Donald Lloyd Pitman’s Reviews

Donald Lloyd Pitman

Average Rating

Based on 10 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. I have my life back

    Posted by LINDA, a Child Custody client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Donald Pitman.
    • I hired Donald 1-3 years ago.
    • Donald handled my Child Custody matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Don Pitman was refered to me on a short notice when my ex-husband ,of many years, tried to gain custody of my 10 year old son, and tried to keep me from being able to move back to the place where I lived prior to moving to Ma.(where my ex lives). Don took my phone call immediately, and squeezed me in for an initial consult later that day. We only had a week to prepare for our initial court date, and he was right there by my side the whole time. In fact, Don was sick with a terrible cold, but he put that aside, and calmed me down all day long- we were in court the entire day.

    When a trial date ws set after our initial hearing, Don kept me abreast of everything going on, and prepared me for what to expect. He also directed me in how to stay focused on the most important thing, my son, and being able to move back to another state with him. He made me realize that all of the other issues, although they were big issues, did not matter-just the facts. Don has a way of doing this in a manner that is calming, and made me feel at ease knowing he was there for me. My case seemed easy to me initially, but it turned out to be a nightmare, due to the court system, and my ex-husbands unwillingness to reach any agreement. Don stood by me ; and in the end had to totally think outside of the box in order to get a decision made on my case.
    I truely feel that I owe way more than I could ever pay Don in dollars;he has allowed me to get my life back and my son to be able to finally have stability again. Without Don's excellent service, I feel I easily could have lost my case. I would highly recommend Don Pitman to anyone who needs a family law attorney. He is Kind, witty, knows the law, and has a level of humanity that I belive you rarely see in a lawyer. Thank you Don for everything- you went above and beyond, and I will forever be grateful for everything.

  2. Above and beyond what I could of hoped for

    Posted by Brian R. C., a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Donald Pitman.
    • I hired Donald 1-3 years ago.
    • Donald handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    I had been going through a terrible time with my ex-wife. She was not working with me in any way and I was no further along in getting divorced than the day it was decided. From the first meeting with Don his guidance and experience turned a painfully drawn out torment to a near painless ordeal. Don took the time to understand the situation and all aspects of my aggravation attempting to take the needed steps to get divorced.

    Don did everything and more than I could of hoped for. He stayed in contact through the entire process keeping me informed of any paperwork sent to her, attempts at communication and the status of the Divorce proceeding. He made himself available through several methods and was always responsive.

    Without hesitation I would and do recommend him to anyone who needs legal assistance. I am happily divorced and feel without him I would likely still be fighting an up hill battle.

  3. Divorce client

    Posted by a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Poor
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Donald Pitman.
    • I hired Donald more than 3 years ago.
    • Donald handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Don is not an attorney you can trust. He never got back to me on issues or questions I raised during my lengthy separation. He never did discovery in my case and led me to believe it had been done until it was too late to be completed prior to the court date. He couldn't decide if I should go to court or conciliation and then booked conciliation for me against my wishes. What is most disturbing about him is that he had put my child in an unsafe situation with my ex and I now need to follow up to get the issue resolved.

  4. excellent attornie

    Posted by Karen, a Child Support client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Donald Pitman.
    • I hired Donald 1-3 years ago.
    • Donald handled my Child Support matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I was very pleased with Don Pitmans service. I could not have gone to court without him. In the future,Don will be the only attorney I will ever use.

  5. A Life...and a Future

    Posted by Brett, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Donald Pitman.
    • I hired Donald more than 3 years ago.
    • Donald handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Don simply put - is the best lawyer - I've have ever had the honor of working with.
    Don is at the top of his game and knows divorce law like the back of his hand.
    He is confident, competant, has impeccable character, reputation, integrity, AND
    is a humanitarian to boot.

    I can't believe I'm writing adjectives like humanitarian and lawyer in the same sentence...however, with Don it really is so very true.

    "Super lawyer" doesn't even scratch the surface.

    My life as I knew it was over, Don was there - cool as a cucumber, patient and understood everything that I was going through. He gave me time - when I needed it. Gave me options and council when I needed it. When it was decision time - we made them together and in logical and informed ways. We got a plan together, modified it as needed and came out with something I never thought…I'd ever have..."A Life and a Future".

    You hear about good lawyers - well I got a GREAT ONE and he saw me through the roughest time in my life.

