Nicholas Howie’s Reviews

Nicholas Howie

Average Rating

Based on 11 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. Miracle worker !

    Posted by April, a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Nicholas Howie.
    • I hired Nicholas 6-12 months ago.
    • Nicholas handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    I had two cases which happened within three months of one another with no prior history. There were 6 charges for the first court date and attorney Howie presented an impeccable strategy, confidence, and respect to all throughout and defended them all and they disappeared with no record!

    If that was not shocking enough, I was then arrested for DWI a couple months later and Atty Howie pleaded in Concord for my license return and after one month of loss of license after refusing a breathalyzer, I received my license back and won of that appeal!

    We then went to court two weeks ago and presented another strategy after I had failed every sobriety test for this DWI and was just told that I have a NOT guilty on this verdict as well !

    A clean record after seven charges!

    To sum up my experience with atty Howie, he is very down-to-earth ,nonjudgmental ,works well with people and is always looking to do better taking his job very seriously yet always with a cool calm demeanor.... I felt very confident with this lawyer!

    A miracle worker as my family would say! Thank you attorney Howie! I will forever refer you!

  2. Great outcome!

    Posted by a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Nicholas Howie.
    • I hired Nicholas 1-3 years ago.
    • Nicholas handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    We hired Attorney Nicholas Howie to represent our underage son in an OUI charge.
    This was our first time dealing with the court system in this capacity, and we soon realized how little we knew about alcohol related offenses and criminal law. The process can be very intimidating and we knew we needed a knowledgeable lawyer to help us. Nick Howie was that lawyer.
    Nick was not only knowledgeable about the law, and any new changes in it, but he was confident, professional and personable as well. We put our trust in him and it paid off.
    Our son was found with a "Not Guilty" verdict, thanks to Nick.
    We would highly recommend Attorney Nicholas Howie.

  3. Nicholas Howie did a great job!!

    Posted by Sean, a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Nicholas Howie.
    • I hired Nicholas 6-12 months ago.
    • Nicholas handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Nick did a great job on my son's case. He had a great rapport with the prosecutor. Overall Nick was great I wold have no reservations about hiring Nick again.

  4. Nick's brilliant strategy paid off!

    Posted by C.H., a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Nicholas Howie.
    • I hired Nicholas 1-3 years ago.
    • Nicholas handled my DUI / DWI matter.

    "I hired Nick Howie to represent me for a serious OUI-related case where charges could have resulted in mandatory jail time and loss of license for a significant period of time. Over an 18-month period, Mr. Howie executed a brilliant strategy that at the end of the day resulted in a small fine and no jail time. Throughout this process, Mr. Howie leveraged all of the players in the process, communicated regularly with me, and evolved the strategy as necessary. Despite facing jail time, I never felt helpless because I had the utmost confidence in Mr. Howie and our strategy at any given time. His instincts as to when to "play nice" or when to "push back" were spot on. His relationships with the District Attorneys office, Probation, and the RMV proved invaluable. I owe my freedom today to Mr. Howie, and give him my highest recommendation".

  5. Thank you!

    Posted by A.B., a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Nicholas Howie.
    • I hired Nicholas 1-3 years ago.
    • Nicholas handled my DUI / DWI matter.

    I was faced with my first DUI charge and was scared, did not know where to turn. I met with several Attorneys and after meeting with Attorney Howie I knew he was my guy. He has a kindred heart and a genuine approach-putting the client first. Even after refusing a breathalyzer test, failing the sobriety tests and having a prior record, Attorney Howie went over and beyond for me while keeping full consideration of my priorities and finances. Attorney Howie is affordable, fierce, and gets the job done -which in my situation did not look promising. I took his advice proceeding to trial, and am blessed to have had him represent me reaching a clean NOT GUILTY verdict.

  6. Professional and hardworking

    Posted by MS, a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Nicholas Howie.
    • I hired Nicholas 1-3 years ago.
    • Nicholas handled my Criminal Defense matter.

    I hired Attorney Nicholas Howie last year for an alcohol related issue for my underage son. Attorney Howie was very professional and courteous to us. He worked with the prosecutor to get the charges dismissed. We were very happy with the outcome! I would highly recommend Attorney Nicholas Howie for any alcohol related or criminal matter.

  7. Competent Attorney

    Posted by Stephen, a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Nicholas Howie.
    • I hired Nicholas 1-3 years ago.
    • Nicholas handled my DUI / DWI matter.

    Attorney Nicholas Howie recently represented me in a New Hampshire court. I am a Massachusetts resident. Nick Howie has an expert knowledge of the laws of BOTH states, My case was a success due to his very competent defense, I would most definitely endorse this lawyer .

  8. Nicholas Howie; a knowledgeable and trustworthy attorney who made a huge difference in my family's life when we most needed him.

    Posted by Rodger, a Domestic Violence client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Nicholas Howie.
    • I hired Nicholas 1-3 years ago.
    • Nicholas handled my Domestic Violence matter.

    Nicholas Howie is recommended to anybody in the U.S. not just in New Hampshire, who is in need of legal help in the areas he practices because this attorney devotes his time and maximizes his effort to make sure his clients are well represented. He is very honest and goes beyond what the average laywer would do for his clients. He is ethical and an amazing person who knows what he does. Even though I had not met with Mr. Howie because I used the NH bar site to choose him, I was surprised at the good work and the constant and consistent manner he communicated with me regarding the case I had contacted him to work on. I was more than happy when everything was set and done. Try him for your legal issues and you will not regret it. I was very happy with him at the end of the case and so did my family.

  9. Trustworthy!

    Posted by Tom, a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Nicholas Howie.
    • I hired Nicholas 1-3 years ago.
    • Nicholas handled my DUI / DWI matter.

    I was actually recommended here by a family member. If you ever have any trouble in Salem, NH. This is definitely the guy you want to go to. He actually seems to care about his cases. He is also very honest with you and gives you possible outcomes about what is going to happen. I actually had my case go all the way to trial but he did a great job all the way to the end and it paid off very well! Definitely a hard working guy!

  10. Nicholas Howie- If you want the TRUTH

    Posted by Conor,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Nicholas Howie.

    I recently worked with Nick and can undoubtedly say he is someone who is honest, knowledgeable, and cares for his clients... I also fired Nick. When I was arrested I was arrogant and boastful that I would walk away scott free, but this most certainly was not the case. When Nick tried to explain this to me I was resentful and blamed a lack of effort on Nicks part for the prosecutions unwillingness to budge. Against Nicks word I decided to proceed with the case and turned to new council. Nick had warned me that if I proceeded with the case, things would likely get worse for me- which they did. Exactly everything Nick had told me would happen, did. Looking back on this humbling experience I see how much of an immature, egotistical young hot shot I really thought I was. Nick is someone who conducts himself with integrity, virtue, and truly cared about not only the outcome of my case, but my future. If your looking for an honest opinion (not just what you want to hear) Nicholas Howie is someone to confide in... I can tell you from experience .

603-893-8008