Back to Mala’s Profile

Client Review

Mala has received 6 client reviews

I can only echo what other reviews have said: Mala is an outstanding lawyer and person.

Posted by: Yocheved 9 months ago.

Overall rating
Excellent
Trustworthy
Excellent
Responsive
Excellent
Knowledgeable
Excellent
Kept me informed
Excellent

I recommend Mala Rafik

I hired Mala more than 3 years ago.

All of the other reviews posted here rightly sing Mala's praises, and I will do the same. It is actually hard to find the right words - the adequate words to describe this wonderful human being. Mala is such a savvy, and brilliant attorney, and she makes it all look so simple. And with a large caseload of complex cases, she still finds time to communicate, respond to questions and just know what needs to be done. This is not an easy field of law to practice in, and despite what many might be saying about attorneys, their big salaries, whatever - this is not the case here. My disability case has gone on for over 4 years, with many bumps in the road, with the insurer throwing curve balls at every opportunity. Again, Mala just "knows" how these guys operate, and how to navigate things despite their often sick, invasive, unprofessional and ruthless tactics. Throughout the process, Mala has always been 10 steps ahead in the process. It is hard enough dealing with chronic illness that will more than likely plague me for the rest of my life; so when you are told that you are perfectly fine and able to work by the insurer, it can be devastating in many ways. Mala understands this, and she understands how difficult it has been for me to accept that my working life has changed. Mala is so incredibly gracious, patient and kind. I feel extremely grateful to have found her.

I agree with all the other 5 star reviews - she's great

Posted by: a Insurance client over 1 year ago.

Overall rating
Excellent
Trustworthy
Excellent
Responsive
Excellent
Knowledgeable
Excellent
Kept me informed
Excellent

I recommend Mala Rafik

I hired Mala 1-3 years ago.

Mala handled my Insurance matter.

I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

Mala is my lawyer and buffer between me and the private disability insurer. Someone who helped me get SSDI warned me to find a lawyer because it wasn't a case of "if" the private insurer withdrew my benefits but *when*. That's when I thankfully found Mala to handle my case. They've done some very honesty-challenged things to try to say I'm not sick, but she knows how to deal with them. She keeps them honest and it's wonderful knowing she's got my back. She is all the wonderful things the other 5-star reviewers so eloquently said. She 'gets' it. She knows her stuff. She's great to have in your corner!

Brilliant

Posted by: Tom, a Employee Benefits client over 1 year ago.

Overall rating
Excellent
Trustworthy
Excellent
Responsive
Excellent
Knowledgeable
Excellent
Kept me informed
Excellent

I recommend Mala Rafik

I hired Mala more than 3 years ago.

Mala handled my Employee Benefits matter.

I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

Attorney Mala Rafik is a caring, compassionate and thoughtful disability advocate who is also a brilliant attorney, deftly navigating through the maze of obstacles my case presented her with. Whether dealing with the Social Security Administration, lawyers for the Insurance Company or Doctor’s and their staff’s, Attorney Rafik was outstanding. All while keeping me informed professionally, and calming me personally. I will be forever grateful for what Mala did for me and my family and very much recommend her.

Outstanding Attorney!

Posted by: a client almost 2 years ago.

Overall rating
Excellent
Trustworthy
Excellent
Responsive
Excellent
Knowledgeable
Excellent
Kept me informed
Excellent

I recommend Mala Rafik

I hired Mala 1-3 years ago.

I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

For someone who had always identified myself by my career, the thought of not being able to work was terrifying. After speaking with two other ERISA attorneys, I knew Mala Rafik was the right choice for me within minutes of our first conference call. As the Managing Partner at Rosenfeld, Rafik & Sullivan, P.C., it was perfectly clear that she was more than qualified to handle my case. Mala was also thoughtful and considerate which was so essential when the world I knew was blowing up around me. Mala and her firm handled my Short-Term Disability (STD), Long-Term Disability (LTD) and Social Security Disability (SSDI) claims. They guided me through every step, explained complicated policies in a digestible manner and thought of things that I would never would’ve crossed my mind. They took care of everything which left me time to focus on my health. I was also working with an employment attorney at the same time and the experiences were night and day. I always felt that my bills were fair with Rosenfeld, Rafik & Sullivan which wasn’t the case with the other firm. I also never felt I was being charged for every minute with Mala. There were many times she would just pick up the phone to ask how a doctor’s appointment went. She has such compassion for her clients which I have found to be very rare in the legal field. I honestly would’ve never made it through the most frightening and stressful period of my life without Rosenfeld, Rafik & Sullivan, P.C. I was fortunate enough to have my STD, LTD and SSDI approved. When I think about where I am today, I hold a special place in my heart for Mala and would recommend her 1,000,000 times over.

