Back to Stephen’s Profile

Client Review

Stephen has received 20 client reviews

Great attorney for family law, divorce, and child custody issues.

Posted by: Hilary, a Family client 5 months ago.

Overall rating
Excellent
Trustworthy
Excellent
Responsive
Excellent
Knowledgeable
Excellent
Kept me informed
Excellent

I recommend Stephen McDonough

I hired Stephen 6-12 months ago.

Stephen handled my Family matter.

Stephen McDonough has been my family law attorney for many issues relative to my past divorce. He is wonderful to work with, talk to, and he continuously puts my mind at ease when we have had to go to court. He's worth entrusting your legal needs with. I would gladly recommend him to others and use him again when necessary.

Norfolk, Medfield, Westwood Divorce and Family Law Attorney's

Posted by: Mark, a Child Custody client 5 months ago.

Overall rating
Excellent
Trustworthy
Excellent
Responsive
Excellent
Knowledgeable
Excellent
Kept me informed
Excellent

I recommend Stephen McDonough

I hired Stephen 1-6 months ago.

Stephen handled my Child Custody matter.

If you need a Norfolk/Medfield/Westwood divorce/ family law lawyer, I highly recommend attorney and mediator Stephen McDonough at Next Phase Legal LLC in Medfield, MA. I have used Stephen McDonough as my attorney on multiple occasions, starting with my divorce and later for post-divorce parenting and child support issues. Stephen is well-prepared and gets favorable results. He is always prepared and does a great job on the customer service side by keeping me advised about my case and returning calls and emails promptly. If I need a Norfolk/Medfield/Westwood divorce/family law attorney in the future, my first call will be to Stephen at Next Phase Legal.

Highly Recommend The Divorce Collaborative LLC - Shrewsbury Dad

Posted by: Peter, a Divorce client over 1 year ago.

Overall rating
Excellent
Trustworthy
Excellent
Responsive
Excellent
Knowledgeable
Excellent
Kept me informed
Excellent

I recommend Stephen McDonough

I hired Stephen 1-3 years ago.

Stephen handled my Divorce / Separation matter.

I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

A divorce is never pretty or fun but the good folks at the Divorce Collaborative helped make the process less confusing and as painless as possible. I worked with Steve as my attorney while involved in divorce mediation in Worcester County. Steve was extremely helpful by answering all of my questions and coaching me between the mediation sessions. His knowledge of the financial issues and ideas on bargaining helped me negotiate a fair settlement - for me and my children. Since Steve is also an experienced mediator, he did not try and upset the mediation process, but was supportive and understanding. Steve, along with others at the firm, were always quick to respond to my emails or telephone calls and were very accommodating around my busy schedule. I highly recommend him and The Divorce Collaborative LLC.

Divorce/Mediation

Posted by: Cate, a Mediation client over 1 year ago.

Overall rating
Excellent
Trustworthy
Excellent
Responsive
Excellent
Knowledgeable
Excellent
Kept me informed
Excellent

I recommend Stephen McDonough

I hired Stephen 1-3 years ago.

Stephen handled my Mediation matter.

I have previously worked with no lawyers.

I had a very good experience with Stephen McDonough. He was personable and put me at ease right away. He seemed very experienced and knowledgable and was able to answer most, if not all of my questions. He was very patient with my husband and me, as we hit quite a few bumps along the way. Cost wise, the mediation process was much less expensive than a contested divorce. I think my husband and I were both satisfied with the process and the final agreement. I would highly recommend Stephen and his staff and the mediation process as well.

Review for Stephen McDonough

Posted by: Hilary, a Child Custody client almost 2 years ago.

Overall rating
Excellent
Trustworthy
Excellent
Responsive
Excellent
Knowledgeable
Excellent
Kept me informed
Excellent

I recommend Stephen McDonough

I hired Stephen 1-3 years ago.

Stephen handled my Child Custody matter.

I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

Having to go through family court for custodial issues is hard enough on it's own; having Stephen McDonough by my side has made navigation through this process less stressful. Stephen is incredibly knowledgeable in the system and the procedures, and represents his client well both in the court room and outside of the court room. Throughout my interactions with him he's been very professional, personal and attentively listened to communication. He and his firm have represented me in several court proceedings over the past two years and I would have no reservations about continuing with his services for family court. I would recommend his services to anyone who is looking for top quality representation.

Disappointed

Posted by: a Divorce client almost 2 years ago.

Overall rating
Poor
Trustworthy
Average
Responsive
Fair
Knowledgeable
Average
Kept me informed
Fair

I do not recommend Stephen McDonough

I hired Stephen more than 3 years ago.

Stephen handled my Divorce / Separation matter.

I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

My exhusband and I worked with Steve for months trying to mediate our divorce. Although we had agreed to a flat fee, ultimately we paid much, much more and ended up unsatisfied (on both sides.) After months of getting no where in our negotiations, we both hired different attorneys to represent us and were able to come to a timely agreement without going to court. Both my ex and I were disappointed with the mediation experience with Steve.

Be Aware

Posted by: Stephanie, a Divorce client almost 2 years ago.

Overall rating
Poor
Trustworthy
Fair
Responsive
Fair
Knowledgeable
Poor
Kept me informed
Fair

I do not recommend Stephen McDonough

I hired Stephen more than 3 years ago.

Stephen handled my Divorce / Separation matter.

I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

Retained this attorney for divorce and paid a flat rate fee which may not be legal in the state of Massachusetts. After repeated requests to file a motion for sole occupancy of the marital home, I had an emergency situation which required the filing of a restraining order. I replaced him with a different attorney and ended up with a $7,000 bill despite never going to court on my behalf. His lack of experience resulted in a personally difficult situation for both me and my children. I would recommend shopping around for an attorney as I should have before retaining anyone.

Less stressful than I ever would have imagined

Posted by: Bill, a Divorce client about 2 years ago.

Overall rating
Excellent
Trustworthy
Excellent
Responsive
Excellent
Knowledgeable
Excellent
Kept me informed
Excellent

I recommend Stephen McDonough

I hired Stephen 1-3 years ago.

Stephen handled my Divorce / Separation matter.

I have previously worked with no lawyers.

I went into our first meeting not knowing what to expect and right away Steve made me feel at ease and comfortable. He did an excellent job of explaining the entire process and brought up many things that I had not yet thought about. I left our first meeting feeling that we (my ex-wife and I) made the correct choice in hiring Steve.

Divorce

Posted by: a Divorce client over 2 years ago.

Overall rating
Excellent
Trustworthy
Excellent
Responsive
Good
Knowledgeable
Excellent
Kept me informed
Excellent

I recommend Stephen McDonough

I hired Stephen 1-3 years ago.

Stephen handled my Divorce / Separation matter.

I have previously worked with no lawyers.

Steve was very professional and thorough and was able to help us reach a mutual agreement, he was a very good fit for my ex husband and for me too and I would highly recommend him.

I highly recommend Steve for mediation services.

Posted by: Lisa, a Divorce client over 2 years ago.

Overall rating
Excellent
Trustworthy
Excellent
Responsive
Good
Knowledgeable
Excellent
Kept me informed
Excellent

I recommend Stephen McDonough

I hired Stephen more than 3 years ago.

Stephen handled my Divorce / Separation matter.

I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

Steve did a great job guiding us through the mediation process and keeping both parties focused on the important issues.