Donald L. Blaszka Jr.’s Answers

Donald L. Blaszka Jr.

Londonderry Criminal Defense Attorney.

Contributor Level 11
  1. I have a dui from 1997 is there anyway i can keep my licence. by paying fines or doing some time

    Answered 11 months ago.

    1. Jeremy-Evan Alva
    2. Donald L. Blaszka Jr.
    3. Joseph Caulfield
    3 lawyer answers

    You need to hire an experienced NH DWI attorney. The penalties include a mandatory loss of license of 90 days, fine and completion of an alcohol program.

    2 lawyers agreed with this answer

  2. I am 18 can I get a lawyer for myself for shoplifting?

    Answered about 1 year ago.

    1. Donald L. Blaszka Jr.
    2. Anna M. Zimmerman
    3. Theodor Kaplun
    3 lawyer answers

    In New Hampshire, you may be entitled to a court appointed attorney if you are charged with a Class A Misdemeanor (maximum penalty of $2,000 fine plus 24% penalty assessment and or 12 months in jail) or a felony. However, if you are charged with a Class B Misdemeanor (maximum penalty of $1,200 fine plus 24% penalty assessment), you are not entitled to a court appointed attorney. You should contact the court to determine the level of offense that you are facing. You can also find out at...

    2 lawyers agreed with this answer

  3. How long does a shoplifting charge stay on your record? If I was 19 when it happened and am now 39 should it be cleared?

    Answered over 1 year ago.

    1. Ricardo A. St. Hilaire
    2. Donald L. Blaszka Jr.
    2 lawyer answers

    In NH, criminal convictions do not just "clear" off of your criminal record after a certain period of time. You need to take affirmative steps to annul the record of your conviction. You should speak with an experienced NH criminal defense attorney regarding a petition to annul your conviction.

    2 lawyers agreed with this answer

  4. I have a warent in nh for criminal tbteatning with a sentencing hearing coming up if i move to mass will mass extradite me back

    Answered over 1 year ago.

    1. Donald L. Blaszka Jr.
    2. Michael Douglas Shafer
    2 lawyer answers

    If you simply move to Massachusetts, nothing will happen unless leaving New Hampshire or living in New Hampshire was one of your bail conditions. If you fail to appear for your sentencing hearing, the court will issue a bench warrant for your arrest. If NH authorities know where you are living and are willing to extradite you from Massachusetts, then MA authorities can arrest you, hold you and wait to see if NH will obtain a Governor's Warrant for your return to NH. Generally speaking, it...

    2 lawyers agreed with this answer

  5. I was stopped for a platelight that wasent out cop smelled pot i admited to haveing a half a joint and sum crumbs

    Answered over 1 year ago.

    1. Donald L. Blaszka Jr.
    2. Stephen Ross Cohen
    2 lawyer answers

    In New Hampshire, the minimum fine is $350 plus $84 penalty assessment for Possession of a Controlled Drug which is a misdemeanor. It does not matter that it was a small amount in New Hampshire. If you are under the age of 21, you could also face a loss of license of 90 days up to 6 months if you hold a NH driver's license.

    2 lawyers agreed with this answer

  6. Can my grandson get arrested for not appearing in court for road racing? he got a ticket and 30 day suspension already.

    Answered over 1 year ago.

    1. Donald L. Blaszka Jr.
    2. Stephen Ross Cohen
    3. Michael Douglas Shafer
    3 lawyer answers

    In NH, if you hold a probationary license like your grandson and get a moving violation conviction such as road racing, the NH Department of Safety will suspend your license for 20 days if this is his first offense. Your grandson received a fine and 30 day license suspension from the court. However, the 20 days suspension is in addition to the 30 day suspension and is an administrative suspension which is separate from the courts. If he does not turn his license in pursuant to the...

    2 lawyers agreed with this answer

  7. Do you think I need a lawyer or a public defender to help me in my situation?

    Answered over 1 year ago.

    1. Donald L. Blaszka Jr.
    2. Brian M. Doyle
    3. Joshua Sachs
    4. William A. Jones Jr.
    4 lawyer answers

    Based upon the information that you provided about your case, you and your friends should retain attorneys to represent you in your cases. From the information you provided, you are facing a charge of Possession of a Controlled Drug which can be either a Class A Misdemeanor (which has a maximum penalty of 12 months in jail and or $2,000 fine) or Class B Misdemeanor (maximum penalty of $1,200 fine). If you are charged with a Class A Misdemeanor, you would be entitled to a court appointed...

    2 lawyers agreed with this answer

  8. Have a shoplifting charge against me, can you give some advise as I am trying to get this of my record.

    Answered over 1 year ago.

    1. Donald L. Blaszka Jr.
    2. Cassandra Ann Rodriguez
    2 lawyer answers

    In NH, you can file a petition to annul the record of your arrest and conviction for the offense provided that you have completed all of the terms of your sentence (paid fines, etc.) and not committed any new offenses other than minor motor vehicle violations (such as speeding) since that time. In NH, you are an adult at 17 so this is on your adult criminal record. However, as of January 1, 2013, once the petition to annul is granted, the conviction will not be erased from your NH criminal...

    2 lawyers agreed with this answer

  9. Got pulled over on my way home from Loon Mnt & got arrested for having marijuana in my car, am i going to loose my licence?

    Answered over 1 year ago.

    1. Donald L. Blaszka Jr.
    2. Alexander M. Ivakhnenko
    2 lawyer answers

    In NH, Possession of a Controlled Drug in a Motor Vehicle is a misdemeanor carries a mandatory fine of $350 plus 24% penalty assessment and a 60 day loss of license. The Registry in MA will reciprocate that loss of license and suspend your MA driver's license. While you may not want to hire an attorney because of what your friends have gone through, you may want to retain an experienced NH criminal defense attorney due to the potential direct penalties and other collateral consequences....

    2 lawyers agreed with this answer

  10. If I got my probation transferred, and then got arrested in the new state, will I get sent back to the original state?

    Answered about 2 years ago.

    1. Donald L. Blaszka Jr.
    2. Sarah Lynn White
    2 lawyer answers

    Generally, the NH probation officer will contact the probation department in Florida and advise it of your recent arrest. The NH probation officer will most likely provide to Florida a copy of the arrest report and other information about the offense. The NH probation officer does not make a decision regarding your penalty because the probation originates out of Florida. You should contact an attorney to assist you in contacting Florida and resolving this issue.

    2 lawyers agreed with this answer