Oran Kaufman’s Reviews

Oran Kaufman

Average Rating

Based on 13 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. Very Positive Experience

    Posted by Donald, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Oran Kaufman.
    • I hired Oran 6-12 months ago.
    • Oran handled my Divorce / Separation matter.

    Oran is a very warm, intelligent and intuitive mediator. This kind of experience is never pleasant, but he made it comfortable and easy to get through. I would recommend him in a heartbeat to anyone who is going through a similar experience. I felt like I understood the parameters of what was happening every step of the way, and felt totally prepared for the last meeting before the judge.

  2. Excellent Divorce/Child Custody Attorney

    Posted by Chris, a Child Custody client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Oran Kaufman.
    • I hired Oran more than 3 years ago.
    • Oran handled my Child Custody matter.

    If you need good, sound legal counsel, Oran is the attorney for you. His mediation skills are excellent and he will work you and the other parties involved to create a solution.

    He navigated me through a very stressful child custody case. His advice on how the process worked and likely actions of the other parties and responses from the Court was spot-on. I do not think I would have kept my sanity during the worst year of my life without the calm guidance of this man. Oran has my greatest respect for how he helped me with my legal needs.

  3. Friendly, Efficient and Even-handed

    Posted by Sarah, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Oran Kaufman.
    • Oran handled my Divorce / Separation matter.

    We went to Oran for a mostly amicable divorce and we both went away liking him very much. He made us both feel comfortable and respected and helped us to settle any disputes quickly and professionally. He was warm and friendly without being too chatty (which I really appreciated since it kept our cost down!) He was patient when we needed time to get our financials in, informative about the court process, and obviously knew his way around the system. I have recommended him to a few couples and I will continue to do so. Thank you Oran!

  4. Oran Rocks!

    Posted by Bob, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Oran Kaufman.
    • I hired Oran 1-3 years ago.
    • Oran handled my Divorce / Separation matter.

    When my soon to be "X" and I visited the courthouse to set our court date, the clerk asked us who was our mediator. We replied Oran Kaufman and she blurted out “Oh, he is excellent”. As she flipped through the paperwork Oran had prepped for us to fill out, she just nodded and nodded.

    Our Judge was smiling and friendly (that I truly did not expect) and Oran had given us very specific instructions on how to present ourselves appropriately. Bottom line, the actual divorce proceedings were very easy and anti-climactic.

    Negotiating a divorce sucks. No way around it. But Oran is adept at finding the middle ground and keeping the conversation alive even when one or both parties freak out. I think he was a Guru in a past life. I couldn’t recommend him more highly.

  5. Oran made a difficult situation, easier to handle

    Posted by a Mediation client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Oran Kaufman.
    • I hired Oran 1-3 years ago.
    • Oran handled my Mediation matter.

    My ex and I really had a simple separation, we were civil at the time so it was very cut and dry – even still, Oran walked us through the entire process step by step and made sure we were both fully aware of all of our legal options. I truly believe even if we had a situation that was more complex he would have just as great about it. Thanks to him, the process was quick and within 24 hours of submitting our paperwork to the court, we had a court date.

  6. Excellent work and very professional. Very pleased.

    Posted by a Mediation client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Oran Kaufman.
    • I hired Oran 1-3 years ago.
    • Oran handled my Mediation matter.

    Very professional. Guides you through the process well and knows what is required to prepare for court. Entire transition went very smoothly. The papers passed through court without a hitch.

  7. A good option for those who want to mediate and have a shot at getting the upper hand on their spouse

    Posted by Jeff, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Fair
    Trustworthy
     Fair
    Responsive
     Fair
    Knowledgeable
     Fair
    Kept me informed
     Average
    • I do not recommend Oran Kaufman.
    • I hired Oran more than 3 years ago.
    • Oran handled my Divorce / Separation matter.

    Atty Kaufman handled my divorce "mediation" in the mid nineties, and if I could go back, I would probably go with the standard lawyer solution. Atty Kaufman will go along with whatever agreement can be reached, and is not particularly concerned about how fair that agreement might be for each party. If you tend to be trusting and generous, get a lawyer or get taken for a ride.

  8. Captain US Merchant Marine

    Posted by David, a Mediation client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Oran Kaufman.
    • I hired Oran 1-3 years ago.
    • Oran handled my Mediation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 6-10 lawyers.

    The best review for any attorney is one who cares for his clients foremost. Mr. Kaufman is such an attorney. My wife and I went to him to mediate our divorce and through his kindness and perception, we are now working to keep the marriage together. Being the person at fault and regretting my actions I can only thank Oran for this out come. I strongly recommend Mr. Kaufman and support mediation as the best option when a marriage is in distress.

  9. Excellent Mediator

    Posted by Julie,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Oran Kaufman.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Oran is not just professional, he gave that extra to truly have my coparent and I understand the law so we could make the best possible decisions for our children. He was quick, knowledgeable, and wonderful about getting back to us with answers to questions. Exceptional person and attorney.

  10. grateful for his guidance

    Posted by a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Oran Kaufman.
    • I hired Oran more than 3 years ago.
    • Oran handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    divorce is not fun. that said, i used amherst mediation services and found oran kaufman to be really helpful in getting to an agreement. he was clearly knowledgeable about the law, the forms, and the process. in addition, he did a good job respecting all viewpoints and helping my ex husband and i come to solutions on difficult issues. oran created an efficient and safe way for us to work things out and get on with our lives.