Gail A Balser’s Reviews

Gail A Balser

Average Rating

Based on 11 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. Bankruptcy

    Posted by a Chapter 11 client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Poor
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Gail Balser.
    • I hired Gail 1-3 years ago.
    • Gail handled my Bankruptcy / Chapter 11 matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Worst experience ever! Basically, here is how it works. She takes your money first. Then you get a timeframe. When that timeframe is up, you get an excuse. Next, we repeat the process until you get mad and demand your money back. After all this time has passed, she says when I already put most of the time into your case so it won't be a full refund. She will offer you 20% of what you gave her. So don't waste your hard earned money. She did not filed a thing for us and we had to do all the work of uploading documents for 6 months. I am a fair person. Give me a full refund and I have no problem erasing this review.

  2. Not good for divorces

    Posted by Mark, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Average
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Gail Balser.
    • I hired Gail 1-3 years ago.
    • Gail handled my Divorce / Separation matter.

    I first contacted Attorney Balser about avoiding a foreclosure, but I was also going through a divorce and she insisted she could help me with that too. I gave her a $10,000 retainer for both. Everything went fine with the foreclosure, but the divorce part was a disaster. She kept telling me she'd filed paperwork even though she wasn't filing it. Months went by, and I began talking to other Attorneys, because I was concerned. Finally, when the papers did get filed I found out they were done wrong and had to be done over from scratch. I switched to a new Attorney, and I was expecting about 6-7K back from her, but she sent me a statement (the only statement I ever got from her) showing I actually owed her money. The statement showed tons of bogus charges. I was going to try to take legal action against her for this, but with my other two legal battles going on, I just didn't have the heart for it. Stay away from this attorney, or at the very least, don't use her for a divorce, and don't pay her too much at a time, or she'll take it.

  3. Stay Away!!

    Posted by a Foreclosure client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Poor
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Gail Balser.
    • I hired Gail 1-3 years ago.
    • Gail handled my Foreclosure matter.

    Ms. Balser contacted me randomly via phone (cold call style) in regards to my home that I fell behind in my payments when I was trying to go for a loan modification. She told me that she worked with my bank all the time which was totally false. I was having a hard time getting through to someone at my bank who knew what they were doing but could not get past the call center. Ms. Balser told me she had direct access to my banks legal department which is why I agreed to hire her. I was told everything I wanted to hear from her and I was duped out of $3000.00. After months of waiting I called my bank and found out she had only made one call to the bank and it was not to the legal department or to anyone in a higher position. They only advice she gave to me was to open up a separate bank account and put money in there so I could show the bank that I had good intentions. This is obvious advice that I already knew. She made it seem that the reason she had not gotten anywhere was my fault. Unbelievable!! I asked her if I could meet with her at her office and she told me not to bother since she did all she could. Yup she had my 3000k so she couldn't be bothered with me. I eventually got a loan modification about six months later because I took over and was persistent. I have to say this was one of the scariest times of my life since I am a single mom with 3 children. I did ask for some of my money back but she is very intimidating and in a round about way made me feel that she would fight me if I didn't drop it. She does not care about her clients. Hiring her and giving her money I could have used for my mortgage is one of my biggest regrets. Please stay away.

  4. truly a saviour

    Posted by Sharon, a Bankruptcy client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Gail Balser.
    • I hired Gail 1-3 years ago.
    • Gail handled my Bankruptcy / Debt matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Gail helped us through our toughest time. She got a huge principle reduction on our loan that we never thought was actually possible. She took phone calls on weekends and late at night. She truly cares about her clients and I've never left her office without a couple laughs. I would reccomend her to anyone needing any legal help. Thank you so much Gail.

  5. Very pleased

    Posted by Stephanie, a Chapter 7 client,
    Overall rating
     Good
    Trustworthy
     Good
    Responsive
     Fair
    Knowledgeable
     Good
    Kept me informed
     Average
    • I recommend Gail Balser.
    • Gail handled my Bankruptcy / Chapter 7 matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    Gail did a good job in explaining all of our options. She was at times hard to get in touch with, but she did everything we needed to have our bankruptcy go smoothly and without any complications! I am glad it is over and would recommend Gail for anyone who is contemplating bankruptcy.

  6. Not worth the time!!

    Posted by George, a Bankruptcy client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Poor
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Gail Balser.
    • I hired Gail more than 3 years ago.
    • Gail handled my Bankruptcy / Debt matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    I met Gail after my real-estate company came into some financial issues. After meeting with her, and she telling me everything I wanted to hear. I retained her law firm with a sizeable deposit. I started receiving letters from banks that needed timely replys, I called,emailed several days and weeks. Finally got in touch with her, said she would file paperwork to stop the bank from taking 10 of my properties, that never happened and I lost them. this woman has no clue, and should not be a lawyer. I will continue to right rewievs until I at least get my money back from her.

  7. Truly a Saviour

    Posted by Lisa johnson, a Credit Repair client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Gail Balser.
    • I hired Gail more than 3 years ago.
    • Gail handled my Credit Repair matter.
    • I have previously worked with 6-10 lawyers.

    I met Gail and her staff at one of the most difficult times of my life. After a lifetime of perfect credit, for a variety of reasons that all converged at once, I was more stressed than I had ever been. I let this go on for almost a year (certain i could fix it if i tried hard enough) before I went to see her. After the first meeting, I felt relief I hadn't felt in ages. She is straightforward and incredibly smart without the least bit of judgement. She laid out a plan for me that made perfect sense, and by systematically following her advice, my life is infinitely better. Her staff is very professional, efficient and kind - and they are very clear about you holding up your responsibilities. Trust in this firm is well rewarded. I would trust Gail with my life - after all she got it back for me.

  8. Great lawyer worth your time and money

    Posted by Neil, a Bankruptcy client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Gail Balser.
    • I hired Gail more than 3 years ago.
    • Gail handled my Bankruptcy / Debt matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    Gail did a wonderful job for me and I would recommend her any time

  9. A True Saviour!

    Posted by Roxanne, a Bankruptcy client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Good
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Gail Balser.
    • I hired Gail more than 3 years ago.
    • Gail handled my Bankruptcy / Debt matter.
    • I have previously worked with more than 10 lawyers.

    With the crash of real estate market,all my assets depreciated, death in my family,house in foreclosure,credit cards maxed,I didn't know where to turn. Then I met my guardian angel. It was this attorney who guided me through my darkest days, help me keep my home for me and my family and clean up my credit. She has given us new hope, encouragement and a chance to move forward leaving this stressful time behind us. Thank you !!

  10. my forclosure angle: i was in a financial hardship.i had lost my job,it went overseas ,got behind on everything.

    Posted by Linda Robinson, a Foreclosure client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Gail Balser.
    • I hired Gail more than 3 years ago.
    • Gail handled my Foreclosure matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    We would have lost our home for sure.iI thank God for stearing me to Gail.Gail help us with a hardship remodification for our mortgage. It was a lot of work for her and us.She was our gladiator who saved our home through her knowledge of the law.She got through to the mortgage company where i couldn't and she repesented us and through her we still have our home.