James Powderly’s Reviews

James Powderly

Average Rating

Based on 11 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. Knowledgeable Advocate

    Posted by a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend James Powderly.
    • I hired James 1-3 years ago.
    • James handled my DUI / DWI matter.

    James provided excellent counsel. He reviewed the facts of the case and communicated all of the available options and explained the pros and cons of each potential outcome. James used his knowledge of the system to expedite the matter. He handled all of the painstaking paperwork and contacted the various parties to move the case through the system. The ability to manage and expedite the matter allowed me to move forward with my life which can be very difficult when facing a large obstacle.

    Overall, James exceeded my expectations and I would retain him in the future due to his professionalism, attention to detail, and diverse skill set (e.g., management, law/court system knowledge, communication, etc.)

  2. Very helpful and hard working

    Posted by a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Good
    Knowledgeable
     Good
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend James Powderly.
    • I hired James 6-12 months ago.
    • James handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    This review is from a criminal matter on Cape Cod. I was lucky enough to find Mr. Powderly after speaking with a couple other lawyers. The other lawyers quoted extremely high prices, and after a few minutes of speaking with them I had a bad feeling. They made promises and I felt they were telling me what I wanted to hear at a very difficult time in my life. Atty. Powderly was very straightforward with me and only told the truth. His quoted price I felt was reasonable for the amount of effort and time he would have to put it. Above all I had a good feeling about him. After the initial hearing did not go in my favor, Mr. Powderly fought hard to get the decision overturned at subsequent hearings. He was always attentive to my questions and phone calls. At the trial he was very prepared and made excellent arguments. The charges were dismissed after before the trial.

  3. Highly recommend Attorney James Powderly

    Posted by a client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend James Powderly.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    We found ourselves in a very awkward situation and as we do not have legal training we were unsure where to turn. We searched and searched for an attorney to assist us. Attorney James Powderly was extremely responsive and immediately offered to meet with us. He very promptly met with us and had detailed discussions. We were astounded by his professional manner. He provided a plan of action to assist us. We followed through with exactly the plan he presented. We are extremely pleased that Attorney James Powderly assisted us with professionalism and timeliness that was very helpful. We highly recommend Attorney James Powderly.

  4. Superb attorney!

    Posted by Mark, a Speeding Ticket client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend James Powderly.
    • I hired James more than 3 years ago.
    • James handled my Speeding / Traffic Ticket matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    I was arrested in RI for Driving Under Suspension (Statute #31-11 18.1) and Speeding (Statute #31-14 2A). Facing mandatory jail time, and also loss of my Work Permit (see below) I retained Atty. Powderly to defend me.
    The extenuating circumstances were that I was under suspension in CT, and had applied for a Work Permit from DMV, allowing me to still drive for my job. About a week BEFORE getting pulled over, I'd been told byt CT DMV that the permit was in the system, and was being processed. Unfortunately, the person that I spoke to gave me bad information, and I found out after the fact I needed to re-apply and send another fee in, which I did. About 10 days AFTER getting these charges, I did receive the special Work Permit. However the judge had no sympathy, and said that there was no way that she could reduce or dismiss the charges.
    Atty. Powderly then went to bat for me with the State Prosecuter, and also the Police Prosecuter. After going back and forth with them, he was able to get both charges dismissed, and I was sentenced to 60 Hrs. of community service, along with paying a fine to MADD.

    He has helped me greatly to get my life back on track, and will be forever grateful for his expertise and services! I cannot recommend Atty. Powderly strongly enough!

    Regards,
    Mark

  5. Absolutely the right guy for the job

    Posted by Dave, a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend James Powderly.
    • I hired James more than 3 years ago.
    • James handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    I just want everyone out there to know my experience. James helped me out immensly. I got into trouble in foster, just over the limit. James sat down with me and explained what he could do. He explained he couldn't do miracles, but was confident that he could help. Long story short, I still can drive and go to work. This was exactly I was looking for. This man is worth at least talking to. The only other thing I find important to mention is his character. I asked James why he choose to be this type of lawyer. He said it's because good people make some mistakes, and that's what this field involves. Thanks again James

  6. awesome lawyer who gets the job done !