One of the finest lawyers I've ever met

Posted by: Wick, a Insurance client almost 2 years ago.

Overall rating
Excellent
Trustworthy
Excellent
Responsive
Excellent
Knowledgeable
Excellent
Kept me informed
Excellent

I recommend Mala Rafik

I hired Mala more than 3 years ago.

Mala handled my Insurance matter.

I have previously worked with more than 10 lawyers.

My wife and I retained Mala after my wife's claim for disability benefits was denied. At the time it was the most difficult period in our lives. Diagnosed with a progressive neurological disease, my wife, the primary breadwinner for our family, and I were forced to confront one catrostraphic loss after another - physical, emotional and financial. It was a devasting and deeply depressing time. I remember our first call to Mala. She was kind and reassuring without overpromising. It was clear from that first phone call that Mala knew the law, knew the insurance company, knew the process and that she would do all that she could to help us. And she did. It was a long, difficult, at times even frightening process. How could we survive without the disability benefits, benefits due under a policy we had paid for? Why did we have to prove what was so obvious? How would we prove it without causing more harm to my wife who was disabled but didn't want to admit it or to show it? Why was the insurance company denying our claim on the opinion of nurses who had never seen my wife? There was so much to do. So many t's to cross and i's to dot. Mala was there for us every step of the way. How she kept track of it all I'll never know. She was always on top of things; always polite to people who had to be reminded like me and my wife's many doctors and their assistants. Mala knew what was at stake of course. She would have known in any case but I sent her so many anquished emails sometimes in the middle of the night that she had no choice but to know only she didn't just "know," Mala "felt" for us. I knew because she replied to every one of my emails a great many of which had nothing to do with the technical substance of the case but everything to do with what my wife and I were going through as her illness progressed. As a lawyer myself (that is why I have dealt with more than ten lawyers) who is considerably older than Mala and who has worked with some of the finest lawyers in New England, I know what good lawyering; is how much time, effort, persistence, organization and resilience it takes to handle many important cases at the same time. Mala is among the finest lawyers I've ever met. I don't know how she does all that she does. The "why of it" must be a deep commitment to helping people who are twice vulnerable, once because of disability and again because of having a conflict with an insurance company which holds the key to a family's fuure. Her motivation can't be "big bucks." Her bills were certainly reasonable. I've seen a fair number of lawyer bills. Sometimes it's all too clear that the billable hour is behind some of the entries, but not with Mala. In personal injury work there is the possibility of windfalls large and small. But not in the kind of work Mala does. She is one of those people who, day in and day out, (and, too often in my opinion night in and night out) does her best to make life better for others. She can't help everyone. She can't win every case. No one can. But she wants to and she trys to. I don't know how she manages to cope with the pressure. In the end - after a long, draining process - the insurance company, having put us through its obstacle course to satisfy its requirements of proof of what my wife and I lived with all day every day - accepted our claim. It took years for a final resolution and still there are periodic reviews to deal with. I am deeply grateful to Mala for her tireless efforts on our behalf. I was relieved as much for her sake as I was for ours that the outcome of our case was good. Mala is an extraordinary, selfless, kind, amazing woman and is one of the finest lawyers I have ever met.

Exceptional attorney in all respects!

Posted by: a Employment client almost 2 years ago.

Overall rating
Excellent
Trustworthy
Excellent
Responsive
Excellent
Knowledgeable
Excellent
Kept me informed
Excellent

I recommend Mala Rafik

I hired Mala 1-3 years ago.

Mala handled my Employment / Labor matter.

I have previously worked with more than 10 lawyers.

Mala represented me in a complex, hotly contested and emotionally charged long term disability case against a large insurance company. I am a lawyer myself (control freak with unreasonable expectations), and I loathed the thought of relinquishing control of my claim and future to another attorney. Mala exceeded every expectation and I cannot express how grateful I am to have found her. She was exceptionally knowledgeable about my ERISA claim and obtained a fabulous result that has allowed me to regain my life and alleviate the finances stress my family suffered for years after I became ill. More importantly, she was extremely compassionate, responsive and diligent at every stage of my case. I know from many years of my own legal career that it is rare to find an attorney who cares so much about her clients, and she was patient with me in explaining everything and advising me accordingly. She did exactly what she promised in a timely manner, and held my hand more often than I'd like to admit. She is a true professional who is dedicated, passionate, and sensitive to what her clients are going through, so I never felt alone in this process. It was difficult enough battling my health issues, and hiring Mala allowed me to take a breather from the legal aspect of my case and focus on taking care of myself and my family during this very difficult time. I also believe that her impeccable reputation and credibility in this industry, including with opposing counsel, carried a lot of weight in resolving my case on very favorable terms. I would hire again in a heart beat without hesitation, and would highly recommend her to anyone.