Great outcome!

    Posted by a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Nicholas Howie.
    • I hired Nicholas 1-3 years ago.
    • Nicholas handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    We hired Attorney Nicholas Howie to represent our underage son in an OUI charge.
    This was our first time dealing with the court system in this capacity, and we soon realized how little we knew about alcohol related offenses and criminal law. The process can be very intimidating and we knew we needed a knowledgeable lawyer to help us. Nick Howie was that lawyer.
    Nick was not only knowledgeable about the law, and any new changes in it, but he was confident, professional and personable as well. We put our trust in him and it paid off.
    Our son was found with a "Not Guilty" verdict, thanks to Nick.
    We would highly recommend Attorney Nicholas Howie.

  5. Nicholas Howie did a great job!!

    Posted by Sean, a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Nicholas Howie.
    • I hired Nicholas 6-12 months ago.
    • Nicholas handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Nick did a great job on my son's case. He had a great rapport with the prosecutor. Overall Nick was great I wold have no reservations about hiring Nick again.

  6. Nick's brilliant strategy paid off!

    Posted by C.H., a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Nicholas Howie.
    • I hired Nicholas 1-3 years ago.
    • Nicholas handled my DUI / DWI matter.

    "I hired Nick Howie to represent me for a serious OUI-related case where charges could have resulted in mandatory jail time and loss of license for a significant period of time. Over an 18-month period, Mr. Howie executed a brilliant strategy that at the end of the day resulted in a small fine and no jail time. Throughout this process, Mr. Howie leveraged all of the players in the process, communicated regularly with me, and evolved the strategy as necessary. Despite facing jail time, I never felt helpless because I had the utmost confidence in Mr. Howie and our strategy at any given time. His instincts as to when to "play nice" or when to "push back" were spot on. His relationships with the District Attorneys office, Probation, and the RMV proved invaluable. I owe my freedom today to Mr. Howie, and give him my highest recommendation".

  7. Thank you!

    Posted by A.B., a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Nicholas Howie.
    • I hired Nicholas 1-3 years ago.
    • Nicholas handled my DUI / DWI matter.

    I was faced with my first DUI charge and was scared, did not know where to turn. I met with several Attorneys and after meeting with Attorney Howie I knew he was my guy. He has a kindred heart and a genuine approach-putting the client first. Even after refusing a breathalyzer test, failing the sobriety tests and having a prior record, Attorney Howie went over and beyond for me while keeping full consideration of my priorities and finances. Attorney Howie is affordable, fierce, and gets the job done -which in my situation did not look promising. I took his advice proceeding to trial, and am blessed to have had him represent me reaching a clean NOT GUILTY verdict.

  8. Professional and hardworking

    Posted by MS, a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Nicholas Howie.
    • I hired Nicholas 1-3 years ago.
    • Nicholas handled my Criminal Defense matter.

    I hired Attorney Nicholas Howie last year for an alcohol related issue for my underage son. Attorney Howie was very professional and courteous to us. He worked with the prosecutor to get the charges dismissed. We were very happy with the outcome! I would highly recommend Attorney Nicholas Howie for any alcohol related or criminal matter.

  9. Competent Attorney

    Posted by Stephen, a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Nicholas Howie.
    • I hired Nicholas 1-3 years ago.
    • Nicholas handled my DUI / DWI matter.

    Attorney Nicholas Howie recently represented me in a New Hampshire court. I am a Massachusetts resident. Nick Howie has an expert knowledge of the laws of BOTH states, My case was a success due to his very competent defense, I would most definitely endorse this lawyer .

  10. Nicholas Howie; a knowledgeable and trustworthy attorney who made a huge difference in my family's life when we most needed him.

    Posted by Rodger, a Domestic Violence client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Nicholas Howie.
    • I hired Nicholas 1-3 years ago.
    • Nicholas handled my Domestic Violence matter.

    Nicholas Howie is recommended to anybody in the U.S. not just in New Hampshire, who is in need of legal help in the areas he practices because this attorney devotes his time and maximizes his effort to make sure his clients are well represented. He is very honest and goes beyond what the average laywer would do for his clients. He is ethical and an amazing person who knows what he does. Even though I had not met with Mr. Howie because I used the NH bar site to choose him, I was surprised at the good work and the constant and consistent manner he communicated with me regarding the case I had contacted him to work on. I was more than happy when everything was set and done. Try him for your legal issues and you will not regret it. I was very happy with him at the end of the case and so did my family.

603-893-8008