    Posted by Joey, a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend James Powderly.
    • I hired James more than 3 years ago.
    • James handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    I First met Attourney Powderly under horrible circumstances when i was charged for a Dui and wreckless operation .. my breathalyzer was .15 , I Knew i was in trouble it was my first offense and a situation i thought id never find myself in but after meeting with Mr. Powderly i had a sigh of relief knowing i would be in Good hands. He forced my case to trial and the DA backed down! I cant begin to thank him enough knowing what hes done for me. Nothing ever made it to my record , and the whole case was eventually Dimissed! I Would without thinking twice recommend attourney James powderly to anyone who finds themselves in a rut like i found myself that day.

  7. Review of Attorney James Powderly

    Posted by Andy, a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend James Powderly.
    • I hired James more than 3 years ago.
    • James handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    My initial meeting with Attorney Powderly was not under the best of circumstances as I had recently been charged with some very serious felony offenses and to put it honestly was scared and frightened as to what my future would hold. I was in a professional field and had made an terrible lapse in judgment that resulted in my detainment for charges of which Driving Under the Influence was the least of my worries. I was facing the stark realization that I could have given away my entire professional career due to one bad evening. I remember not being able to sleep at night because I didn't really know what would become of these serious criminal allegations. The day I met James he told me quite honestly that I was in a lot of hot water but he would fight for me as he would for any friend or member of his family. We outlined a strategy to accomplish the main goal of seeking his counsel, which was to salvage my professional reputation and career. James worked with me for countless hours battling with prosecutors and orchestrating a marvelous defensive strategy which in the end resulted in the outright dismissal of all felony charges against my name as well as numerous misdemeanors including the charge of driving under the influence. When I look back on that night I realize that my judgment was clearly clouded and without the steadfast defense of James, I may well have ruined my entire career. Also of note should be the work James did following the resolution of my criminal charges. Within a year James had the remaining charges expunged completely from my criminal record and it was if the entire experience had never happened. I cannot thank Attorney Powderly enough for his efforts and was more than willing to write this testimonial almost 3 full years after my transgressions.

  8. DUI 1st time offender, BAC of .15 or over

    Posted by a client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend James Powderly.

    When I got arrested for a DUI, I was a 1st time offender with a breathalyzer result of .157. Attorney Powderly was able to beat the DUI and thanks to him it won't appear on my record. I would highly recommend Attorney Powderly.

  9. Professional, highly skilled communicator and extremely knowledgeable.

    Posted by a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend James Powderly.
    • I hired James more than 3 years ago.
    • James handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    I had been stopped and charged with DUI and a chemical refusal 1st offense.
    I did not have any record, nor had I ever been arrested. I refused the test because I am not from Rhode Island and did not know the penalty for refusal of same. I am a professional individual with a family and I knew after reading the law in Rhode Island about the refusal of the test I was in for a battle.
    Once I returned home I knew I had to find an attorney in Rhode Island that could help me. I searched the web and found James Powderly. James spoke with me that morning, took the information, emailed me paperwork and began that day to represent me. After meeting with James I felt confident he was the attorney to represent me. My outcome for my first offense was a manageable one and I am very grateful to James for allowing me that.

  10. Great Lawyer

    Posted by a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend James Powderly.
    • I hired James more than 3 years ago.
    • James handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    This past August I found myself facing a DUI and refusal charge. Not aware of the consequences for refusal, I put myself in a bad situation. I searched the web and came upon James Powderly's website. The information on his site was greatly informative and that information told me how the law works....I was screwed...
    I'm an IT professional and the thoughts of losing my license and my job were devastating! I commute 50 miles one way, how was that going to happen if I lose my license!!!
    James Powderly's site provides phone number with a free no obligation consultation.... I called right then and there.... James replied to my call within a couple of hours....this was on a Sunday! As I discussed my situation, James was very informative to the process and the scope of the offense...I must admit, talking with him and understanding what I was in for at least put my mind at easy...
    I hired James Powderly to represent me as my lawyer and the ball started rolling immediately. With the number of court dates consequent with DUI and refusal, James and his team of attorneys were there every step of the way, explaining what was going to happen, what they were going to do, and what the expected outcome would be. The team of James Powderly really put my mind at ease and made the impact of this ordeal minimal.
    The outcome of this ordeal was great! James and his team saved my job and kept my record clean...
    If you get in the situation I was in, I recommend James Powderly! I have been recommending him to all my friends in the event they face the same offense!