    If you need a lawyer that knows exactly what the courts demand, is an expert on divorce-law, property division, real-estate, title issues and can give you wise council and guidence in dealing with the creditor aftermath of a single income senario…

    If you need a lawyer that can help you avoid common and not so common pitfalls, and knows definitively how to protect you from both the short and long-term ramifications of divorce…

    If you need a lawyer that understands divorce not just from the law perspective, but is sensitive to the divorce process as it applies to you and those you love…

    If your spouse just went out and got the biggest baddest lawyer on the block…
    You get Don…and then let them bring it!

    If you need a lawyer that can help protect you from the choices and actions of others… - then look no further - I'm serious...look no further.

    Many people just give up - and I can understand why - it's an overwhelming process - riddled with a thousand pitfalls that are all counter-intuitive and will most definitely lead you (if on your own) to utter ruin.

    Don made it seem like child's play- I had a very very complicated divorce.
    Don kept me from making rash, foolish and emotional decisions.
    He helped me play a forced "long game" no matter how volatile the situation became…
    and when it counted MOST - Don delievered!!!

    Don not only aided me in my divorce, he preserved my future.
    Don wasn't "just" my attorney - he was truly a close-confidant and friend.
    Words - won't ever do it.

    My sincerest gratitude,
    Thanks Don :)

  6. Unqualified Endorsment for an Unparelled Attorney

    Posted by Tim, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Donald Pitman.
    • Donald handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    I been with Don for six years through a tough divorce/ custody issue, and I remember jokingly asking him after a real tough day just how can he keeping doing what he does and stay sane, to say nothing about maintaining his generally cheerful and upbeat demeanor. With time, I came to the conclusion he just believes strongly in what he does because it helps families try to stay as much a family as they can for the benefit of everyone involved. He just "gets" it. I've never known him to be anything but understanding to the needs of everyone, and to realize what the big picture, despite all the errant emotion of the people caught up in the moment, needs to be. He once said to me, that no matter how awful things were at the moment in question, my sons needed my ex and I to figure out a way to co-exist and co-parent for quite some time. It wasn't about blame, or adding notches to his professional "belt", it was always about doing what was right. He may have fought for me, but he really fought for what was best for my two boys, and he did so with decency, dignity, respect, and just down-right compassion. I would say without reservation, if you need a lawyer because you find yourself in the awful situation that I was in when I first met him, hire Don, and listen to him, and have faith that, though the process takes its own sweet time to work its way through, he will get you were you need to be. And along the way, you will (hopefully) learn to enjoy his sense of humour and arcane knowledge of eighties era comedy movies. He's a good guy who just happens to be a lawyer as well.

  7. A lawyer who my children refer to as their hero

    Posted by a Child Custody client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Donald Pitman.
    • I hired Donald more than 3 years ago.
    • Donald handled my Child Custody matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Don has been handling a difficult custody/visitation case for me for a while now. He has been the only attorney who successfully got the courts to hear the voice of my children. As a result, my children are free of emotionally painful situations and there is a remarkable change in their emotional and physical well-being. He remains my legal counsel and I wouldn't work with anyone else!

  8. Find another attorney

    Posted by a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Poor
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Donald Pitman.
    • I hired Donald more than 3 years ago.
    • Donald handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Find another attorney. Mr. Pitman handled not only my divorce poorly but my friends. He was ultimately released from the firm he was working for for mishandling several cases. The firm he formerly worked for had to refund half my retainer for falsified billings and overstated charged.

    Client beware!!!!!! I ultimately went to court and filed the paperwork for as a pro-se and was awarded child support and custody on my own!! Something he told me I could never do! Be cautious do your homework!

  9. Highly recommended

    Posted by a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Donald Pitman.
    • I hired Donald more than 3 years ago.
    • Donald handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    He helped make the best of what could have been a painful and confusing process.

  10. A Family Law Attorney who keeps the family needs first

    Posted by a Child Custody client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Donald Pitman.
    • I hired Donald more than 3 years ago.
    • Donald handled my Child Custody matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    I have been struggling through the court system for 13 years with a difficult child custody and visitation case. Don is by far the first attorney I have had (and the only one I will ever hire again) with whom I finally feel 100% confident. Don has a tremendous grasp of the law and the court system. But more importantly to me, he understands that he is there to help protect innocence children. I know that I have an attorney who puts their needs first. He is always honest with me about the reality of what is possible in court, and he carries out his work professionally and with compassion. Traits that are sometimes not synomous with the word "lawyer". I highly recommend him to anyway who is looking for that attorney that goes beyond the family law, and grasps the FAMILY part of that phrase. With him representing me in court, I can finally sleep at night knowing my children are in the best hands possible.

We're ready to help. Contact us today.

978-462-0243