Oona Kingston’s Reviews

Oona Kingston

Average Rating

Based on 8 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. One on the most respectable and honest people I have ever met, Oona Kingston.

    Posted by Meghan Porter, a Child Custody client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Oona Kingston.
    • I hired Oona more than 3 years ago.
    • Oona handled my Child Custody matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    I thought Oona was wonderful. She kept me posted and up to date on my case. She always took the time to hear my thoughts and counted in my opinion. I would reccommend her to anyone.

  2. Excellent Divorce Lawyer

    Posted by a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Oona Kingston.
    • I hired Oona more than 3 years ago.
    • Oona handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    In my first interview with Oona Kingston she provided a clear and accurate assessment of the potential options for divorce settlement and the likely outcome of the settlement. In an arena in which many lawyers seem to thrive on creating confusion and anxiety, Oona was a calm voice of reason and worked diligently to get a fair settlement as efficiently as possible. Oona was more than a match for the big-city, high-priced lawyers on the other side and my legal costs were a fraction of those of my ex-spouse. I highly recommend her services.

  3. Top Notch

    Posted by a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Oona Kingston.
    • I hired Oona more than 3 years ago.
    • Oona handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    During the duration of my divorce I struggled with the sadness of it as well as feelings of being so alone. While my ex had already moved on...I was still trying to process it all...how do I go from here...how do I make ends meet....my only identity was wrapped around my husband...how do I start over? I felt so completely alone with two kids and a house to worry about. Needless to say I felt overwhelmed by the divorce process and the decisions that needed to be made. Oona has the ability to take the entire picture and break it out into what is important and not important. She can simplify the decisions based on what needed to be addressed at that time and what could wait or what didn't need to be addressed at all. Although she is sympathatic to your situation, she has the ability to keep emotions out of the decision making process. I felt this allowed me the confidence to make good, fair, clear decisions based on her advise even while I was an absolute mess. She was honest with me about what was worth fighting for and what was a waist of time. She understands the process and is confident in her abilities and this shows. I had such low self esteem at this point and really felt as though I would never recover and yet, Oona had a away of making me have just enough confidence to at least stand up for myself and my kids. Although my divorce was at the time heartbreaking to me, somehow with Oona's help I stood up for myself. I feel to this day that this was the best thing I have ever done!

  4. Awesome Divorce Attorney

    Posted by a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Oona Kingston.
    • I hired Oona more than 3 years ago.
    • Oona handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Although it was sad experience going through a divorce, Oona represented me very well. She is very intelligent and very knowledgable in family law. She was very sympathetic to the situation and always made sure to tell me she wouldn't do anything that I didn't want. She was always willing to listen and give her thoughts on the negotiation process. Oona was also very personable. Her retainer fee is a little higher than most but she is well worth the money. I would highly recommend her.

  5. Extremely satisfied, formerly frustrated single mother

    Posted by a Family client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Oona Kingston.
    • I hired Oona more than 3 years ago.
    • Oona handled my Family matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    I went to Oona with great frustration over my issues with my sons father. We were never married and realized after several attempts to make it work that it just was not going to. My sons father was very difficult to deal with during this seperation and visitation discussion process. He frequently did not understand the court system and why he was unable to have/do certain things within the system, even though he felt they were his rights. I have a very generous visitation package that was worked out to cater to my sons fathers' work schedule. If we had a traditional schedule of every other weekend my son would have never seen his father. Oona as well as school teachers were not excited about the schedule I was willing to offer. However as her client, she argued my points as requested to my sons father and helped me see where the law would allow me to go as the primary card holder within this situation. I have full legal, full physical custody of my son. Our first time in court I was very nervous. My fears were instantly gone as soon as I was able to see Oona in action, fighting for my parental rights. In the end my sons father saw our side and agreed to his very generous visitation schedule. I was very happy with my outcome and my working relationship with Oona.
    Approximately 2 years later I needed to contract Oona's services again. This time as I had met my future husband who lived 30 minutes away in another state. I thought this case was near impossible. Oona did not, we put forward our request for approval to move out of the state. We did have to do some negotiating with my sons father and at that time a GAL (gaurdian ad litem) was put in place to make the best decision possibe for my son. I was very pleased with the process and mine and my sons fathers' attorneys choice for the GAL. I felt the process was very fair. Oona was wonderful at keeping me in the loop at all times and because I had used her once before I was not nervous at all during this proceeding.
    I truly felt more at ease with her style or process to find a solution. We were not in court all of the time waisting my retainer on pointless arguments, rather we would have a 4 way meeting between my sons father and his attorney and myself and my attorney after the two attorneys had spoken to lay out the format for the meeting in regards to everything that was on the table and what would not be on the table for agreement or disagreement.
    Overall it did cost some money. However I have recommended Oona to several people who have used her services and have also been just as happy as I have been. Every attorney is going to cost some money, I felt I better used the best available to get what I needed accomplished. I truly felt that that was what I had done.
    Since the above listed time, I am now dealing with an out of state issue with my sons father and a contempt claim filed based on jurisdiction. I was able to speak with Oona who helped me clarify several points in our agreement. She really backs up her work.

  6. Oona

    Posted by a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Good
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Oona Kingston.
    • I hired Oona more than 3 years ago.
    • Oona handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Oona was terrific. She kept to the business at hand and did not waste any unecesary time. She knew her stuff. Oona was ready to take the bull by the horns so to speak and wasn't about to take any bs. She was all business.

  7. Review of Oona Kingston

    Posted by a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Oona Kingston.
    • I hired Oona more than 3 years ago.
    • Oona handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    I utlized Atty Kingston's professional services to obtain a divorce. She was extremely knowledgable and sensitive to my needs. She was responsive to me in every way imaginable and I would seek her advice in the future for any legal matters.

  8. Oona Kingston

    Posted by a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Oona Kingston.
    • I hired Oona more than 3 years ago.
    • Oona handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    Oona is overall an amazing attorney. I feel she is completely trustworthy and I feel I can speak to her about any matter pertaining to my case. Her responsiveness via email or telephone is phenomenally quick and she works very hard to make you feel taken care of.
    She is extremely knowledgeable in her profession and her intelligence regarding every question I have is comforting and detailed.
    Oona is always keeping me informed regarding what the next step is and what the process is so I do not feel lost or anxious.
    Oona is truly a wonderful attorney who cares about her clients and works extremely hard. I would recommend her to anyone because my experience working with her has been amazing emotionally and professionally. Fantastic!