Steven Edward Zlochiver’s Reviews

Steven Edward Zlochiver

Average Rating

Based on 8 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. Principled, responsive, knowledgable

    Posted by a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Steven Zlochiver.
    • I hired Steven 6-12 months ago.
    • Steven handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I rarely write online reviews, but i think it is critical in this instance, firstly, because I used Avvo in assisting with my legal selection and consumers need this data. So, I will be as honest as I can.

    Attorney Zlochiver is principled. I found his service to be based upon fairness and seeking the best outcome within the limits of the law, and done with an un-excitable, stable spirit. This sometimes was a sticking point for us. My opponent was aggressive and angry, and I wanted more energy; wisely, Attorney Zlochiver did not return all of the flaming brands I requested of him. In the end, for better or worse, he tempered my anger and frustration with my case.

    Attorney Zlochiver is responsive. He was always reachable by email and phone. Reasonable response times were always met.

    In summary, if you are seeking retribution and revenge, I don't think you'll find satisfaction here. I occasionally felt as though we could have been more aggressive--going on the offensive vs. a defensive posture, but Steve knew it would have been a futile, mis-use of my fee and he was careful about fee utilization.

  2. Very understanding & competent family lawyer. Highly recommended.

    Posted by Edmond, a Family client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Steven Zlochiver.
    • I hired Steven 6-12 months ago.
    • Steven handled my Family matter.

    In searching for a family lawyer, I had three criteria:

    1) A competent lawyer who is familiar with the presiding judge. It is important that the lawyer knows what the judge looks for in a case both in the court room and the filed documentation. He was able to advise of the proper strategy to get the best case scenario without having the situation spiral into a more contentious case.

    2) An objective lawyer who has enough court-room experience to be realistic in assessing possible outcomes. Rather than simply being hopeful, he suggested contingencies for the most plausible decisions that the judge may make during the hearing.

    3) An understanding lawyer who would work with my limited budget & time. Mr. Zlochiver took on my case knowing of my financial situation and worked into the late evening on new documentation in order to bolster my case the following morning.

    Steven Zlochiver certainly does not comes to mind when you think of the typical ambulance-chasing lawyer. Not a shark. Not a clock watcher. Rather, someone you definitely want in your corner who is willing to relate to your circumstances.

  3. If you have a brain in your head..hire this man

    Posted by Laurie, a Family client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Steven Zlochiver.
    • I hired Steven 1-3 years ago.
    • Steven handled my Family matter.

    This is the most compassionate kind non judgemental attorney. He helped me because no one would. He knew i was given a bad deal and he saved me. And a toddler. I can't give this man enough kudos. He's so kind. and let me tell you. i will have the questions he had drilled into my head to my grave. He's tha concerned with getting it right. He cares. And thats rare. I have a family full of attorneys who do care but I'd go to him first. He saved my son and myself. Battle is not over but his job is and he won. Recommend him? I think its foolish to go to anyone else. He helped me when no one else cared. HE didnt like what happened to me so he fixed it. At least i think that was the reason. Dont lie....be honest because he doesnt judge. He's a great great lawyer. And a great human who cares about people.

  4. Excellent!

    Posted by GG, a Domestic Violence client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Steven Zlochiver.
    • I hired Steven 1-3 years ago.
    • Steven handled my Domestic Violence matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    Steve helped me through one of the most difficult times of my life. It was hard to breathe let alone think clearly. He was a very organizing presence, helping me find the words I needed to express in court to effectively get the results I’d hoped for. One year later, he went above and beyond, knowing I would be heading back to court, he called and offered guidance and that again helped me get the results I’d hoped for. Steve is thoughtful, professional and effective. I recommend him highly.

  5. Diligent, honest and experienced...

    Posted by a Family client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Steven Zlochiver.
    • I hired Steven more than 3 years ago.
    • Steven handled my Family matter.
    • I have previously worked with 6-10 lawyers.

    I am really grateful to have had the opportunity to work with Steve Zlochiver through my truly unusual and complex child custody matter. Several years ago, I reached out to him in very difficult and trying times as a new parent who had recently left a domestic situation with a young and health challenged child. When Steve could not work with me directly as his own client, he led me to the best and most powerful resources he could. Throughout time, Steve’s personal commitment to his career and the lives he knew he could touch became more and more apparent to me as we kept in touch to share all of the milestones of my atypical situation.

    When the time came that I was re-stabilized and ready to no longer try and fight for myself, I was determined to have Steve formally work with me. I have not met all the family lawyers in Massachusetts, but certainly interviewed quite a few. Given the time I was fortunate enough to have getting to know Steve’s professional style, it feels to me that I hired the most honest, positive, and knowledgeable family attorney in the area. The weight came off my shoulders instantly, and things got taken care of – the right way and with my child’s best interests first and foremost at all times. Thank you Steve.

  6. Got the job done right using his knowledge of the Court System

    Posted by Karen, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Steven Zlochiver.
    • I hired Steven more than 3 years ago.
    • Steven handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    I hired Attorney Steve for help with post divorce motions that my prior counsel left open. He was insightful. He knew the right questions to ask. This put me at ease right away. When you go through such turmoil, especially with kids, it was good to have someone who knew which issues were truly important to ensure a good future for me and the kids. You don't know what you don't know. Steve knew and focused on those. He kept me up to date at all times. He returned my calls within a day and was responsive. He had a genuine interest in the outcome. I wasn't just another client. Also, he watches the bottom line (bill) which I really appreciated.

  7. Highly recommended

    Posted by Brian, a Alimony client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Steven Zlochiver.
    • I hired Steven more than 3 years ago.
    • Steven handled my Alimony matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    I engaged Steve in 2009 to represent me in handling a Request for Modification to a Massachusetts Divorce Judgement. I had been laid off from my job, with severance, and was able to collect unemployment. My ex-wife would not negotiate with me directly and felt that I should be able to use my retirement savings to continue to pay her the full amount of alimony originally specified.
    Steve researched case law and found some directly relevant to my situation. As our hearing date approached negotiation between attorneys did take place. Steve was very proactive in contacting opposing counsel about every issue that arose and following up in a timely manner to resolve all issues that needed to be addressed.
    I was able to thoroughly discuss all aspects of law and strategy with Steve, carefully reviewing every detail of every stage of the agreement as the work progressed. The final agreement was exactly as we had discussed.
    Since then, Steve has been instrumental in consulting on and researching an issue combining divorce law and real estate law related to the disposition of property. He was able to review the relevant real estate documents to ensure they addressed the requirements of the Divorce Judgement and then reviewed them with a real estate attorney.
    I would gladly hire Steve again and recommend him highly.

  8. A great attorney to have on your side, please read comments

    Posted by Edward, a Family client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Steven Zlochiver.
    • I hired Steven more than 3 years ago.
    • Steven handled my Family matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    I feel that privacy is important, but I sincerely feel that I need to explain why I am currently writing a review for the following attorney.
    Back in 2006, I had separated from my child's mother, and at one point in time, a court order unjustly prevented me from seeing my daughter. I decided to seek advice from Attorney Zlochiver and, largely because of that, I was able to get the case thrown out of court.
    Of-course the problems did not stop there. A year later and with no money to pay for a retainer, Attorney Zlochiver, provided me with several affordable and valuable consultations.
    I have my little girl in my life. We both look forward to our weekends together. And over the years I have managed to gain the respect of my ex and she has managed to understand my rights as a father. I sincerely owe it to Steve Z.

Call for a free consultation and to discuss our favorable fees for representation

617-431-1201